Monday Mash: News, Gnocchi & Yoga for Winos

Hello, Monday!

With unexpected news changing the course of things around here, and expected visitors coming soon, we bid adieu to February and make room for March!

What does March mean? National Nutrition Month! And 22 days until I’m in DC. Unrelated, but equally important:

8.18 004 9.7 171

In other news, Gnocchi is playing hard to get.

I tried, again, to successfully create this potato pasta:

2.28 006  2.28 007
2.28 009 2.28 011

My first clue that it isn’t yet meant to be was realizing I didn’t have eggs, as I ad already boiled and mashed the potatoes. Fail! Still, I substituted ~1/4 cup of Skim Milk in hopes that the protein would work. What I did not think about was that instead, I had basically created mashed potatoes with an excessive amount of Flour. Fail, again.

Potato “Pasta” Mash:

2.28 013 2.28 014

Still delicious (but not Gnocchi) and D “approved”; that works for me!

******

Unrelated to all of the above, Ivan sent me this video yesterday. It’s clearly appropriate, given my attendance record at Vino & Vinyasa*…

“Yoga for Wine Lovers”

*Just a joke…we serve the wine after the Vinyasa class.

*****

What would you include in a Monday Mash for today?

Who’s going Meatless tonight? If you need a recipe, take your pick!

6 Comments

Filed under about me, DC, in the News, Meatless Monday, Nutrition, Yoga

6 responses to “Monday Mash: News, Gnocchi & Yoga for Winos

  1. I’m going meatless all day – no fish either. Greek yogurt for breakfast, tofu for lunch and beans for dinner!

  2. I hope the news was good!

    Ha! Thanks for clarifying that you save the vino for AFTER class. 🙂

    happy Meatless Monday to you! I’m not sure what’s on for dinner but I packed the mose amazing and MASSIVE salad for lunch with loads of veggies, avocado, chickpeas, feta and almonds. I can’t wait to eat it.

  3. I so a yogi wine lover! Love that cartoon. Hilarious! When My husband and I were dating, I accidently overcooked quinoa pasta and it turned into mash. My hubs LOVED it! He now requests QUINOA MASH for dinner. haha.
    🙂

  4. Hahaha – I love this. And Lindsay’s comment above, too. We all have our kitchen experiments gone “wrong”, but if they still taste good, then it’s a winner in my book. Meatless around here, for sure. I’ve even gotten Billy on meatless meals a couple of nights a week. It makes me happy. 🙂

  5. Lauren Calcote

    That video is awesome!! hahaha

  6. D

    Um… you weren’t supposed to use that picture 😉

Let's Hear It!

