Back to DC!

It has been official for over a month now (!!!!), but it seemed too far away to be “real” or seem random-announcement worthy. It took no convincing at all, and I had a HUGE grin on my face during the entire process.

No, we’re not moving back to the Nation’s Capital. But, I do miss you, Lincoln!

7.2 008

But we are going back – for a race! Very fitting, yes? This city made running a lifestyle; I met a Lot crazy people who love this endurance activity just as much as I do, many of whom braved race after race with me just for another finisher’s medal (or another excuse for a Sunday afternoon brunch extravaganza).

In fact, almost exactly one year ago, we had back-to-back weekends of race insanity.

First, we ran 13.1 in the SNOW – to be more specific, rain turned snow, on a puddle-filled trail, for an out-and-back (i.e. tackle those puddles not once, but twice!).

12.6 022 12.6 028

Ridiculous. And AWESOME.

We followed that up with a 1oK (in the rain) one week later; I decided to take it up another notch, and do two 10Ks back to back (i.e. on the same day, 1 hour apart):

12.13 005 12.13 021

12.13 034 12.13 029

Ridiculous. AND even more awesome. Plus, this weekend birthed the brunch tradition that will always rein as my favorite activity:

12.13 036

*****

Clearly I couldn’t resist going back for more – I predict at least one race per year with this group of crazy-awesome people.

Up ahead – the Suntrust National Marathon, Round 2. I won’t be going back for the full 26.2, instead I’m happy to sign up for something shorter (13.1) and finish the last few of the Full with Kate, to help her survive/love her first marathon!

March 26, 2011 can’t come soon enough…

26 Comments

Filed under about me, Races, running buddy, travel

26 responses to “Back to DC!

  1. What a great tradition! That looks like a fun group!

  2. Good luck on the half! I’ll be doing the full (my first!!).

  3. At first I thought “don’t tell me they moved again!” hahaha

    Sounds like a great choice! T’will be a fun trip + race!

    • Heather C

      Heh, I figured a few people would assume as much…not far-fetched 😉 But we’re staking our ground here in CO, ha, don’t worry.

  4. Yay! That sounds awesome and something to really look forward to!

  5. Ivan

    I believe one year ago also birthed the “awkward prom re-enactment” photos between D and me. I KNOW he has that one from Front Page printed poster-sized and above the bed.

  6. lacey

    ooooh!!!! big news!! that’s awesome Heather!!!!!

  7. Liz

    Wooohoooooo! I’ll be running the half too 🙂 Can’t wait to see you when you’re back!

  8. hooray! I will hopefully be running it as well. I’ll wave as you zoom by!

  9. Exciting news! It makes me want to sign up for it, too. 😉 Happy Friday!!

  10. Ooh, that’s exciting! I love traveling somewhere just to do a race you love and see people you love! What a good excuse to go visit the old pals and Lincoln. 🙂

  11. I was very concerned by the title of this. Phew. I can’t imagine what kind of crazy half PR you’re going to pull off in march. Unleash the speedy legs!

  12. woot for making your way back to DC!! 🙂

  13. I think I’m going to run that half too! I went to school in DC so I’m excited to go back. Plus Runnerstrials, beckontherun and healthontherun are all running the full!! It wil be a fun weekend!

  14. Danielle G.

    ok so i got serious about running back in august and im up to 4 mi comfortably.. my friends keep saying i should run a race. but i didnt think it was my thing.. but reading about how much fun you have racing.. i want to give it a try. (totally loving this blog).

  15. Awesome. I’ve gone back and forth about running it. I live in Atlanta, but my family is all from the DC area and I think it would be fun to do a race there. But..the GA half is the following weekend and I’ve done that for the last 4 years so I feel like I should make it 5. I’m conflicted!

  16. YAY! still debating if i’m going to go back for the half that weekend…either going to be that or the gw parkway classic in april. i can’t find a single 10 miler out here! we were definitely spoiled with all the dc area races! *sigh*

  17. Pingback: Starting Strong: Running with a New Plan! | Dietitian on the Run

Let's Hear It!

