Acorn Squash Vegetable Medley

In search for the solution to an early dinner/very late lunch yesterday, my Acorn squash took center stage. This could also be an easy, healthy holiday side dish, or part of a stir-fry. I went simple, and made a lot to fill me up!

I’ve decided I’m partial to the Acorn squash because it’s the easiest to slice in half; my arm muscles can only take on so many butternuts. Plus, if you do things right, the outer layer just peels right off – no need for more knifing skills, or an extra strong peeling device. See? All good things.

acorn squash

Image source.

How to Roast it: Slice from stem to bottom (in half), drizzle with Olive oil, add preferred seasonings, and stick it in the oven at 425* for ~35 minutes.

Once it’s done, the skin peels off and you have endless possibilities!

I chose to go with a medley. Inspired by Sassy’s stir-fry last week I picked up fresh green beans, mushrooms & onion at the store. Their didn’t make it to their intended use, but this worked out just fine…

12.21 020

Acorn Squash Medley

1/2 roasted & peeled acorn squash, cut into chunks
Fresh green beans, sliced purple onion, sliced mushrooms (amount is up to you!)
Salt, Pepper, Thyme
Minced Garlic
Olive Oil

Heat ~1 tbsp Olive Oil and garlic over medium; sauté green beans for ~4-5 minutes before adding onions, then mushrooms. Once soft, add to squash and season to taste.

12.21 017

Full of fiber, nutrients and a little healthy fats, this bowl Filled me up and kept me satisfied! On another note, it has been way too long since I’ve enjoyed the soft flavorful sautéed mushroom.

Fueling for a day at the store right now isn’t easy; between working with holiday shoppers, trying new classes and finishing up tasks before we travel is using up every minute of the day and every ounce of my energy. Christmas Countdown is on!

How are you faring this week? What’s new on your menu?

12 Comments

Filed under dinners, lunches, recipes

12 responses to “Acorn Squash Vegetable Medley

  1. mmmmm, mushrooms are one of my favorites…what a fabulous and healthy bowl!

  2. yum yum! i made some acorn and butternut squash soup last week that was pretty darn easy

  3. YUM!!! This looks so good! I am on the hunt for new recipes for lunches and dinners, this one is perfect! Promptly printing it out 🙂

  4. I love the combo of squash and mushrooms – yum! I was just sitting here thinking about wanting to make something new for dinner tonight…I’ve been on a soup kick but maybe tonight will be a squash + mushroom quinoa dish.

    It’s a crazy week with a lot to do – I’m with you on the energy. I need as much as I can get this week!

  5. Mmm, that looks like a tasty dish. Those mushrooms look especially yummy for some reason. Girl, I imagine you are exhausted. Hope you get a little downtime soon for the holidays. Although, I’ve heard retail doesn’t really work that way. 😉 Merry Christmas!

  6. How do you always manage to make veggies look amazing?

  7. a pizzert is the newest and most delicious thing on my menu this week! i just posted about it= pure amazingnes

  8. Another yummy looking dish!

Let's Hear It!

