Friday Five: Tried & True

Training, week one, will be done after a {please be} successful 10-miler tomorrow morning; it feels good to be back on schedule! I’ve veered a little from the subscribed boxes, but two “easy” runs and one “hill repeats (per coach Cait’s demands) + miles” run have made up 16 miles this week, thus far. Bringing the total to 26 will make this my highest mileage week in at least a month – it’s about time!

That’s not the only thing that has changed around here in a week – our lives were basically turned upside down in a matter of days, and we’re both still adjusting (in a good way)! Running was the only Norm, but for now, I’ll take it.

All of that being said, here’s a fun post for you – Tried and True; things I’ve tried over the past year, and a few true(?) facts.

TRIED: CrossFit, and consequently could not walk or sit properly for days! It was a good burn, but beware of the lactic acid doses to come!

TRIED: Spin, and totally fell for it. It will be a winter cross-training fave!

TRIED: Red wine, multiple times. I just can’t get to that “mmhm, this is good” moment. Usually I can do bitter; reds just don’t get me.

TRIED: Yoga….and we all know what happened there. (25-Day Challenge Sums its up pretty well, even though that came a year after the first “try”)
I’m currently looking for a class to squeeze in after-work/before-date night.

TRIED: Quinoa, Spaghetti Squash, Acorn Squash, Tofupea balls, Havarti cheese, Naan, homemade Veggie burgers, and Polenta (D thinks that sounds like placenta, heh, so we don’t buy it often). Hello, FOOD, I had no idea you were so vast…

crossfitTRX mandukamat 005 5.10 010

Now, here’s the TRUTH:

I went “vegetarian” in April, but I still eat eggs and greek yogurt. That’s my style, everyone has their own.

I love riding my road bike, but think I’ll cap it at 40-50 mile trips. The TRUTH? It hurts to Sit for that long, on those tiny narrow seats, in my opinion! No need for discomfort.

I’m excited to start speed work and training hard again, to reach that BQ. I’m NOT excited at the idea of winter-training next year, to actually run Boston.

On my week-days off, I watch Oprah. And I think she’s Fantastic.

I’m currently listening to Lady Gaga, at 7:30 in the morning. Dance-techno to start my Friday? YES, that’s right.

Once, we hosted a Lady Gaga-themed dinner party, one that will never be forgotten by those who attended…

******

What have you tried over the past year that has stuck with you? What’s the FIRST Truth that comes to mind about yourself?

This should be fun….. 😉 Happy Friday!

12 Comments

Filed under about me, random, running, things that make me Happy

12 responses to “Friday Five: Tried & True

  1. i had this kind of strike me not too long ago: i don’t have to run to be in shape! i like running, but there are times that i can’t due to injuries or just don’t want to…and that’s OK!

  2. I love lady gaga! At first she got on my nerves but lately i just love her jams to run to! 🙂 what race are you attempting to BQ at?

  3. This is a great post. Cross fit is a killer burn! I hear ya. just started speed work as well, forgot how painful yet rewarding it is, haha.

  4. Wow, you tried a lot of things!

    This week, I tried cooking on a week night for the first time in as long as I can remember… I am usally a ‘cook on the weekends, eat baked potatoes/leftovers on week nights’. I tried a vegan recipe and it turned out great!

    A truth about me… Unless I am training for a race, I struggle stay motivated on the work out front….

  5. Last year I tried running and clearly love it! One truth: I drive with the heat on my feet in the car even when it’s not cold outside. 🙂

  6. runyogarepeat

    I’ve tried lots of Lady Gaga playlists for running, and they work! I’ve also increased my yoga to 3x a week usually this fall, and I love it.

  7. This was such a fun post for a Friday! Love it. So many new fun things have been going on in your world since Colorado!

  8. Oooh sounds like exciting things on the home front.

    Some how, running ALWAYS keeps me grounded when things go haywire, in either a good OR bad way. Thank you, running!

    TRIED: MORNING WORKOUTS. I will never go back. It’s hard (impossible?) to run outdoors on these cold, dark, snowy winter mornings, but I love hitting the gym before work and I’ll be back to sunrise runs as soon as the sun is rising before I get to work. 🙂

    TRUTH: I enjoy eating McDonald’s. SHAME, I know. And I don’t eat it very often at all (maybe a couple times a year) but I really do like it. Why does that junk taste so good? hahaha

  9. TRUTH I’m painfully awkward in social situations.

  10. Lee

    Tried: Drinking coffee in the morning instead of diet coke.

  11. Katie

    Tried – KETTLEBELLS and love it! Will definitely keep tossing that weighted ball with horns through 2011 🙂
    Truth – I am painfully INDECISIVE … and call talk myself into and out of anything. Gift and a curse.

Let's Hear It!

