Toasted & Roasted with Orzo

I have never bought, or cooked with, Orzo before. Try new foods: challenge, accepted! A small bag of whole-wheat orzo made it into my shopping basket this week, with a recipe on hand and a taste pallet ready for the change.

Before we eat, I’ll admit those little pasta grains aren’t that only thing I toasted this week. My back currently bares the design of this bra, flawlessly:

50RepBra

{Source} Yup, you can trace those lines in between the bright pink skin. Had I known the Colorado sun was out for vengeance yesterday, I would’ve lathered on the sunscreen. Instead, I sat on a sunny sidewalk and chatted with the run-buddies for over an hour. We stretched, relaxed, soaked in a beautiful day, and let the time pass unknowingly.

I had this random Tuesday off, and I took full advantage. The day started with all of us meeting for one of my favorite Anusara classes, followed by a quick change-of-clothes and lacing up of the shoes. An easy run around Wash Park led us back to the cars; we sat down, and see above the for the rest.

Meet Alex & Kate (former lululemon coworkers & workout buddies)!

4.6 003 4.6 004
4.6 008 4.6 010 4.6 011

Aside from the lobster-toned skin, I recommend this mid-week break to anyone who can grab it. The rest of the afternoon was productive, because I had my sun and exercise-endorphin fill for the day!

******

Back to the toasted food, which is much more appetizing.

This recipe comes courtesy of “Keep the Beat Recipes: Deliciously Healthy Family Meals”. I received this book to review and sample, and this was one of many meals that will come from it!

keepthebeatrecipes

I’ll dive into the details of the “We Can!” campaign more as I taste and see what it has to offer, but for now, I bring you this:

Roasted Red Pepper & Toasted Orzo

1 cup Dry Whole Grain Orzo
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
1 tsp Garlic Mined (~1 clove)
1 cup jarred roasted red peppers in natural juice, drained & sliced
2 cup Water or Vegetable Broth (recipe recommends: Chicken Broth)
1 Tbsp dried basil (or fresh, if on hand)
1 Tbsp dried Parsley (or fresh, if on hand)
1/2 c shredded part skim mozzarella cheese

Heat oven to 400*. Place orzo on a baking sheet and toast in the oven for 5 minutes (until golden brown). Remove from heat and cool.

Heat olive oil in a saucepan over medium heat. Add garlic, cook until it’s soft. Add peppers and cook until heated through. Add toasted orzo, broth (or water), and bring to a boil. Simmer, stirring frequently, for 10-15 minutes, or until pasta has absorbed the liquid. Add herbs & cheese, stir to mix (don’t over-stir, the cheese gets gummy!).

Serve immediately! Melted cheese perfection doesn’t last long…

4.6 002

Entire recipe (and ingredient list, aside from a few personal changes) courtesy of the cookbook!

I cooked this for me and a friend on Monday night and it was definitely a hit. I have about a serving leftover, that I’ll be enjoying on top of salad greens for lunch today!

Per 1 cup Serving: 205 Calories, 7g Fat, 5g Fiber, 9g Protein, 24g Carbs.

10 Comments

Filed under dinners, lunches, recipes, weather love

10 responses to “Toasted & Roasted with Orzo

  1. I LOVE orzo!!! So glad you tried a new thing 🙂

  2. Abby

    That orzo looks great! I have a really hard time finding whole grain orzo in town here! I’ll have to add it to my list for my next TJ’s trip! 🙂

  3. I have never tried Orzo (or really heard too much about it) that looks good though!!

  4. looks delicious, actually! but i’m scared to try it! and take care of that easy skin!

  5. I love roasted red peppers! I also love the texture of orzo. I should probably try this recipe, stat!

  6. I love my 50 Rep bras. Gotta take advantage of sunshine and days off! There’s nothing better.

  7. Ouch! Lather on the aloe!! So nice to have some sun though. 🙂

    I’ve used orzo as noodles in soup, or in risotto… but never toasted! Looks/sounds delish!!

  8. Ooh, I’ve wanted to cook with Orzo for a while now, but just never remember to pick it up. I love the texture.

  9. Mamacita

    Sunburn is no bueno. Just a thought – keep some spray- on sunscreen in the car. I have never cooked Orzo but always like it at Kennebec. Your dinner looks delicious and I hope to make this dish for us next week. See you Friday!
    Love, Mamacita

  10. LOVE the 50 reps bra. My current addiction and only one I’ll wear.

Let's Hear It!

