Folded-in-a-Box Man

I’m not sure what amount of Yoga could get someone to this level of flexibility, but I am sure that devoting energy to stretching every day clearly yields results for some.

Taking a break from the training and food-related anecdotes here, I bring you something entirely unique and ridiculous:

2.20 042 2.20 041
2.20 043

After my run last Saturday, we spent the afternoon and evening in Boulder. It’s one of my favorite towns for a myriad of reasons, not the least of which you never know what you’ll experience.

This street-performer has been rolling out his blanket and folding into a box for at least 14 years now. D saw him in 1998, during his first trip to Colorado. He made no hesitation in identifying him last weekend:
That’s the guy that folds into a box!!”

What?

2.20 050

2.20 051

Just like it sounds; he folds himself (all 6+ ft) into a 20” x 20” box. And holds it in there while the audience ogles and “whooas” and takes a picture.

If nothing else, this is a story of perseverance. For more than 20 years he has been performing on the street, making a living by stretching, doing a 5-minute show and folding his long limbs into crazy positions. All the while he interacts with his audience and makes it a sight to see. “The Box Man”.

What’s the best street performance you’ve come across in travels?

If you could choose one thing, ANY THING, to do for 20 years,
what would it be?

I would be a running coach (with a side of Nutrition). Clearly I’ve found some place with running that feels more “me” than anything else; I love the community it brings together and the people you unexpectedly relate to. I love the process of training (or just keeping at it, no races in mind), learning, succeeding, and going back for more!

Happy Friday!

11 Comments

Filed under pictures, random, things that make you go Hmmmm, weekends, Yoga

11 responses to “Folded-in-a-Box Man

  1. Box Man is quite the site on Pearl Street. I can’t even imagine how his body is able to do what he makes it do. Craziness! Have you seen “Very Tall Unicycle Man Who Juggles” on Pearl St. yet? He’s a lot of fun too…

  2. WOAH! That is so cool!!!!

  3. That’s so awesome! And random. I love it.

    I’ve always known I’d be someone who had many different jobs and experiences because I’m always finding new things I love to do. I’m in awe of people who can have the same job for 20+ years, but now I think I could say I’d love to be a nutrition/relationship/wellness counselor. And I’d make all my clients run with me, too. 😉

  4. Jen B.

    I really enjoyed watching a group of guys playing drums using 5 gallon buckets on the streets of D.C. They can really draw a crowd!

  5. I would love to live and blog about life on a farm with an urban twist. We want to house and foster inner city youth. I’ve worked as a paralegal in family law for the past 3 years and hate seeing kids go to places that aren’t much better off than where they’ve been. My boyfriend wants to run a CSA from the farm.

  6. holy bananas! i saw a man eat fire once on the street. excellent.

  7. Geez, that’s bendy! I’m still not sure what I’d loove to be doing for 20 yrs straight. We’ll see…something fitness, activity, nutrition, healthy living awareness and writing related. 😉 Real specific, eh? Happy weekend!

  8. Vanessa

    I like my job as a first grade teacher, but my dream job would be to be a cross country coach or own my own daycare. But, my ultimate dream job would be a stay at home mom with four little ones!!

  9. purpleshoe runs

    That’s crazy! I don’t know for sure what I’d do for 20 years…I still haven’t figured out what I want to be when I grow up ; )

  10. That is AWESOME! Reminds me of a great limbo performer we saw in Antigua. It was UNREAL how this guy could bend and move.

    I really can’t imagine a “profession” I would love to do for 20 years. Guess I am still looking for my calling…

  11. What? that’s crazy!! I saw a pretty awesome group of street performers in Boston at Quincy market. they were doing some sort of tricks where they jumped across each other. scary.
    if I could choose something to do for 20 years, I’d travel definitely. anything that involves travel.

Let's Hear It!

