Up to the {14,110 ft} Peak

With visitors in for the weekend, we tried to find somewhere new and adventurous to spend our Sunday afternoon. While neither D nor I had heard of the “Garden of the Gods”, we both assumed it was named for a reason. Pictures of jagged red rocks and the word “Free” had us convinced. And we went…

12.5 006 12.5 012

After stopping in the Visitor’s Center for some directions, brochures and maps, our car found the parking lot and we found the trails.

12.5 023 12.5 030

12.5 034 12.5 037

12.5 040 12.5 050

Traveling north, through the Garden, Pike’s Peak covers the horizon. Guess what covers Pike’s Peak? A road, to the top.

12.5 057 12.5 068

Unfortunately, this one comes with a price tag. But when in Colorado, peak one of the 14-ers, right? That’s what we did!

12.5 073

12.5 075

12.5 078 12.5 080

12.5 08212.5 084

12.5 090

After climbing up to 14,110, we braved the 13* summit temperature for a few pictures and a few moments in awe. An adventure we won’t soon forget!

******

What adventure have you taken lately?
Any other Colorado day-trip suggestions?
We have a lot more to explore!

22 Comments

Filed under Exploring Colorado, pictures, travel, weekends

22 responses to “Up to the {14,110 ft} Peak

  1. WOW! That is so gorgeous! I can’t get over the deep red colours of those rocks!

  2. Wow gorgeous, can I come visit now? 🙂

    A few weeks ago I visited TN and did a lot of fun hiking!

  3. oh how I miss colorado. Those views are breath taking. What a great hike! If you ever venture up to Steamboat Springs, go to Rabbit Ears Pass. 🙂
    LC

  4. i have been wanting to go up pike’s peak since we got here 3 years ago! i’ve done it but nate never has 🙂

  5. Ahhh so jealous!!! I want to come visit.

  6. Holly

    Beautiful! Garden of the Gods is something we did on vacation before moving here. Check out Mt. Evans (another 14er) although the road to the peak may be closed. Look into Mt. Bierstadt to climb; I hear it’s the “easiest” 14’er to hike.

  7. runyogarepeat

    I love hiking! How long was the hike in terms of mileage and time?

  8. Yes! I went there over the summer. Words don’t do it justice and it’s so big you have to be there to let it all soak in.

    Glad you all had a fun weekend, what a great way to get out and see your beautiful state.

    XOXO

  9. I went to garden of the gods with my mom last summer. So beautiful! I love Colorado, but I am such a wimp in the cold, I’m not sure I could move there!

    Glad you had a nice weekend!

  10. Lacey

    so cool!!!! i didn’t know you could drive up! and WOW it looks FREEZING up there, lol. sooooooooooooo pretty!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! you got some great photos 🙂

  11. Stunning! Definitely not an opportunity to miss. WOW!

  12. Oh my gosh, Heather, that place is beautiful! Love the pic with the winding road in it. Awesome views from the top.

  13. Alexis

    This past summer we took a trip to Maine (from Maryland). Let me set the stage. We have a 3 year old and at the time a new born. We drove up. 12ish hour drive. Our girls did wonderfully.

    We went to Acadia National Park on one of the days. It was so beautiful. It has the option of biking, walking/running, and car. We did take the car (again tiny ones were with us). I really want us to return one day and do site seeing without the car.

  14. wow. breath taking! i need to visit just to take in the scenery! i’m so jealous of where you live!

  15. That’s soooooooo pretty! I love pictures of CO…get me every time!

  16. Love, love, love the Garden of the Gods. I have yet to tackle Pike’s Peak yet, perhaps that can be our next double date! 🙂 Great pics!

  17. Gorgeous pics! I love that y’all take advantage of all that Colorado has to offer. My latest adventure was yesterday’s race. 😉 I’m ready for some more – I see a long road trip in our future in 2011. We’re thinking about Australia!

  18. PLSayrah

    Boulder has some really great hikes. My favorite is Mt. Sanitas – its quite the workout!

  19. Even though Ive lived in Iowa for 3 years Ive yet to make it to Colorado! I hope to go this May and this will be on my must-see list!

  20. I’m glad you liked some of the sights of my hometown! 🙂 Hiking Pikes Peak is a fun challenge in the summer, just in case you get the urge to bag some 14ers. Other awesome CO excursions: Glenwood Springs (great hiking + hot springs=bliss), Aspen, Durango + Million Dollar Highway (my absolute favorite part of Colorado by far), Great Sand Dunes National Park, Lake City in the San Juans, Mesa Verde, Vail…I could go on and on. Let me know if you want any more Colorado sight-seeing recommendations!

  21. healthycollegegirl

    Fun! I love Pikes Peak! Have you ever been up to Estes Park? There are some awesome hikes up around there and it’s the cutest town ever. My sister and I love the Twin Sisters hike.

Let's Hear It!

