Friday Food: Black Bean Pizzas, Fresh Basil Hummus & Red Potatoes

I’m here to arm you with easy weekend recipes that will keep your eats healthy and full of flavor. This week’s agenda actually had some free time in the mix, so I had some dates with the kitchen, food processor and gas oven. It had been too long…

1.26 002

Fact: it is impossible to buy a package of corn tortillas that contains a similar amount to what you actually intend on using (sort of like hot dog buns, but that issue no longer plagues my grocery-buys). I have seen options including 112, 48 or 12. As for the first, I don’t intend on opening a corn-tortilla-selling sidewalk shop, so I have no idea why that’s necessary.

Moving on…

We had some extras (shocker) from our Monday-night enchiladas, so I took a tip from a coworker and created something simple – corn tortilla pizzas!

More specifically: Black Bean {Corn Tortilla} Pizzas
One serving

2 corn tortillas
1/2  c Black Beans, split
1/2 c diced tomatoes, split
1/2 c shredded cheddar cheese, (wait for it….) split!
Chopped green onion, pepper & cumin

Preheat your oven to 400*; grease/cooking-spray your baking pan.
On each tortilla, place 1/4 c black beans, mashing with a fork. Top with tomatoes, cheese, onions and seasonings. Bake for ~8-9 minutes (until cheese is melted). Serve with a side o’ salsa & cut into pizza wedges, if you’d like.

1.26 003 1.26 005
*******

On another day, we had no hummus and I wanted a hummus sandwich. Solution: make some! And use fresh basil, because that makes everything better.

1.25 001 1.25 002

 

 

Fresh Basil Hummus

2 cans chickpeas; one drained, one not (unless you have Tahini paste, in which case, drain them both and use that for your moisture additive!)
3 fresh basil leaves
Salt, Pepper
1 tbsp Olive Oil

Put all ingredients in a food processor, and pulse until creamy (see above)! Easy.

Two sandwich creations have come out of this so far, and they were definitely worth the effort:

1.25 006 1.26 013

 

Left: Hummus + Cumbers + Whole wheat bread. Simple & crunchy!
Right: Hummus + Spinach + ~1/4 cup Shredded Cheddar + WW Toast….
This is a sandwich you won’t soon forget! Creamy & flavorful.

*******
Last, but not least, we baked red skinned potatoes. They’re my favorite potato, and this is one of the easiest recipes that brings a big side dish to your dinner plate!

Basil & Broth Baked Red Potatoes

1.26 014

~6-7 red potatoes (for 2 servings)
1/4 purple onion, sliced
3-4 fresh Basil leaves, torn/spread out
Green onion, chopped
~1/2 c Vegetable Broth (cover the bottom of the pan, ~1 in deep)
Salt, pepper, Oregano

Pour broth into the bottom of your casserole dish, creating ~1 in deep base. Chop potatoes & onion; toss everything together and cover with foil. Bake at 400* for ~27-30 minutes, until potatoes are tender.

Serve with choice of protein – or, in our case, satisfy a broccoli & cheese craving.

1.26 018

Pictured: ~1/2 serving; use a bigger plate…

*******

What new things were on your menu this week?

*******
Weekend to-do’s:
13 mile run (in what is supposed to be 65 degrees today & tomorrow!), FREE yoga tonight (courtesy of lululemon ), & some family time!

10 Comments

Filed under dinners, new things!, recipes, training, weekends

10 responses to “Friday Food: Black Bean Pizzas, Fresh Basil Hummus & Red Potatoes

  1. I am so jealous of that weather. I’m over the bundles of layers. ENJOY IT and have a great run!

    Food looks great, as always! I’m trying something new tonight – a warm roasted vegetable salad!

  2. Oh my goodness those corn tortilla and black bean pizzas look amazing! I am adding those to my lunch rotation, I love black beans!

    We are in for some lovely weather also! Headed to Kansas City after my son’s basketball game Saturday morning to stay overnight and run in an Underground Groundhog 5K, of course as nice is the weather is going to be I am wishing it was going to be above ground, but I am sure it will be fun regardless!

  3. Basil hummus – YUM! And we always have corn tortillas on hand…and black beans of course. Those pizzas look delicious. You are going to have a gorgeous day for your long run tomorrow – what a treat!! We made Hasselback potatoes last night – I’d never heard of them, but they were delicious. I’ve been eating a lot big salads this week for lunch (rather than heavier grain leftovers from the night before) and it’s been a good change.

  4. haha, I know. I wish they had a package of 8 or 16 in my opinion. But 112? come on now.
    I made a new GF and dairy free mac and cheese this week. And guess what addeed…..GREEN CHILI sauce!! The hubs was pleased.

    Love all these recipes today!

  5. Elizabeth

    As far as the first recipe, I’m pretty sure that anything containing cheese (melted or otherwise) is delicious. So, yum.

    Also, I’ve been trying to convince myself that I don’t need a food processor. You’re not helping…

  6. YUM to that pizza recipe!!!
    xoxo
    s

  7. It is odd that they sell them in packages of 112! I know what you are talking about though.

  8. wow, so many delicious recipes! i’m especially intrigued by the potatoes. i loooove baby reds!

    so incredibly jealous of your weather right now. it’s 46 degrees where i’m visiting in st.louis right now and it feels WARM compared to low 20’s the we’ve been seeing in wisconsin!

  9. been glancing through food blogs lately and was interested in yours for a couple reasons….you are an RD like me, you like to run, and you live in colorado, which is on my list of possible future places to live! will try to keep up with you occasionally. check out my blog!

  10. Ha! So true about the corn tortillas 🙂

Let's Hear It!

