Winner, Ryder & Hot

My back, abs, and arms are sore. This lactic-acid infused Friday seems to be a recurring theme here! And, on a side note, I did hold side-crow for a few seconds on one side – small progress, but I will take it.

Another side note, there’s a small announcement to make…

The Winners! are:

2.4 040 2.4 036

MovesnMunchies, Katie, Heather Cox, Jeri, Brynn, Joyce, Marlene, Nicole, Dorry, and Alicia!

Whew, that was a lot of random number generating.

Thanks for participating!! Ladies, please send your mailing addresses to heatherdcal@gmail.com . Your prizes will go out asap!

******

Ryding and Lifting

D joined me and 10 other lululemon gals for a Qi Ryders class yesterday morning! We signed ourselves up for a good 50 minutes of ryding, having no idea what else was in store. Spin bikes that move should be enough of a challenge, yes?

ryder Lean left, right; lift your arms; lift one arm at a time (and lean each way), turn up the resistance; Stand! Sit! Ride! Now, get off the bikes and start a circuit!

Um, hold on….OFF the bike? Uh oh…

The class then spent ~20+ minutes rotating through the following: plank + running in place (with our feet in TRX suspension handles), partner sit-ups, boxing (fun! But ouch), arm balancing, wall-sits, step-ups (30 on each leg x 2…feel the burn), tricep dips, and Pull-ups.

Don’t rest, because if you think about relaxing there’s no coming back!

We got back on the bikes for some Spin action and finally got to the cool-down.
That’s one way to wake up!

*****

I followed up that with some Hot Yoga last night; besides some at-home stretching, me and that mat had missed each other for a few days too long. Alex uses a style similar to Bikram for these classes – standing, balancing, then back strengthening before finally laying and resting.

We really focused on that back strengthening thing, and I’m really feeling it today. Combined with my sore-core, perhaps I’ll stand a little taller during a run this morning!

******

How have you been sweating this week?

I’m back in Colorado, about to head out on the snow-packed sidewalks again. So, as a reminder that Spring and summer will eventually get here and I’ll eventually get warm sunshine again, I bring you one last beach scene…

Texas 023

Here’s hoping that sun makes it north and melts this winter stuff.

Happy weekends!

16 Comments

Filed under about me, new things!, Spin, strength train too!, training, travel

16 responses to “Winner, Ryder & Hot

  1. ah man they are lucky ducks!!! i have been doing a lot of interval running and cardio circuits!

  2. Why must you torment me with those glorious beach pictures?!?!? 🙂

    That spin class sounds intense!!! Great job girl!

  3. Is that Alicia me by chance? or did you have a non-blogger named Alicia win? I wasn’t sure with the lack of hyperlink 🙂 I hope it’s me!

  4. YAY KATIE!!! I’m so excited 🙂

    that workout sounds KILLER. you are going to have ridiculous abs, girl.

  5. WHOA! That is an intense but WAY cool spin class! I wish they had that around here, I’d LOVE to try it!! You must be sportin’ some major DOMS action today huh? Awesome. PS I love those stickers, I just had a bunch made through Megan too!

    • Heather C

      Ha, I sure am sporting the DOMS! Mostly lower back, abs and arms. Luckily my legs held a little stronger through this round 😉

  6. I am soooooo excited!!!!!! I love your four word mantra! Thanks Heather!

    Love that photo on the beach. I’m been a bit under the weather so not as much sweating as I would hope for, but I’ve managed a couple good runs (and an outdoor run planned this afternoon) and a lot of home yoga and stretching.

    Happy Friday!

  7. The beach looks HEAVENLY!

    Thanks for the WIN – just shot you an email. 🙂

    Ohmigosh those bikes look INSANE. I would love to try a class like that. Intense! Awesome workouts all around. I’m going back to hot yoga Sunday and can’t WAIT!!!

  8. Mmm I could seriously go for some hot yoga right now. But doing it after your spin class? Holy cow!

  9. That Ryding thing seems very cool. I would LOVE that.

  10. Pingback: Winner, Winner, Chicken Dinner! « BalancingB

  11. purpleshoe runs

    Hope your time in Texas was glorious! and that class sounds fun!

  12. YAY i won! I never win! WAHOOOO!!!!

  13. Mamacita

    Love the beach pic of you and Emily. Wow, I need a beach weekend. This weekend has been a tough one for obvious reasons. Anyway glad you had a great visit with Emily.

    Love, Mamacita

  14. Pingback: 2011: The Loud Year | Dietitian on the Run

Let's Hear It!

