Powerful {Food} Processor Creations

Months ago, a tragedy occurred in our kitchen; my little Food Processor broke. It wouldn’t pulse; the blade wouldn’t spin; I had a moment of silence and grief, for gone were the days of banana soft-serve or homemade hummus.

A new, bigger, more powerful Food Processor (FP) was on the top of my Christmas wish-list. Wish, granted!

newfoodprocessor 002 newfoodprocessor 005

Such a beauty…

She fits 7 cups, instead of 3, has a bigger motor, an “on” function (vs. me holding “Pulse” for minutes on end), and a chopper! Yes, this is a fascination.

I had the day off yesterday to experiment and create! We started with hummus:

newfoodprocessor 008  newfoodprocessor 011

1 can Chickpeas, rinsed
1 clove fresh Garlic, minced
Seasonings: Ground Red Pepper, S&P
2 tbsp Canola

Pour it in and pulse! I pressed “on” and realized I didn’t have to hold it; I was amazed, and I soon (after a few bowl scrapes) had hummus! Well done, FP.

newfoodprocessor 018

This tastes perfect (a little spice, a lot of creamy), but is just a little bit dry. Suggestions? More oil? Water? I mean, we’ll eat it anyway, it’s HOMEMADE HUMMUS…but maybe for next time?

*****

Next up: homemade Veggie Burgers!

I have had a burger craving for weeks, thanks to restaurant menu teases. I always ask “Frozen of Fresh?” and have sadly been disappointed by most places saying the first. What’s a gal got to do around here for a REAL Veggie burger?

Make them herself, obviously.

Inspired by Ashley’s Zesty Italian Veggie Burgers, I gathered my ingredients from Whole Foods, cleaned the FP, and got to work!

newfoodprocessor 019 newfoodprocessor 020

I went with an Old Bay theme, since I know that’s what the boy likes, and nixed a few things to come up with my own mix:

Old Bay Veggie Burgers

1 cup Chickpeas, cooked & rinsed
1/2 Zucchini, sliced thinly
1/4 Red Pepper, chopped
1 clove fresh Garlic, minced
Old Bay, S&P
1/4 Yellow onion, chopped
1 tbsp Canola Oil
1/2 cup Whole Wheat Flour
2 tbsp Sunflower Seeds

Preheat the oven to 375*. Combine first seven ingredients in the FP and pulse until smooth; in a separate bowl, stir flour & seeds into the vegetable mixture.

As Ashley put it, this will be a little more moist than cookie dough batter; you can add more flour if you’d like, but the patties come out just fine either way.

newfoodprocessor 024 newfoodprocessor 027

Form into four patties; bake 15 on one side, flip and bake for 10 minutes on the other.

Voila! Homemade, delicious Old Bay Veggie Burgers:

newfoodprocessor 030

Protein: Chickpeas, Cheese (if added)
Carbohydrates: chickpeas, whole-wheat bun
Fat: Oil, cheese (if added)

This thing is FULL of fiber, too! An easy, homemade healthy dinner to satisfy crowds.

Serving suggestions: a slice of pepperjack, a squirt of ketchup and a whole-wheat bun!

How do you like your {veggie or other} burger?

The list of to-create-with-FP now includes: homemade nut butters (because this one is actual powerful enough to do it!) and, obviously, banana soft serve. Then, I’ll be testing out that chopper… endless possibilities!

22 Comments

Filed under dinners, food, gadgets, Nutrition, recipes

22 responses to “Powerful {Food} Processor Creations

  1. i LOVE old bay…and i love that you added it to your veggie burgers! sounds amazing!

  2. Chaya

    Those veggie burgers look awesome! Regarding hummus, I don’t make my own anymore since I live in Israel, where amazing hummus is available on every street corner. You can try adding a few things: olive oil, tahina, or for a lower-calorie variety, roasted red peppers! I also like green hummus, with tons of cilantro and parsley. Mix and match the different seasonings, and enjoy!

  3. These look awesome. Thank you for sharing. I will have to try them out now that I am going meat-free. I just wish I had a beautiful food processor like yours!

  4. Carrie C. in VA

    regarding the hummus, reserve the liquid from the chickpea can and add as needed to keep it moist. adding tahini is another good idea.

    those veggie burgers look awesome!

  5. Yum yum!! I haven’t made veggie burgers in way too long!

  6. jen

    I love hummus! Here is my go-to recipe. If you’re garlic sensitive at all, I would drop down to 2 cloves.

    http://ifshesaidso.wordpress.com/2009/11/11/random-rant-hummus/

    • Heather C

      Thanks, Jen! I definitely think I need to decrease the garlic. We had a lot of it yesterday between those two things…

  7. I like my food processor too. Add pesto to the list. I also make little fruit-nut balls and freeze them.
    http://www.marcigilbert.com/2010/08/30/kitchen-fun/
    And I also try to do two things with the FP while it’s dirty to make it worth lugging it out and cleaning it!

  8. I love my food processor – we have a Cuisinart. It gets more use than anything else in my kitchen these days! I’ve had similar issues with hummus. I found the trick is to add a little bit more olive oil and I also add tahini to mine and a tablespoon or 2 of water if it’s still dry. I also usually add lemon juice or sometimes jalapeno juice straight from the jar for extra spice!

  9. As much as I love veggie/bean burgers and hummus, I have never made either at home and I even have a kick ass FP that I won at last year’s work xmas party. Adding to THE LIST!

  10. Ah man, that looks awesome. Also reminds me that I need to do something about my FP! It’s not working!!! I think it’s the same as your NEW one. I hope it’s not broke, but I’m not sure how to fix it. Blade won’t spin. I think we’ve used it maybe 4 times. UGH!!!

  11. ahh im so jealous!!! i need a good processor!

  12. hummus is one of my go-to quick fixes. too add moisture, i use flavor infused olive oils (like habanero or rosemary), lemon juice, or extra liquid from the bean can. i also add herbs depending on the flavor profile i’m looking for – parsely, cilantro, and sage are all good in it.

    enjoy your new blender! those burgers look great – i never thought to add zucchini!

  13. YUMMY!!! Definitely need to bust out the processor to try these out 🙂 thanks!

  14. Maybe add some of the liquid from the chickpea can to make it wetter?

  15. Looks like a food processer is a necessary tool! 🙂

  16. Pingback: Friday Five: Tried & True | Dietitian on the Run

  17. Julie

    This may sound strange but I like to use fat free sour cream or plain yogurt in hummus to add moisture. Greek yogurt would also work and add protein! I really enjoy your blog!

Let's Hear It!

