Friday Food: Vegetable Lasagna!

My mom makes a mean lasagna; it used to sit overnight in the fridge and the impatient-me wondered why we couldn’t just throw it in the oven as soon as it was assembled. Why must a dinner wait a full 24 hours?! Well, the noodles soaked and the flavors settled and the next night I appreciated all that work just a little bit more. I would be just as excited to cut myself a square.

It was, hands down, one of my favorite meals.

I finally tackled the Veggie-version! I might have just convinced myself it was the Ricotta that had me hooked all along.

thanksgiving 007 thanksgiving 010

1/2 package Whole Wheat Lasagna Noodles (pre-cooked)
~1 1/4 c Marinara Sauce
~1 c Part Skim Ricotta Cheese
Zucchini, sliced
Tomatoes, sliced
Onion, sliced
~1/2 c Part Skim mozzarella
Seasonings: Basil, Oregano, Salt & Pepper

Preheat the oven per noodles’ package directions (~350*). Put down a light layer of marinara sauce on the bottom of your 13 X 9 pan – on top, layer noodles, ricotta, sauce, vegetables &  as sprinkle of seasonings & mozzarella. Repeat until filled.

Bake for ~35 min, cool, sprinkle with grated parmesan, and enjoy!

thanksgiving 012

Ricotta cheese and the fact that they now make “precooked” noodles for the impatient in us all made this meal 1) delicious and 2) a little bit easier. 😉

******

What was one of your favorite family meals? Have you recreated it lately?

12 Comments

Filed under dinners, family, recipes

12 responses to “Friday Food: Vegetable Lasagna!

  1. I think my favorite meal from growing up was meatloaf!! Weird how tastes change. I haven’t re-created it… and probably won’t ever re-create it!

  2. OMG this sounds delish! I will def be making this!!!

  3. Mine’s a veggie lasagna, too! But I’d never thought of letting everything sit before baking … brilliant! I’ll be trying that trick next time I make it.

  4. i adore ricotta in lasagna, and honestly veggie lasagna tops meat lasagna for me any day of the week 🙂

  5. jawsome

    I LOVE lasagna – this has inspired me to make some soon. Now I just need to find some good gluten free noodles for Matt…

  6. Did you hear that? My Trader Joe’s vegetable lasagna is crying in the freezer. Your homemade creation has made my seem so depressed, lol.

    Fave meal — country fried steak. I bet your are just so hungry now, haa.

  7. That looks fantastic!!!!

    Fave childhood meals… ummm, Kraft Dinner, Chef Boyardee….. hehe.

    Actually, Mom’s Mac & Cheese was THE BEST. I should try to health-ify it. Her meatballs too. MMMMM.

  8. Ooh, i made veggie lasagna last week. It’s the perfect recipe to make more of so you can have delicious leftovers. I also added sliced zucchini in my layers and you couldn’t even tell it was there. Yuuum yum.

  9. I’m going to have to bookmark this recipe! this looks DELICIOUS!

  10. Way to tackle a lasagna makeover! Looks delicious. I made Mama Pea’s chickpeas + rice dish a couple nights ago and it was comforting and reminded me of meals when I was a kid. Love that feeling.

  11. Alexis

    There weren’t really family meals when I was little. Now a-days, I think one of my favs we call Mexican night. My husband usually has tacos. I have a vegetarian burrito: whole wheat shell, black beans, tomatoes, cheese, lettuce. Recently my hubby has started cooking corn in the oven to roast adding it too. It is just so good. I don’t know what it is.

  12. oh I just saw your vegetable lasagna! It looks good! I made some last night. Yours is a bit healthier than mine was though haha

Let's Hear It!

