Black Beans Wrapped Up

Before I feed you food photography, I have to say that yesterday’s comments were some of my favorites. Yet another adjective to add to that list is clearly “proud”, and I can’t argue with that! If you need some coaching for a long run, ride, swim or even jumping into a strength training routine this weekend, read here. Feel proud, accomplished, healthier, stronger & powerful when you’re done.

The couch won’t do any of the above for you, I can promise you that.

Once you’re done sweating, grab these items at the grocery store:

Whole Wheat Tortillas
1 can Black Beans
Mozzarella Cheese
Green Chile Hummus (!!!!!) – Substitute: Plain
Salad Greens
1 can Diced Tomatoes

And you’ll have two meals waiting for you!

******

Mozzarella Black Bean Quesadillas

quesadillas 002

1/2 cup black beans
~1 1/2 slices Mozzarella cheese (or ~1.5 oz)
~3/4 cup Salad Greens (Arugula & Spinach blend)
1/4 c Diced tomatoes (Drained)
2 Whole Wheat Tortillas
Salsa, to taste! (in my case, by the spoonful)

Heat the oven to 400*; layer cheese, beans, tomatoes & lettuce (in that order) on top of one tortilla. Top with the second, spray your cooking sheet and bake for 5-6 minutes (watch for light browning and melted cheese).

Slice into 1/4ths and eat up!

*****

Barbecue Black Bean Wrap

Side note: does anyone else pause and always want to spell it “barbeque”? Just me?

quesadillas 004 quesadillas 005

Did you notice that “Green Chile Hummus” up there?? I could not have been more excited to see this at Whole Foods; put green chile in anything and my heart skips a beat. I blame New Mexico, and I’m okay with it.

1 Whole Wheat Tortilla
1 tbsp Barbecue Sauce
~1/4 cup Green Chile (or plain) Hummus
1/2 c Black Beans
~1/2 c (handful) Salad greens

Heat the beans in your microwave for ~90 seconds. Layer hummus & bbq sauce as seen above; top with the beans and salad greens; wrap it up!

quesadillas 006

*****

Black beans pack a protein and fiber punch – either one of these meals would be great for recovery, with whole grains from the wrap & nutrients from the veggies.

*****

What’s on your menu this weekend?
I’ve committed to trying Lentils (sorry, D) for the MeFirst weekly challenge. I have a list of recipes to browse through, but have yet to decide what direction to take them for our first date. Suggestions welcomed!

14 Comments

Filed under dinners, food, lunches, motivation, Nutrition, recipes

14 responses to “Black Beans Wrapped Up

  1. I had a wrap for dinner Wednesday nigh with black beans, brown rice, and plantains! I actually grabbed lunch again at the Juice Joint yesterday and thought of you. It was fun to see you last week!

  2. You know I love that! Mmm – anything with black beans and hummus is good in my book. I’d add avocado, too. 🙂 I love lentils – I eat them once or twice a week for sure. Billy is out of town this weekend, so it’s all about me! Haha. Who am I kidding? I eat whatever I want anyway.

  3. green chile hummus? ok, i am officially moving to denver.

  4. I’m definitely utilizing black beans this weekend! Can’t wait…yummy!

  5. Lauren

    I love cooking with black beans! They are delicious. Green chile hummus….nom nom nom! Also, I go ahead and spell it BBQ (let’s keep it simple heh?).
    This weekend I am cooking cajun spiced salmon For my D’s mom for her birthday! Complete with a homemade apple pie and ice cream, obviously. 😉

  6. Abby

    I couldn’t agree more about anything inclding green chile! Mmm! My bf is moving to Co Springs in July. I can’t wait to get more mountain time! 🙂

  7. OMG…green chile hummus? I must get my hands on that. I too am obsessed with all things green chile-related. My grandparents live in New Mexico, and it’s like entering food heaven when I enter that state. Chile love all around! 🙂

  8. jen

    I LOVE lentils – regular, french, red – they are all awesome.

    I can’t wait to hear how it goes for you this weekend.

  9. Cherry Blossoms! Too bad we can’t eat them.

  10. i love that hummus. So good with black beans too! Good choice. We had black beans and eggs last night. I seriously could eat that all the time!

  11. MmmI had a balck bean and rice wrap for lunch that was amazing! I think I want to do the same thing for dinner! yum!

  12. Lee

    I thought it was spelled barbeque. Oops! I guess that’s why the red line always appears under it when I spell it that way.

  13. Well now I am DEFINITELY going to have to pick up some black beans! 🙂

Let's Hear It!

