Broccoli & Bean Rice Pilaf Surprise

I’ve never been surprised by rice.

I rarely have the patience to make it (we buy in bulk, so it takes ~50 minutes).

I find I’m either unsatisfied by a rice dish, or I have just a little too much and my stomach reaches its stretch limit.

I think this is hilarious, “Rice is great if you’re hungry and want 2,000 of something.”
-Mitch Hedberg

All of my previous rice sentiments were changed last night.

Veg. Stock Rice 002 Veg. Stock Rice 003

 

This recipe graciously accepted a few of my changes; vegetable stock instead of mushroom stock, black beans instead of chickpeas, extra water instead of Sherry (who has Sherry just hanging out in the pantry?).

This recipe surprised me.

Broccoli & Bean Rice Pilaf
makes ~3 servings

2 cups Vegetable Stock
~1/4 c Water
1/4 Yellow Onion, chopped
1-1/2 tbsp Butter
Salt, Pepper, Thyme (fresh or dried)
1 cup Brown Rice, uncooked

Ground Red Pepper (or Red Pepper Flakes)
1 c Black Beans
~1 c Frozen broccoli, slightly thawed

In a small pot bring the stock and water (liquids) to a simmer. Heat the oven to 350*. In a separate, oven-safe deep sauce pan (or Dutch Oven), heat the butter on medium and add the onion. Sauté 4-5 minutes, add seasonings; add rice & stir well, then add the liquids.

Cover with a lid and put sauce pan in the oven. Bake for 35 minutes.
Remove, add broccoli & beans. Bake for an additional 10 minutes (broccoli softens).

Let cool and dish it out! And let yourself be surprised by the difference it makes to add a little bit of fat, and a blend of new seasonings, to your rice….delicious.

Veg. Stock Rice 005

Fat: Butter
Carbs: Rice, Beans
Protein: Beans, Rice

******

What’s your favorite way to cook, eat & enjoy rice?

15 Comments

Filed under dinners, Meatless Monday, recipes

15 responses to “Broccoli & Bean Rice Pilaf Surprise

  1. Lately I’ve been making a lot of pilafs lately, but I use quinoa or couscous… I love that I can throw anything I want in there! Start with the grain and some water/broth, add lots of veggies, some herbs and a can of chickpeas and TA-DA!

    This recipe looks great!

  2. Oooh I have some black beans in my fridge that I desperately need to use and was at a loss for whats for dinner tonight. I think I’ll make it with peppers though as I actually have a couple of those to use up too. Thanks for the recipe 🙂

  3. Liz

    looks delicious — I love fragrant, woody thyme, especially in winter dinners. I love rice, husband prefers barley, and quinoa just rocks. I’ll take a grain over pasta any day!

  4. Mitch Hedberg is my favorite comedian of all time. I love that you quoted him! Haha. One of my favorites of his is, “I saw this wino. He was eating grapes. I said, ‘Dude. You have to wait!'” Gets me every time!

  5. Elizabeth

    That looks delicious! Just out of curiosity – what made you sub in the black beans and vegetable stock – just what you had on hand?

    (Also, I have/used to have Sherry left over from another recipe. Pretty good for adding a little sweet to the dish. I used it in a chicken and broccoli casserole.)

    • Heather C

      Just happened to be what I had on hand / what was already open in the fridge (i.e. black beans). Sherry…now, that will probably never be in my pantry. Maybe I’ll borrow yours 😉 )

  6. This looks great! I’m the same way – I usually eat TOO much rice and then I’m overly full. When we lived in Belize, we ate rice & beans so often that I kind of overdid it. I love rice with Mexican dishes.

  7. I live rice when I’m have stir fry…delicious!

  8. ooooooh, that looks like i might have to try it!

  9. I LOOOOVE Mitch Hedberg.

  10. Pingback: Broccoli & Bean Rice Pilaf Surprise « Curves Oak Hill

  11. I keep forgetting I have a rice cooker!!! Maybe this recipe will motivate me to use it.

  12. I have a Zojirushi rice cooker that I got for a wedding gift and it totally changed how I felt about rice. I used to only eat the boil in the bag kind. Now my horizons have been expanded!

    I don’t even really know what sherry is.

Let's Hear It!

