Truth be Told…

Last night, D & I did not celebrate Valentine’s Day (just our style). We did experiment with a few dinner things that did not go as planned. Oops.

Gnocchi, I will conquer you.

Turns out that failed sweet potato gnocchi can be saved, and baked as sweet potato “bread”. Just FYI.

2.15 028 2.15 036

******

I ran 9.5 miles on Sunday, in shorts. A few of those middle miles were much faster than planned and by the end I was tired. And that’s okay.

I ended early to make a Yoga class, but was too late. Oops.

10 miles isn’t always easy.

******

I miss DC. A LOT. And that’s okay, too.

I’ll be there in 34 days (!!!!). Lincoln, let’s have a date.

8.4 035 7.28 014 7.26 020 5.23 015 5.31 042

******

I bought butter (the REAL stuff) for the first time in almost a year. I used a little bit in cookies (subbing half the amount for applesauce). It was TOTALLY worth it.

2.15 040

Recipe coming soon!

*****

Over the past few weeks I’ve had completely random and unexpected cravings for meat products. To clarify, they don’t sound good once I actually think about eating them (still no appetite for it). But, it’s a little weird.

Maybe I need more protein in my diet? Project protein in effect, now!

*****

I’m training for the National Half, but I’m taking it a step up. Hopes are that I will finish, and then go find Kate to run the last few miles of her first Full with her! So, I’m training for a Half + some.

*****

I haven’t done speedwork at all this training cycle – that’s changing today. It’ll be a solo effort, but it must be done!

*****

Lately, I’ve contemplated doing a Yoga Teacher Training. Not so I can teach anytime soon (but maybe eventually?), just to get even more advanced experience and continue to learn about something that interests me.

Samadhi 1.25 013 mandukamat 005

*****

So, what’s your Truth to be Told?

29 Comments

Filed under about me, DC, dinners, making plans, random, Speed workouts, training, Yoga

29 responses to “Truth be Told…

  1. Great format!

    That’s too bad about the gnocchi, but glad you were able to salvage the remains! Taking a course to teach yoga sounds like an excellent idea and I think you’d make an excelletn instructor if you decide to take the route down the road.

    Truth be Told: I ate almost an entire box of cereal BY MYSELF over the weekend. I love cereal in a serious way.

  2. So I have a question about the meat thing…if you want it, why not eat it? I am not a vegetarian, but I have thought a lot about why I’m not and what would make me stop eating meat. I eat a lot less meat but last night we cooked steaks and it was really good. I saw how it was prepared, I know where it came from, and it is full of iron, etc. I understand the cruelty to animals part, but why deprive if it’s something you want?

    • Heather C

      I totally agree, Marci! But honestly, once I actually see the meat/meat product, it’s no longer appealing and far from appetizing. If that ever changes, I would choose organic/local stuff. 🙂

  3. We always use real butter at our house! (Real butter or olive oil)

  4. Kathleen

    Where do you practice in Denver? I got certified at Om Time and LOVED it. I moved back to NJ (born and raised) and finally got off my butt to re-visit my passion for yoga. I’ve done 2 classes this week and feel amazing. I was not going for stupid reasons. It is so important to my training as a runner! Enjoy your day!

  5. I KNOW!! I miss DC too especially this time of year (well, spring time). You will be there soon! Gotta love these CO days in Feb when it,s 65 degrees, tho.

  6. I had a weird meat craving for STEAK after seeing it pictured on a blog the other night. I was like “whoa, what is this?” It was literally the first meat craving I’ve had in the last 8 months!

    I’ve also been seriously considering yoga teacher training lately. Maybe next year…

  7. Sweet potato bread?!?!? That actually sounds really good! Glad you were able to turn a FAIL into a WIN! 🙂

    I hear ya on missing “home”… truth be told I def get the blues about Florida sometimes… mostly when I miss out on friends’ birthdays or think about my own and how on earth I’ll get to spend it with them. Moving across the country is tough! 😦

  8. I’ve salvaged recipes that same way! Some bean burgers gone wrong on the stove top turned into a bean loaf in the oven. I think it would be awesome to take a yoga instructor class. I thought about taking personal training course just so I could know how to best train myself. Also a lot of the reason I took the nutrition counseling certification course. I’m curious if all races allow people to get back on the course to run with someone. I’d love to be able to do that for my friend’s upcoming marathon…

  9. Hmmm…Nate an I dOnt do the v-day thing either…other than just snuggling 🙂

  10. Did you include that yoga pose for me?! I’ve seriously been considering either yoga teacher training or some other certification for awhile. I need something to spark my fitness flame again!

  11. I usually crave meat too when I need more iron. Brewers yeast is great for an iron source. Or apple gate farms chicken apple sausage. AMAZING! And I love real butter. ain’t no shame. 😉

    • Heather C

      Ha, I agree! And it’s nice to have around for a few choice recipes 🙂

    • Alexis

      I was going to say the same thing about craving meat. I’ve been a veggie since 2003. I was “diagnosed” with anemia BEFORE Ibecame a veggie. Now, my iron sometimes goes on the lower end, but I’m no longer considered anemic. I used to crave steak (it was my fav). I believe it was because my iron was low. Someone else said they saw a pic and then wanted it…that’s good food photography.

      I’m here in DC and would love to come out that way! I just think it is beautiful! But I would probably miss everything here if we moved.

      Good luck with your half +

  12. Annie

    gah! HDC, where was this post 2 weeks ago? I made sweet potato gnocchi for dinner and yikes… not what I had hope for as a result. My boo and I clung to it as left overs for a few days, hoping that we would come up with some way to repurpose it- but never thought anything. Next time: bread.

    • Heather C

      haha, this Gnocchi stuff is tricky!! Luckily potatoes are cheap, so further experimenting won’t cost me too much…

      And the bread was delicious, so, maybe I’ll just have a few more loaves of that.

  13. and DC misses you, sweet girl!

    Gnocchi….oh my, i had to google that. glad it came back to life as bread!

    i still use real butter. don’t tell anyone.

  14. This was a fun post. Kinda reminds me of Tuesday Trials!!

    Truth be told: I’ve been using real butter more generously these days. I don’t use it a lot, but I’m just becoming less afraid of adding it here and there. After all, I don’t plan on eating a whole batch of cookies…maybe just a few. 🙂

    I’m thinking more about getting my MPH and actually making some semi movement toward deciding yay or nay (like emailing the graduate coordinator and setting a date to meet with her).

    My overall attitude has been a lot more positive the last few weeks since I’ve been working toward this MPH idea and the thought of a future that is more in line with my life and goals.

  15. i rarely buy butter as well….but sometimes it is totally needed, no exceptions! just don’t go Paula Deen with it!!!

  16. also….i have always wanted to try gnocchi! i think you gotta have the right potato to flour ratio! and not over work it!

  17. Pingback: Taking Control of Your Diabetes: Healthy Diet | Diabetic Diet Meal

  18. i use real butter all the time – anything else tastes so wrong to me! (i do usually cut the amount in recipes down though and sub in something else to make up for it!)

    truth be told: in the past week i have run out of almond butter, coconut butter, shredded coconut, granola, and chia seeds. it is like the perfect storm to make my breakfasts sad. i’ve had to change things up!

  19. Pingback: Savory & Sweet: Tacos & Cookies | Dietitian on the Run

  20. oh man, i WISH i craved protein. could probably use some more in my diet myself.

    btw, good luck on your training! i’m hoping to run my first half this year myself.

Let's Hear It!

