Mustard-yellow Shirts & Pie Firsts

Somehow the entire Thanksgiving week  has come and gone; D & I traveled to New Mexico and back, met up with Morgan (aka Redhead Running!) and Spike for a Turkey Trot, put up our Christmas tree (oh yes we did) and got back to the work world.

Whew.

With no real “traditional” Thanksgiving plans, we instead spent the morning freezing and chatting it up with two Michiganders for our first double date!

thanksgiving 031

Those two handled the altitude like champs, seriously impressive. The course wove through some neighborhoods, up a few small hills & onto a bike path. She kicked it up at the Finish line to bring us in at a ~6:17 m/m pace!  We were rewarded with donut h0les & pretzel bites, bagel quarters, half bananas & an unattractive mustard yellow Turkey-on-the-front race shirt. The latter was the less exciting of the group. Pretzel bites? Now that’s something I could get used to.

We came in around 23:43, according to the Garmin. I’ll take it!

*******

The race wasn’t followed by any big feast; D & I were on our own for the holiday, deciding to keep it low key with movies, Christmas decorating, and a few Thanksgiving-inspired dishes.

I tried my hand at a Pumpkin Pie for the very first time. Thanks to a Cooking Light recipe, and the ingredients on hand, it turned out pretty tasty…

thanksgiving 037

(Still working with some low-indoor light settings – any tips, camera people??)

Instead of the Sweetened Condensed milk, I used 1 c Original Light Soymilk.  Other than that, their “Classic Pumpkin Pie” recipe called for 2 eggs + 1 egg white, brown sugar, pumpkin pie spice, salt, and pureed pumpkin. It all settled in my choice of a Graham Cracker crust, topped with a sprinkle of chocolate chips and a side of vanilla bean ice cream.

Simple & Delicious.

******

I hope everyone else had  a great holiday! Tomorrow, things will pick back up around here with an announcement and a special request 🙂

15 Comments

Filed under about me

15 responses to “Mustard-yellow Shirts & Pie Firsts

  1. yum! i did a pecan pie this weekend…and did the crust by myself! it was delicious though 🙂

    • Heather C

      MUCH better route! If I had thought ahead (i.e. had the pantry needs on hand), I definitely would’ve preferred a homemade crust 🙂

  2. Sounds like a nice time in NM. And fun that you got to meet Morgan!

    I like the idea of pumpkin pie with the graham cracker crust. Yum!

  3. how fun, a double date!! and your pie looks delicious!!

  4. So jealous you got to meet Morgan 😦 Haha!

    Sounds like a lovely holiday weekend, I’m glad you guys had fun!

  5. So fun that you and morgan ran together. Wait, I missed the part about mustard yellow shirts…

  6. oo that pie looks divine! i would have never guessed it was ‘light’!

  7. oh nice job! Looks so cold. Cooking light has really been inpressing me with recipes lately. this looks perfect!
    LC

  8. I didn’t realize you had a non-traditional Thanksgiving in New Mexico. Hope it was a nice and relaxing vacation. What happened with planning a trip to Austin?

  9. Sounds like a great thanksgiving! Great job on the turkey trot!

  10. I have a mustard yellow shirt from a turkey trot…not impressed, although I wear it when it gets dark out so I can be seen easier. 🙂

    I looooove the background of that picture! So pretty! Glad you had a good yet untraditional Thanksgiving!

  11. Ahh, glad you had some untraditional fun! Michiganders are alright with me, wink wink!

    Pumpkin pie – so tasty – never thought to substitute the milk, smart move!

  12. Way to go on the Turkey Trot and too fun hanging with Redhead + Spike!

    Mmm, chocolate chip garnish for pumpkin pie? Must try!!!

Let's Hear It!

