Creamy Green Chile Soup

Every holiday I scour the grocery stores in New Mexico for one thing; Desert Garden items. In the past, I’ve been known to stock up and stuff my suitcase with these:

greenchilesoup 001

A dry soup mix that will bring all the tastes of the Southwest to my East coast kitchen! I’ve also tried their Beer bread mix, dips and salsas; I love it ALL. My poor friends have been subjected to the mouth-burning meals, as I sit completely content with my green chile fix!

Now it’s not so uncommon for me to find a restaurant or grocery store that offers up something similar (i.e. the 505 Sauce, whose discovery in the stores here made my heart skip a beat). But, that doesn’t mean I don’t covet these little treasures just as much! My brother & sister-in-law gave D & I a package FULL of them, and I couldn’t have been more excited to make a dent in the stash.

What goes with creamy potato soup? Cornbread, of course.

greenchilesoup 003 greenchilesoup 005

The soup: just add water! It boils for ~35 minutes.

Aside from the occasional bowl of chili, this has become my winter-dinner favorite. It reminds me home, it has all the flavors I crave (savory & spicy) and it warms me up, every time.

What has been your favorite meal as of late? You’ll be seeing a few more of these beauties; each box makes ~6 servings, and we have three different soups! Obviously I’m elated by this – D’s tastebuds? They’re in for a surprise.

8 Comments

Filed under about me, dinners

8 responses to “Creamy Green Chile Soup

  1. I love a hearty soup served with bread or crackers. I could eat it everyday. Lately, I’ve been making a lot of quinoa creations with vegetables, beans, sometimes Italian flavors, sometimes, Tex-Mex or southwestern…always spicy!

  2. Lucas

    I don’t know why I read your blog, always makes me ridiculously hungry! 😛

    Sounds awesome though, hopefully D will be able to taste his food within a week! hah

  3. Elizabeth

    I’m not always too big on the spicy, but I’ll eat anything with cornbread. Bring it on.

  4. This sounds sooo yummy! Lately my favorite has been R’s pork roast with winter root veggies… Clearly, its a classic for a reason!

  5. Soups always sound good this time of the year. THere are some great tomato soups in Eugene…tomato orange and a tomato cheese. I also like making Iowa Girl Eats white bean chicken chili recipe (you could probably nix the chicken).

  6. Courtney

    I miss the Green Chile Soup. You introduced me to its awesomeness. Enjoy!

  7. Thanks for the engagement love! 🙂 i hope you had a good holiday! 🙂

  8. green chiles!!! bet you’re smiling about this one 🙂

Let's Hear It!

