Protein Powerhouse: Baked Salmon Pasta

Spring is a fickle friend here in Colorado; we had an 80* hot Saturday, and a snowy afternoon yesterday. Rather than set out in 20* temps this morning, I’ll be a post-work runner today. To compensate the postpone to my muscles, we did a 15 minute strength routine to wake up. Join me:

  • 50 Squats
  • 2 minute Plank Hold
  • 30 push-ups
  • 2 min 30 sec Wall-sit hold
  • Leg “lifts” & circles (works Hips), 1 min each side
  • 50 squats (second round)
  • 25 “Cobra” push-ups*

*Cobra yoga pose, push into it and slowly lower down

Done, pouring coffee and starting my day a little bit stronger.

****

Luckily I loaded up on protein last night, so those worked muscles know where to get their building blocks. It was a fishy experiment; I wanted to more creative than slathering some Bbq sauce or honey on my salmon. Ideas quickly formed, and here’s all you need:

~4 oz Plain Greek Yogurt (I used non-fat)
~4 oz Quinoa Pasta, dry (
Or any whole-wheat pasta substitute)
~6 oz of Salmon
Basil, Salt & Pepper
~1/2 tbsp Olive Oil
2 tbsp Annie’s Tuscan Italian Salad Dressing
1.5 cups Steamed Broccoli (
frozen –> heated works just fine)

bakedsalmonpasta 001

As you can tell from that list, I measured everything very precisely…

Baked Salmon Pasta (aka Protein Powerhouse)

Heat oven to 375*. Grease a baking sheet (PAM it!); rub ~1/2 tbsp Olive oil on salmon, season with dried basil (or fresh, if it’s on hand) & black pepper. Bake for ~15 minutes, or until flaky.

bakedsalmonpasta 002

In the meantime, cook pasta & steam/heat broccoli.
Using a fork, shred Salmon into bite-size pieces.
Using a spoon, scoop out ~4 oz (2-3 spoons-full) of Plain Greek yogurt.
Stir into pasta, mixing well.
Add Salad dressing, salmon, broccoli, salt/pepper to taste (small shakes).

bakedsalmonpasta 008

Optional, but recommended: top with grated parmesan cheese!

Unexpectedly this made ~4 servings; we each had a bowl full, and there was enough remaining for two lunch-day leftovers! Meal planning success.

Why call this a protein powerhouse?
Salmon: 40g of protein per “1/2 Filet” (we used a full Filet)
Greek Yogurt: 24g per 8 oz (we used Voskos)
Quinoa Pasta: 4g per 2 oz serving

Add that up, and we’ definitely served our the muscles well! This would be a great recovery meal, mixing a high-protein grain (carbs!), a good dose of healthy fats and a large dose of protein.

*****

What will you try in the kitchen this week?

16 Comments

Filed under dinners, Nutrition, recipes, recovery, strength train too!

16 responses to “Protein Powerhouse: Baked Salmon Pasta

  1. Those salmon look awesome. Might have to get back on the salmon train soon.

    Haven’t had really good steaks in a while so Epod and I will be trying those this week.

  2. Looks fantastic. I love salmon!

  3. Abby

    Did you do the squats with your body weight or did you add weight?

  4. Elizabeth

    I bet this would be a really good cold pasta salad, too. And I never would have thought to toss the Greek yogurt in there – I like it!

  5. I read quinoa and then saw the pasta and was a bit confused until I realized it was QUINOA pasta! Awesome. I will have to look for that!

    Looks like a beauty dinner to fuel those muscles!!

  6. WOW is that a lot of protein!

  7. My favorite, happiest fish, salmon, mmmm!

  8. Looks delish. I may have to imitate that as I need more carbs for my marathon training.

  9. That IS a protein powerhouse and it looks delicious. I want to make some kale chips this week and a raw hummus made from zucchinis that I saw on Choosing Raw. And there’s something else, but I can’t remember!

  10. I’m having salmon tonight! YEA! Love those cobra push ups girl. WOW, hello arms and core!

  11. The manfriend and I both agree that this recipe looks delish! YUUUUM!

  12. Pingback: Good Eats S4E11P1: Puff The Magic Pastry : Body Building Blog | Free Fitness Tips & Body Building…

  13. I love the Ancient Harvest quinoa pasta at WF. YUM! Which I found after going gluten free in the fall. It’s also very yummy to throw a few of those raddiatores into soup. Can’t wait to try now with salmon!

  14. i made this tonight for dinner and it was AWESOME. Thank you so much for your creativity in the kitchen.

  15. Pingback: Protein Powerhouse: Salmon + Edamame Cilantro Salad | Dietitian on the Run

Let's Hear It!

