Meatless Monday: Sweet Rice, Almond Pasta & Pumpkin Pancakes

Things got creative in our kitchen last week; I dusted off one of my favorite cook books and found inspiration, as usual. We also dusted off a can of pumpkin that’s been sadly sitting on the shelf for over month. Then, in a last minute need to pack a quick lunch, a crunchy addition was thrown into a simple pasta dish.

Hungry yet? Here are a myriad of options for your Meatless Monday entrees tonight:

Sweet & Savory Brown Rice

ccreservoirride 019

1 cup brown rice, uncooked
1/4 cup Dried Cranberries
~10 almonds, sliced/chopped
1 small Orange, peeled & sliced
1/2 cup Celery, chopped
~2 tbsp Green Onion
Thyme, Salt & Pepper

This was based off of a recipe I found in a Williams & Sonoma Vegetarian Cookbook (Thank you, Mom!), changed slightly to accomodate or pantry supply & taste preferences.

Cook brown rice according to package & add Thyme when it’s ready to simmer, prep mix-ins in the meantime. When the rice is cooked, add salt/pepper to taste & stir in the sweet & savory additions!

ccreservoirride 023

*****

Tomato Almond Pasta

As mentioned above, this was a lunch-box creation that I’ll be making again very soon. I was pleasantly surprised by the Almonds’ presence in my simple pasta salad.

1 cup noodles (I used spirals), Cooked
1/2 Fresh Tomato, chopped into ~1 in. pieces
2 tbsp Grated Parmesan Cheese
~5-6 Almonds, chopped/sliced

{Insert MIA picture – I don’t usually think to photograph while I get ready for work…}

I didn’t actually measure anything, so those are approximations – feel free to use your own preferences and creativity ;). Simply toss this all together and ENJOY. Because, in my opinion,  it’s one of those I’m-no-gourmet-chef-but-for-this-we’ll-go-with-it meals . . . Thank You, almonds, for being crunchy & delicious.

*****

Last, but not least, we had a Breakfast-For-Dinner night wherein a lonely can of pumpkin finally saw the skillet! The credit for these pumpkins definitely belongs somewhere outside of this space – many food bloggers have enjoyed them, and I had been craving a creative pancake. Hats off to whoever first thought of adding a pureed, sweet vegetable to a classic breakfast staple! Genius.

fridayfood 015 

I used Angela’s recipe for the base – she’s brilliant with all things pumpkin, I knew this was the place to go! With a few modifications, my own stack was born.

Pumpkin Pancakes

1.5 cup Whole Wheat Pastry Flour
1 tbsp Baking Powder
2 tbsp Brown Sugar
Pinch of Salt
Cinnamon & Apple Pie Spice, to taste

3/4 cup Soy Milk (Original, Light)
1 tbsp Vegetable Oil (
i.e. What was in the pantry)
1 tsp Vanilla Extract
1 cup Pumpkin Puree

Combine dry ingredients, mix wet in a separate bowl. Add wet to dry slowly, until mixed through. Heat up the skillet & cook those cakes!

I added a little Pumpkin + Greek Yogurt topping, too (ignore charred pancake):

fridayfood 018 *******

With those three options, your Meatless taste buds shouldn’t be bored. 🙂

What’s on your menu tonight?

******

Side note: Nichole put together a creative spotlight on yours truly. In my continued effort to recruit her to Colorado, I happily participated! 😉

9 Comments

Filed under dinners, lunches, Meatless Monday, recipes

9 responses to “Meatless Monday: Sweet Rice, Almond Pasta & Pumpkin Pancakes

  1. Tonight I’m doing home made chicken noodle soup. Seems like a good day for it.

  2. Yum x 3!!

    Love the idea of almonds in rice and/or pasta AND those pumpkin pancakes sound wonderful.

    Tonight’s dinner – sauteed veggies with chickpeas tossed with leftover spaghetti squash… olive oil, parmesan and S&P.

  3. Mmm – delicious as usual. I need to add pancakes to my morning (or evening) meals. I love them but for some reason hesitate to make them more often. I think tonight’s dinner will be something with lots of veggies and quinoa.

    And I LOVED reading your spotlight on Nichole’s blog!

  4. Ok, that pancake creation looks unreal!! I will be borrowing that in the near future! PS. Read your story over at Nichole’s blog, loved it!

  5. Elizabeth

    I admit that I’m generally a little skeptical on sweet rice, but that looks delicious.

  6. breakfast for dinner is my favorite!!

  7. Pumpkin pancakes?! Breakfast for dinner?! You just made my day….mmm sounds friggin nomnom.

    HAPPY to highlight how much a** you kick!

  8. I really like your idea of adding fresh orange to the rice dish, sounds so yummy…and oranges are coming into season! woohooo citrus!
    I hope your week is off to a great start!
    xoxo!

Let's Hear It!

