Progress & Speed

Things are getting intense around here, and I love every second of it.

You know you’ve found the right “class” when you’re actually excited to set the alarm a little bit earlier; excited to wake up at 6 a.m. and get dressed for who-knows-what might happen in those 45-60 minutes. Ryding (read: Spin bikes that lean left/right)? Definitely. Abs? Probably. Push-ups, pull-ups, planks, boxing, free weights, wrist-weights? Who knows. Squats, lunges, calf raises, step-ups, burpees, all of the above (please not!)?! Definitely one, or all, of those.

You know you’re making progress with you’re told “30 push-ups!” (the real kind, we don’t get to slack here) half-way through said class, and you can do it.

My abs are the only sore I feel today, and they’re totally okay with that.

******

Now, that would’ve easily been enough to satisfy my daily endorphin rush. But, my schedule ahead is packed, and I wasn’t okay with skipping speed work this week.

When it looks like this outside (feel: 60*), running shoes do all the convincing:

sun I had Tempo Miles on the agenda; expectations were left aside, see the morning’s events above. However, a little progress goes a long way. And I was quickly reminded that things eventually start to feel easy when you do them repeatedly:

warm up –> 7:42, 7:25, 7:30, 7:33 –> cool down

IMG00059-20110301-2125

One thought I had repeatedly: Dear consistency, please befriend me. My legs could use your antics!  Clearly I still have some pace-body-mind work to do, but I’ll take this success for now.

*******

What’s your favorite type of speed work? I always go back to the Tempo Run, I love keeping a pace (vs repeating it). I also love when that “Goal” pace starts eventually creeping into your daily runs – progress!

What kind of progress are you working towards? Work, running, relationship, healthy eating, etc – have a goal, don’t be afraid to say it out loud, and go get it.

I will do 40 push-ups in two weeks. I will run a 7:15-20 Tempo Run before the National Half.

Let’s hear it!

22 Comments

Filed under new things!, Speed workouts, Spin, strength train too!, things that make me Happy, training, weather love

22 responses to “Progress & Speed

  1. Sounds like a great run/ workout

    cheers

  2. What a day yesterday! Awesome on the tempo run. They’re my fave too!

  3. This post is so full of energy! It’s contagious. Amazing work on your tempo run – so speedy! I need to step up my tempo run this Friday…and next Friday…in preparation for my race. I like tempo outside and speed work repeats on the treadmill.

  4. Elizabeth

    I like that when you talk to yourself you use words like antics. I’d like you to work “shenanigans” into your next mantra, somehow.

    My goal is to do a long run with a 10:15-10:20 pace, as practice for the National Half.

  5. Wow, you sound like you’re making great progress – good job 🙂 I’ve never heard of ryding before, I like the idea of it though!

    Do you use inserts in your sneakers? It looks like it in the pics, just curious what kind – they look better than the standard ones which come in all shoes.

    • Heather C

      I really should do a whole post on teh “Ryders” bikes, they’re awesome!

      I do use inserts – I have REALLY high arches, so I use a brand called “Tri-Comfort” for heel/arch support.

  6. love love love this challenge. Strength and speed go hand in hand! I think Tempo runs or hill work has to be my favorite.
    😉

  7. My training friend and I had this conversation at the track this morning! How progressing as a runner means different paces are going to start meaning different things. What was once my tempo pace is now my easy run pace and as I continue to improve, my goals for workouts are going to continue to evolve. Love the feeling of progress!

  8. girl! awesome tempo run. tempo runs are so tough for me mentally because there’s no break, it’s just slam slam slam. but i’m getting better at it.

  9. I totally agree with having a class that you deem as FUN instead of a burden. I remember attending a class out of obligation rather than interest and it was like torture. It is fun to shop for your classes.

  10. THIRTY pushups? You are a MACHINE girl!!! 🙂 I need to get back on the pushup wagon, there was a time when I could do 20 -30, now it’s more like 10!

    • Heather C

      Ha, well apparently Chatarangas work their way into arm strength. 😉 I hadn’t tried a push up in a LONG time previous to starting these classes. Who knew…

  11. what a great way to start your day! and hooray for training paying off. 🙂

  12. Those look like some pretty great paces to me! You’ll get your goal paces I’m sure of it. Sounds like you are rockin’ and rolling there in every sense of the word. This marathon of yours is going to be awesome!

  13. My favorite type of speedwork is NO speedwork at all! hhahahaha 🙂

  14. 30 push ups and a rocking tempo run? I say you’re making some awesome progress there!

  15. Pingback: Right on Schedule | Dietitian on the Run

  16. Pingback: The Training Plan of No-Plan | Dietitian on the Run

Let's Hear It!

