Granola-topped Pumpkin Spice Bars

After a round of pumpkin pancakes last week, there was a small container of leftover pureed orange sweetness staring at me in the fridge. Without eggs or milk, there’s always one place I know I can find a baking recipe that won’t disappoint – Mama Pea.

Sure enough, I clicked on her “Pumpkin Spice Bars” and started mixing! I decided to forgo the frosting – 1) for lack of ingredients and 2) “crunchy” was going to take place of “creamy & sweet”. Instead, I threw some cocoa & apple-blueberry granola into the mix. And voila! One of my favorite baking creations to date:

Granola-Topped Pumpkin Spice Bars

Hiking 056

1 1/2 c Pureed Pumpkin
2 tbsp Canola Oil
1/3 c Water (or Non-dairy/Skim milk, if you have it on hand. I did not…)
1/2 c Brown Sugar (Light)
1/4 c Sugar
1 tsp Vanilla
1 1/4 c Whole Wheat Pastry Flour
1 tsp Baking Powder
1/2 tsp Baking Soda
1/2 tsp Salt
Cinnamon, Nutmeg & Ground Cloves (~1 tsp each)

Topping: Granola (I used Apple-blueberry, but any flavor would do the crunch-trick!), Cocoa powder

Preheat the oven to 350*. Using a mixer, cream the pumpkin, sugars, oil & water (milk) and vanilla. In another bowl, combine remaining ingredients (dry). Slowly add the dry to wet, stirring until mixed.

In an 8×8 baking pan (greased/PAM-ed), spread the batter and sprinkle with granola & cocoa. Bake for 30-34 minutes.

Try to be patient, let them cool ~5 minutes and then slice ‘em up!

pumpkinspicebread 002

Slowly bite into that soft cake-like pumpkin creation…

pumpkinspicebread 004

…and enjoy!

This batch may have only lasted a mere three days in our apartment.

They would be great to take to a Fall/Winter holiday party, or a healthier dessert option. Served warm with Vanilla Frozen Yogurt? Perfection.

I’ll be making Round 2 at home this weekend for the Fam, and I’m already excited about them.

What’s your favorite pumpkin dessert?

9 Comments

Filed under baked goods, food, recipes, things that make me Happy

9 responses to “Granola-topped Pumpkin Spice Bars

  1. Oh wow Heather these look fantastic. I think I could easily convert them to GF! 🙂

  2. These look great! What I love that I learned about baking lately is that you can substitute so many things and make it just how you want it…or based on what you have available. I love pumpkin pie – no frills, just regular pumpkin pie. I’m going to make a vegan version for the family for Thanksgiving.

  3. This is reeeeeally boring but last night I was craving something sweet so I took out some pureed pumpkin, added in some granola I had made (ground up mixed raw nuts, teeny bit of vanilla, teeny bit of coconut oil and cinnamon), a little bit of honey and some cinnamon. It was delish and easy and cured my sweet craving!

  4. I love all pumpkin bars/cakes etc. but this is the first I’ve seen granola topped. Just when I thought pumpkin bars couldn’t get any better. Love the addition!

  5. so these are on their way to me now, right? 😉

  6. jen

    Yum. I can get behind the idea that granola makes them healthy. 🙂

  7. These look soooo good. I have everything EXCEPT the pumpkin. Hmm, my neighbor’s jack-o-lantern is still sitting outside. Maybe I can use that. hehe. Or maybe a trip to the store because I totally want to make these!!

    Thanks girl!

  8. Jenn

    Oh my god these look heavenly! I just made a pumpkin pie but as soon as that’s finished I’m totally making these!

  9. These look really good. My favorite pumpkin dessert is probably pumpkin cheesecake. I just made some and it is delicious!

Let's Hear It!

