Vegetarian Gluten-Free Paleo Friendly Dinner Party Menu!

Would you even know where to start?

There are quite a few stipulations out there that can make planning a dinner fiesta a little more complicated than your traditional pot-luck. We happened to put some tricky ones in the mix for Wednesday night, but prevailed nonetheless! And it was delicious.

We started with Louisa’s salad creation – she’s loosely on a Paleo diet (I say loosely only because she indulged in one glass of Red wine 😉 ), and extremely creative with savory food. Lucky for us…

dinnerparty 006

The picture doesn’t do it justice, but it looks pretty. 

I walked in to the delicious smell of sauteed (in a little bit of butter & salt) pecans; this could only be tasty.

Avocado & Fennel Arugula Salad*

Avocado – cut into bite-size pieces
Green Apple – cut into bit-size pieces
Dried Cranberries
Sauteed Pecans
Arugula
Fennel – shaved, using a peeler
Fresh parmesan – shaved (so you get the good salty slice)
Balsamic Vinaigrette

*amounts are up to you, and the size of the salad!

Ever flavor was complemented by the next; the dried cranberries added that slight element of sweet that balanced all the savory, and it was taste-bud satisfaction!

This was followed up by the main event, Vegetable Pasta-less Lasagna! Vegetarian, gluten-free and paleo-friendly! Nice work, Hostess Maddy.  Her inspiration came from a Rachel Ray recipe – who would’ve known Rachel could go meatless? This turned out very well, and comes highly recommended by all who dined:

dinnerparty 008

I know it included the following ingredients: Eggplant base (instead of noodles), whole roasted tomatoes, Ricotta cheese (egg yolk mixed in, optional), fresh basil leaves, onion and mozzarella. I’ll try to grab the full recipe for anyone interested (and you should be interested…just saying)!

All together now…

dinnerparty 010

Somehow we left room for dessert…I brought the Gluten-Free Brownies. Thanks to Whole Foods for providing a starter kit! The package ingredient lists were: gluten-free flour, cocoa powder and a leavening agent (Baking powder or soda). I added 2 whole eggs (beat for 2-3 minutes before adding flour mixture) and stirred in 1/2 cup applesauce (in place of butter), and topped the mix with chopped pecans.

dinnerparty 003

Gluten-free Brownie Success! They were slightly on the gooey side, with crisp edges and that savory nut crunch. No need to explain further, right? Yum.

******

Have you planned / cooked for a selective dinner crew? Let’s hear what you came up with!

On another note, Happy long Weekend!  Any plans?  I’m picking up D from the airport at 8:30 pm (which cannot come quickly enough), and  that happens to be the same time our friends from DC are getting here!!

Then, we’re headed to the mountains. ‘Bout time, right? 🙂

14 Comments

Filed under baked goods, dinners, Meatless Monday, recipes, weekends

14 responses to “Vegetarian Gluten-Free Paleo Friendly Dinner Party Menu!

  1. This sounds like a great meal! I’m particularly interested in the pasta-less lasagna!
    I have cooked for some gluten free friends before, but usually I’m the one with the diet preferences (prefer veg-friendly food options). 🙂

  2. Yum, that looks delicious. I would love the recipe (I have a gluten intolerance so am always looking for new/fun recipes)!

    This summer, I had 3 girls over for dinner. One was a vegetarian, I have a gluten intolerance, and another girl is allergic to a ton of vegetables, like squash, avocados, etc. I ended up serving chips/guac/salsa as an ap (one friend couldn’t have the guac obv due to the avocado allergy, but she could have the salsa). Then for the main course I made a spanish rice and then some vegetarian enchiladas. I had to change the recipe as it called for squash/zucchini which my friend is allergic to, but I just subbed in red/green peppers and they turned out pretty good.

  3. ooo, yes please get that lasagna recipe! i have one friend who is a vegatarian, but that’s the most complicated my friends’ diet restrictions gets.

    i’m driving to st. louis to visit my fiance for the long weekend! enjoy yours. 🙂

  4. we cook gluten free/paleo style a lot. I am gluten intolerant so it kinda works out best, haha.
    Love the brownies, WF has such a great selection of GF products.

  5. What a meal! I myself am probably the “selective crew” – haha. But I love to make dishes with quinoa, beans, lentils, mushrooms, etc for vegetarians/vegans. And I get great gluten free recipes from various blogs/websites. We are in Austin this weekend for a friend’s wedding! Lots of fun to be had. 🙂

  6. That sounds like quite a crowd! I need to read this for inpiration today. My team is having a mountain retreat this weekend where I have to cater to vegetarians, one severe gluten allergy, and one severe nut allergy. Whew! 🙂

    I would love that lasagna recipe. I’ve tried a similar thing in the past with the zucchini.

  7. That looks and sounds like quite the feast! MMMMMM!

  8. um, WOW. i would so eat every last bite right this second…this sounds so amazing!

  9. That veggie pizza looks YUMMY!

  10. I lived in Italy for a summer with six other roommates…one was vegetarian, one thought he has Celiac disease (turned out he didn’t), and one was lactose-intolerant. Ha! We usually had pasta (we found gluten free pasta for celiac boy) and veggies and bread and salad. Sometimes with chicken on the side. Those were our general limitations, and we ate that almost every night. Sounds about right in Italy, however…

  11. All of these items look delish! And yum…eggplant lasagna. I want to try that.

  12. Pingback: The One Where We Read Things That Already Happened | Dietitian on the Run

  13. Pingback: “Is Junk Food Cheaper?”: A Challenge | Dietitian on the Run

Let's Hear It!

