22 in 48: The RB Power

In the past 48 hours, I’ve run a total of 22 miles. Two days, four runs, and leg muscles that put up with a lot of my why not? mentality decisions.

Here’s how it went down…

Monday morning: we’re back from Breckenridge, rested up and the legs are wondering what happened to that half-marathon training idea…? RB Martha was up for a run, so we met on the trail, and 4 miles flew by. I finished out with a total of 7, thanks to the there-n-back route. Satisfying run: check!

Monday afternoon: The DC buddies, aka Kate (the gal who used to meet me for 5 a.m. runs, remember that? Good times), finally made it out of the snow-packed mountains safely and back into 50* sunny Denver. Hola! She’s in Full training mode, and I couldnt’ resist taking her for a run around my ‘hood. Double run today? Sure, why not. We ran down and around the park, for 6 miles. Second run: check!

Total for the day: 13 miles. Whoa.

Tuesday morning: Kate & the boy were up early with me, it was a 6:30 a.m. Yoga kind of day. We stretched, twisted and savasana’d for an hour. Feels so good. After some breakfast, she & I topped that off with a 6 mile run.

Whew, 19 miles in 24 hours? No wonder I’m a little tired….

Tuesday evening: Denver-Cait asked if I was heading to Run Club?

Well, it has been a while, and I guess I could go, and I guess maybe just run really easy and slow, and it’d be fun to see the group and….ah, why not.

Another 3 miles: check!  A good catch-up date with the friend: check!

Total for the day: 9 miles. Ex-hausted.
******

From one perspective, I made up for a few lost miles from last week and got back on track! From another perspective, double-dosing for two days is tiring, in the best way. As is a long weekend full of good times with good friends…

dandi.2 kateandi.1

kateandi.2 dandi

1.18 001

******

Has the power/influence/motivation of a buddy increased your drive? It’s always a no-brainer for me – if a running/bike/yoga buddy is up for it, I’m always along for the ride.

12 Comments

Filed under about me, DC, good days, mileage, motivation, things that make me Happy, visitors, weekends

12 responses to “22 in 48: The RB Power

  1. Hey, it’s good training for Hood to Coast if you do decide to do it!

  2. I’m always up for running with a group – but this nasty weather has everyone hibernating or running indoors. Then I get motivated by reading about all the running bloggies runs – I gotta get my butt out the door when I see they did it 🙂

  3. You are intense lady!!!!

  4. Elizabeth

    There would have to be a lot of convincing to get me to do a double run. But that’s partially because I have no time. I actually used to go to the gym once in the morning and once at night.

    To be able to do that again…

    Glad you guys had so much fun!

  5. That’s impressive! I rarely turn down a chance to get some activity into my day. I’m still looking for a good running buddy in Dallas!

    Cute pics from the weekend. 🙂

  6. Crazy girl! But it sounds fun and worth it. I do like daily double runs if my body is up for it and especially if there’s a friend involved.

  7. wow!! impressive gal!!..def training with a buddy helps!

  8. i wish i could find a consistent work out buddy! it helps me stay motivated so much & i haven’t really found someone to work out with on a regular basis. it’s a bummer. congrats on your runs, though! that’s awesome!

  9. I would be tired too. But in a good way! Seems like all those miles were ran in good company!

  10. I think I’m going to move to Denver just so I can run all the time! Great job on the mileage!

  11. Pingback: Taking Care of ____ | Dietitian on the Run

  12. Wowzers!! Talk about cramming in the mileage! Awesome job. Go legs go!

    And you look ADORABLE in that hat!

Let's Hear It!

