Time to Vote! The Veggie Athlete Diet

After months of knowing what it was about, but not how it would affect me, D & I decided to watch Food Inc. Our movie date happened to fall on April 20 (aka Earth Day), ironically appropriate. “Hungry for Change”? Turns out we were!

Meat and poultry haven’t been on my plate since; I do think there are healthy ways to incorporate them into your diet (try to buy organic, local & grass-fed; avoid “ground” options and factory farmed foods), but the choice I made doesn’t rely on that. My appetite for both was forever changed by scenes and interviews that are still fresh in my mind, and I’ve happily opted out.

8.21 004 8.21 007

Go Local: The produce section is my haven – time to shop Smart! I always look for “USA” stickers – it helps to know my fruits and veggies didn’t have to travel far to get to me. It means they didn’t start to lose nutrients in transit, they weren’t harvested as early (to allow extra time for ripening, not spoiling, while traveling hundreds/thousands of miles), and they weren’t the cause of time & trucks on the road (using fuel). We’re missing the Farmer’s Market thanks to a seasonal change, but that doesn’t mean “local” isn’t an option. If I find the “Colorado Proud” logo that is now so familiar, I snatch it up, proudly (and usually very excitedly).

******

Over the past seven months I’ve transitioned to a Vegetarian diet, trained for a second marathon and felt healthier every day. So, when the Fitness & Health Blogger’s Conference (FHBC) put out their call for speakers? My topic came to mind easily:

The Vegetarian Athlete’s Diet

  • Essential Nutrients needed for optimal muscle performance, building & repair
  • Vitamins & Minerals typically acquired from meat/poultry sources, that may be lacking in an unbalanced vegetarian diet
  • Sources of these essential nutrients in a vegetarian diet
  • Sources of protein in a vegetarian diet
  • Tips: preparing for an endurance event & recovery nutrition
  • Meal suggestions (recipes)

The agenda is up to you! I love this idea, because it means those who attend will learn about things they chose/are interested in. If this is a session you would want to come join me for, Go Vote!

Even if you don’t plan on attending, you can still put in your vote 🙂 Hopefully, they’ll follow the Healthy Living Summit and put all presentations online afterward for everyone to view if they want to!

******

If you see other speakers/topics on the list that you’d like to support – feel free to leave a link! Share the love 🙂

22 Comments

Filed under about me, good days, learning, Nutrition

22 responses to “Time to Vote! The Veggie Athlete Diet

  1. Aww yay, I love your idea and voted! 🙂

  2. This is awesome rock star! I knew you were a Vegetarian, but for some reason I thought you did fish. This takes serious determination, good for you!

  3. Hello! I just started reading your blog. I think there are many people out there who begin the vegetarian or vegan diets and don’t know how to fuel their bodies properly so I think this is an excellent idea!!

  4. I voted for you! I would love to hear more about how you balance it all. I am still working on not having too many carbs and having more veggies on my plate!

  5. Happy to vote for you, that’s a great topic!

  6. Very apropos topic!
    I was “Flexitarian” for many years, and always wondered if I could make the leap to complete vegetarianism. Reading The Omnivore’s Dilemma was the impetus that got me to do just that for six months.
    Now, I am lucky enough to be able to get meat from Polyface Farm so I have added it back into my diet, sparingly.
    I’d say anything that makes you more conscious of what you’re eating is good.

  7. I love your blog and am a new follower. I have seen glimpses of too many Peta ads…can’t watch the whole thing. The Veg Athlete’s diet sounds wonderful! I hope you present!!

  8. I voted, too.

    I think it is a great idea. I’ve eaten vegetarian (and vegan on-and-off) for the past six years. Like you, I feel healthier each day and have successfully completed 4 marathons as a veggie. A lot of people are curious and worried about my diet and training. Some don’t understand how the two can work together — don’t you need “meat protein” to build muscle?!?!?!

    I think your idea is great. And I anticipate your presentation being accepted!! Looking forward to hearing what you have to say and seeing some new recipes.

    Rock-on veggie runners!!

  9. I voted for you, Heather. That sounds like a great presentation. I know you’ll rock it. More people need to understand how easy and doable it can be to eat a vegetarian based diet and still train for major events.

  10. I think this is a fantastic topic and I know you have a LOT to offer. I’ve voted for you – hope you are selected to speak!

  11. Pingback: Tweets that mention Time to Vote! The Veggie Athlete Diet « Dietitian on the Run -- Topsy.com

  12. This is wonderful! And so, so relevant for me in my life right now. I’m off to vote. 🙂

  13. amanda

    I really love your blog and have become an avid reader. I think what sets you apart from so many other blogs similar in nature is that you are educated and write from a perspective of science versus trends and personal opinion. I too am a runner and I love everything you add about your running and training.

    As for this post, I’d love for you to write more about this topic. I, too, saw “Food, Inc.” last year and it altered my life forever. For my family, that meant raising our own chickens for eggs, buying meat from an organic and humane local farmer, and so on. I’ve toyed with the idea of going vegetarian for years but am held back by the idea (which could be faulty) that it’s hard to develop lean muscle without animal protein. While the science is solid for a meatless diet (have you read “The China Study”? Profound.) the body type I want to achieve is lean and muscular, though everyone I know who has it works out, lifts weights, and eats lean protein.

    Man, this is LONG! That said, I’d love to read more about what you have to say about this.

  14. Amy

    I voted! Great topic!

  15. Becky

    Got my vote! It’s so important for others to know how to lead a vegetarian diet and lifestyle in a healthy way.

  16. Your amazing! Headed to vote for you!

  17. I already voted for you! 🙂 I may be attending…we shall see! I’d love to come visit CO!

  18. great idea. I still haven’t seen Food Inc, I’m afraid it would tramatize me

  19. you have my vote! best of luck. 🙂

  20. Joslynn

    Veggies and fruit are so important. Their nutrients totally help the body recover very well. I loved this book The Jungle Effect. The recipes are pretty tasty. It was featured in Vogue earlier this fall. Sorry I wasn’t able to vote.

Let's Hear It!

