Ready To Go Back, for 26.2

In October 2009, I met Ivan & Elizabeth at the metro nice and early. Slowly waking up and getting ready for our 10K, I took in the car full of people preparing for 26.2.

I couldn’t imagine what it must feel like to know that 3-4+ hours of running were ahead. I couldn’t imagine the kind of training they must have put in, the kind of pressure they were putting on this day, perfectly sunny and cool for a race.

I was simply ready for a possible PR, and a mimosa brunch. Check, and check!

10.25 019 10.25 022

10.25 028 10.25 030 10.25 032

mile 5 @ 7:30 – Running through the Marathon starting coral (the two races started at the same time) ? Hello, BOOST of energy. I want to be on that side of things next year!

 

******

Yesterday, I let a rest day set into my muscles and anxiously waited for the clock to read 10:00 a.m. (12 pm EST).  I couldn’t wait to see these words:

MCMConfirmation

 

 

 

October 30, 2011I’ll be in that crowd that lines up for 26.2, and I can’t wait!!

******

What’s the first FULL marathon you remember taking in and contemplating what it would be like to really run 26.2 miles?

Who else is running MCM this year??

33 Comments

Filed under about me, DC, making plans, pictures, Races, things that make me Happy

33 responses to “Ready To Go Back, for 26.2

  1. EEEEK~!!!!!! So exciting!!!! I feel like a TON of peeps are headed to MCM this year! You’ve got this!!!!

  2. purpleshoe runs

    Strangely enough, it was MCM that made me first contemplate the idea–I was in DC for a conference in October of my senior year of college, and my flight left on the day of the marathon. I spent the entire cab ride to the airport gawking at runners and wondering what it would it would be like to be in their shoes : )

  3. Ahhh!! I just impulsively signed up to run this race too! It’s my first marathon ever. We’ll have to get together when you’re in DC!

  4. oh yea, congrats! Thats always a very special feeling.

  5. Congrats on taking the plunge!!! *THAT* is going to be a day to remember.

    My first race was the half marathon at Toronto’s biggest event… I wasn’t quite contemplating a full at that time, but I was definitely taking it all in and I can remember thinking “Hmm, I wonder…”

  6. The first full I watched was my mom’s first full. I was incredibly inspired but definitely did not imagine I would ever be doing one myself!

    MCM was my first full- it’s SUCH a fun race. I’m really tempted to register for it this year.

  7. Elizabeth

    This was SUCH an amazing race last year – I swear I had a smile on my face the entire time. PLUS it’s my official marathon PR. So there’s that. So glad you’re in!

  8. congratulations!!! i’m thinking about doing the 10k, or just rocking my cheering hat again. it was amazing to spectate. so pumped you’re coming back for it!

  9. Wow! That is a huge step!! I’m in the “I can’t imagine running for 3-4 hrs” camp! I’ve done a half, would love to do another, but a full scares the pants off me!! High five for taking the leap!

    • Heather C

      I still can’t believe this will be my THIRD full, sounds crazy! 🙂 Once you do more “halfs”, it becomes much less daunting to think about taking the next step.

  10. That is so exciting, Heather! How fun! You’ll get to train in Denver and then go see your DC buddies. Looking forward to hearing about your training as it happens.

  11. I’m so excited for you!!!! 🙂 yay!

  12. I can’t believe I signed up. But I couldn’t resist the registration numbers counting down …

    See, I’m running the Baltimore full on October 15. Yeah, I’m a bit crazy …. *and* I’m planning on using MCM as a training run for a 50K on Nov 12.

    Hope we can meet up!

  13. I’m so excited for you! I remember seeing the marathoners split off from us when I ran the half in December, and thinking “Wow! They have twice as far to go as I do.” But when I crossed the finish line after 13.1, I felt like I could have kept going…so there’s a potential marathon in my future. 🙂

  14. I’m doing my first marathon in October! I’m excited/nervous all at the same time.

  15. I’m running it also, and it will be my first! So excited & also incredibly nervous 🙂

  16. yayyyyy! signing up for races is so fun 🙂

  17. Yay! I am running Marine Corps, too. It will also be my third full. I had to intention of signing up, but yesterday, in a flurry of excitement, I did it! I can’t wait to run “the people’s marathon.”

    I registered for my first marathon right after cheering for the finishers in Boston in April 2010. As I watched the runners of all shapes, sizes, and speeds, it struck me that I could be one of them. I wanted to be one of them! I took the plunge and now I’m hooked!

  18. yayy congrats! Love October marathons!! This is one I hope to do someday…

  19. Becky F.

    I’ll be running the MCM this year. It will be my first marathon eeeek! I’m doing most of the events in the Marine Corp series this year. My brother is a marine and he’s overseas so I’ll be taking photos of myself at each event and sending them to him. I love running and supporting my brother so I’m really nervous but excited for the upcoming year!

  20. Hey! Popping in to say hi and yes, I’m doing my fifth MCM this fall (and 18th full by then) we can’t resist running in DC!

  21. Awesome!

    I’ve only run one full marathon. It was the ING Georgia marathon in 2007.

  22. My first marathon was Nike Women’s in San Francisco and my second one was California International Marathon. I know there will be a third one somewhere down the line…

  23. Ivan

    That was my “Chase Heather” PR 10K! I still can’t believe how fast we ran.

  24. My high school cross country friend ran the Chicago Marathon and it got me thinking that I could do it too….so I signed up for Marine Corps as my first!

    Yayyyy for another 26.2!

  25. Emma

    Hi Heather,

    I’ve just stumbled onto your blog and am excited to read on for more great info and motivation. I actually am signed up for the MCM 2011 as well! I ran my first MCM in 2004 and it was so exciting! – Except, I forgot my chip! Thank goodness they’ve gone to the electronic bibs for forgetful people like me.

    I am relocating back to Washington DC after being away for 4 years next month. Any new recommendations/running routes to try as from a fellow former Washingtonian?

    Thanks!

  26. late on this one, but YAY! you’ll have an awesome time at mcm!! jealous of all your trips back to dc this year…i definitely need to plan a trip soon.

  27. Pingback: Do It Now! {3:39:59} | Dietitian on the Run

Let's Hear It!

