Thinking Ahead, Optimistically (II)

As most of you know, I work for lululemon, and we set goals. During Part I of this series, a Brian Tracy quote and Fitblog chat inspired me to share what got everything started – an Optimistic attitude.

You can change your life, because you change the way you think.”  – You can choose to think, respond & act optimistically – a characteristic of most “successful” people.

Writing my 1, 5, & 10 year Personal, Health & Career goals was a way of thinking about what’s important to me. What do I value? What am I “Best in the World” at? What is my Vision*?

*******

Where do you start?

Brainstorm; think about what the core of your goals will be! For each of these exercises, give yourself ~45 seconds to answer. That forces you to think quickly and answer honestly, without giving anything too much thought. Write down:

5 things you Value the most (e.g. health, balance, etc).
Your Top 3 Goals in Life.
Something you’ve always wanted to do, but are afraid to try.

And, my favorite: When do you feel the most powerful? What gives you the greatest sense of accomplishment?**

9.1 061 DenverRnRwkend 078 10.31 049 9.10 028 7.4 001 birthdaywkend 057

When you write each goal, think about how it incorporates your values. Once you have a first draft of each (Personal, Health & Career) – think about whether or not it helps lead you to your Top 3 life goals. And when you’re feeling optimistic and adventurous, give yourself a chance to try that One thing.

**Last, but not least, you’ve chosen your “Genius”. Without knowing what this question would mean, I answered the following:

Running & Writing. Challenging myself & surpassing limits/expectations.

Your genius will show up in most, if not all, of your goals. I talked about this in Part I; my personal, health & career goals all intertwine. They all involve activity, challenges, writing, and using my values to be Best in the World at those things.

*****

*Think 10 years from now, where will you be? This can be as specific or vague as you’d like. Writing this as though no one else will see it (though, clearly, you’re about to), this is what I see in 10 years:

I am passionate about my work, and have found success in a job that challenges & excites me every day. We are financially stable, supporting a family with the means to travel, explore, be active & frequently see friends and family. I have a balance between relationships, health & fitness, adventure, writing & work. I find time every day to do something for myself, and for my family.

*****

What’s your genius? How will that make you Best in the World in your Career, with your Health, and as you tackle Personal goals?

13 Comments

Filed under about me, Goals, Lululemon, making plans, motivation, things that make you go Hmmmm

13 responses to “Thinking Ahead, Optimistically (II)

  1. WOW – this is powerful stuff.

    First, I really love the pics on the site – the new header is beautiful!!

    Second, I want to sit down and digest this. Having goals is something that benchmarks everything from success to happiness and I want to take this seriously. 45 sec – smart way to get it all out. I have this bookmarked for later!

  2. I have a hard time putting “abstract” (i.e. not numbers like time/weight/etc.) goals in writing. I have thinks floating in my head but I just can’t seem to grab ahold of them and put them into words, ya know?

    You are such a great fit with the Lululemon team… love it. And thanks again for sharing!

    Also – thanks for your comment re: Racing Weight. I found myself wondering “What would HeatherRD think?” 🙂

    • Heather C

      I know exactly what you mean! I found that 1) doing these exercises 2) Talking to friends/coworkers about ideas and 3) just finally Writing things down all really helped put “ideas” into “plans”.

      On the other note, always happy to help with Nutrition stuff 😉

  3. Thank you for this. I have been feeling uninspired lately due to a running injury, dead-end job, etc. and this is exactly what I needed. Also, love the new pics!

  4. This is great Heather! It really got me thinking. I’m going to give this a whirl tomorrow morning with my morning hot tea. 🙂

  5. runyogarepeat

    We talked about goals in my nutrition class today, but this is so much easier and more fun to read vs. the powerpoint lecture. In the next few years, my goals are to get into and complete a dietetic internship and become an RD, run a marathon, and travel more. I have a bunch of shorter term goals too. It really helps writing goals down and actually seeing them on paper and what you have to do to accomplish them. I actually love setting goals!

  6. Love the new look!!! 🙂 🙂

  7. Deep thoughts! Now you’ve given me something to really ponder…

  8. Hello

    Good Day, i just finished reading you post, yes it’s very good and very informative, now i going to work, i will be back very soon

    thanks for the info

    Kathy
    http://www.healthandwellnessconsultants.com

  9. Pingback: Thinking Ahead, Optimistically (III) | Dietitian on the Run

  10. Pingback: You Knew This Was Coming… | Dietitian on the Run

Let's Hear It!

