Starting Strong: Running with a New Plan!

After taking the weeks to really enjoy the holidays and run all over town (plus to Boulder) with our weekend visitors,  I was definitely feeling the weight of being off schedule and on vacation. Literally.

sleepylolcat

The funny thing about letting an exercise routine slip a little? I always feel more tired. I was craving that endorphin rush of energy, and more than ready to get this training plan rolling!

There’s no need to step on a scale or rest on a few indulgences; it’s a new day, a new week, a new month and a new Year. All good reasons to get right back into the groove, to lace those shoes right up and head for the pavement.  Here we go…

Day 1: 5 miles, Easy. (44:52)

Check! I survived this by dodging ice patches and paying more attention to white sidewalks than my music or G, the Garmin. It was a challenge to keep an even pace, but negative splits still showed themselves for the full five.

I have three more days of running ahead this week, ending with a 10 miler!

To keep things strong, I’ve ignored that the last two weeks have only included two yoga classes, and started fresh. Sunday was a 90 min class that had me sore yesterday; today I took two classes this morning (just because I had the time and love the teachers) and I’m finally feeling back to stretchy-normal.

Yoga & Spin will be my main cross-training this time around; the road bike will get a turn when the weather allows! Hear that, Denver? Please let the sun shine.

Who else is starting the new year with a new Training plan/race goal?

18 Comments

Filed under about me, making plans, Races, running

18 responses to “Starting Strong: Running with a New Plan!

  1. I’m starting the year just about to end my 2nd half-marathon training plan, so things are feeling a little wonky as far as being in line with the new year, but it still feels good to be still running!

    I’ve never done any road biking (at least not since I was a kid,) and have been considering trying it. If I were taking some spin classes do you think that adequately prepares you (maybe just mentally) for the road bike?

    • Heather C

      I definitely think so! The only big difference is how to dress for the outdoor elements/time on the bike 🙂 It also takes a little time to get used to navigating busy streets and staying safe!

  2. I’m training for a half in March! And like you said – ignoring a few … over-indulgences over the holidays and starting with a positive attitude and looking forward not back 🙂

  3. You bet! I sure am too! Here’s to a great year!!

  4. Love your spirit! It’s contagious. I’m going to run the Dallas Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon March 27th. Would have loved to make it to DC March 26th but not in the cards budget-wise to travel for a race. I’m really pumped about the one here though and it will be nice to have the support from friends and family in Dallas. I honestly haven’t thought about my training plan quite yet – I’m going to get on that in a week or so. 🙂

    • Heather C

      Look at you, #2 already in the works! I’m attacking this plan a little early for a few reasons, you definitely still have time to enjoy just running for fun 🙂

  5. runyogarepeat

    I’m planning on running a half in May, so I’ll start training in March when the weather will hopefully be warmer. I just cannot motivate myself to run outside in temps in the 20s. For now, there will be lots of yoga & some treadmilling.

    • Heather C

      Colder temps and ICY sidewalks are definitely deterrents! But I figured after surviving training for a Full last winter, I have no excuses 😉

  6. I’m ready to put my race/running/training plan together for 2011. No races signed up for yet, but I definitely want to aim to run some fun races and maybe even sign up for another marathon. We’ll see…

    I avoided the scale for a week after our trip to the midwest and turns out, I’m at my same weight. Glad I didn’t hop on the scale the minute we got home or I might have been a little depressed for no reason. 🙂

    • Heather C

      Another 26.2 is definitely on my agenda (has to be for a BQ, right? 😉 ) , but I haven’t decided which either! I’d love to do some West coast races…I might pick your brain about that!

  7. Teresa

    Hey there-
    Came across your blog while doing a search for 15K training plans. New year, new goal for me..only have run 5Ks..so this is a challenge. Wanted to comment and say HI..since I’m also a RD in Chicago, IL 🙂 Good luck to you!

    PS,if you have any good websites/training plans for 15k please share!!

  8. Lucas

    Does this week’s plan include 6.30 yoga tomorrow? If so, I’m ready for Alex to kick my butt again.

  9. Me!! Well technically I started on the 27th but close enough 🙂 its fun to start the new year on a training plan!

  10. I am! I’m training for the GA half-marathon in March.

  11. Vanessa

    I’m training for a marathon in March! It will be my second one! I’m hoping it goes MUCH better than my first!!!

  12. I start training for my 4th half tomorrow 🙂

    Here’s to a happy year of running!

  13. I’m kicking the new year off with a training plan too! this is fun!

  14. It’s always refreshing to get back on schedule after the holidays! Yoga and spin sounds like perfect balances to your running regime. What training plan are you following?

    I have a marathon in mid-May and trying to figure out how to proceed. 🙂

Let's Hear It!

