Holiday Shrimp Tacos

It’s been too long since New Mexican-inspired cooking has infused our dinner choices.  A few grocery store pick-ups yesterday helped me remedy that -  peppers, onions, flat* taco shells and salsa – all  set up for spicy success!

*I found a brand of tortillas that sell stacked, flat corn taco shells. Normally I would opt for the norm, but this ingredient list was short (corn, lime, salt, oil), so, obviously i was sold. And I thought we could get a little creative…

12.16 013

Holiday Shrimp Tacos

1/2 lb small shrimp
1/4 ea. green & red pepper, sliced
1 tbsp onion, minced
1/4 avocado, peeled & diced
1/2 c tomato, diced
Lemon Juice
Ground Red Pepper, Cumin, Salt & Pepper
Olive Oil

Heat ~1 tbsp oil in a skillet over medium; add peppers & saute for ~3-4 minutes before adding shrimp. Sprinkle seasonings, heat until shrimp are cooked & peppers are soft.

Combine avocado, tomato, onion and lemon juice in a small bowl; mash together. Spread as a base on your taco, and add the shrimp mixture.

I decided these are “holiday” tacos; you know, green & red peppers. Holiday-ish.

12.16 014 12.16 018

We ate these with our hands, no utensils needed! If you’re like us, a little extra salsa on top is necessary, and delicious.

With cold temperatures on the forecast, we decided it was time to get in the spirit with ]a few holiday movies. Four Christmases (Hilarious!): watched and loved.
Elf: saved for tonight!

8 Comments

Filed under dinners, recipes

8 responses to “Holiday Shrimp Tacos

  1. so when you comin’ up to make these for me? yummy! 🙂

  2. Oh yum! Those look delicious! And very festive w/ the use of red & green! I should make these some night next week!

  3. Billy and I watched Elf last night! And he made really good nachos. 🙂 We love corn tortillas.

  4. Elf – Santa?!! I KNOW HIM!!

    Red and green, how precious are you?!

    I just watched Fred Claus, surprisingly hysterical.

  5. Lucas

    That food looks amazing. I’ll be over for dinner soon! 😛

  6. So are those flat CRUNKY taco shells? Interesting!!

    I love Four Christmases – what a hoot! It’s on “the list” to RE-watch this season.

  7. Mmm…looks delish. I love simple yet tasty meals. I’m definitely thinking more about shrimp now that we had such a good stir fry on Mon.

  8. i dont think you realize how much i LOVE shrimp! I’m craving it NOW!

Let's Hear It!

