Three Things Thursday: Time Tip, Fries & Karma

I recently started reading a Brian Tracy book , Focal Point, that’s classified under “Business/Self Help”. While neither of those categories have ever defined a book in my hands, I’m intrigued by his words and feeling motivated by his simple (yet effective) tips.

When it comes to squeezing e-mails, blogs, running, writing, reading, working, and living all into one day – I think I speak for the masses when I say we could all use a little help prioritizing. Feel free to correct me if I’m wrong. Hopefully I’m not the only one who opens up the computer in the morning, while coffee drinking & breakfast eating, only to find that somehow almost two hours have passed and I’m still coffee drinking and reading random internet pages.

Mr. Tracy offered a to-do-list tip that I find refreshingly simple & useful.

Prioritize tasks using the ABC system. “A” items are TOP priority; they must be done; they’re urgent and important. “B” items are those that should be done, but don’t pose consequences if they’re not. Don’t work on a B task, when A tasks remain.  Now, you can assume the level “C”: “something that would be nice to do, but has no consequences (i.e. a coffee date, or searching the internet for Lol Cats).

Try it! Tell me what you think. Do you have a tip to add?

*****

In other interesting news, Wendy’s has decided to use only Russet potatoes in their effort to produce “Natural-Cut” french fries. Apparently this also means they need to use more salt (i.e. high sodium content) and pay no regard to calorie content.

 Wendy's New Fries

Do you think fries are “natural” if you can see potato skin? Or just made from one type of potato? I think “natural” needs a makeover, and French fries probably aren’t the ideal starting point.

******

karma Image source:

Now that my brain is filled with ABC’s and potatoes, I’m off to yoga! I’ll be visiting a new studio, Karma, for the second time this week. We had our first date on Tuesday morning and I’m hooked – it’s exactly what I needed, and already has me hooked.

16 Comments

Filed under about me

16 responses to “Three Things Thursday: Time Tip, Fries & Karma

  1. Elizabeth

    I’d actually argue that sometimes you *need* to do B/C tasks while A ones remain, just because doing all A can burn you out. But maybe that’s just my procrastination rationalization.

    • Heather C

      Depending on the task(s) at hand, I think that argument could definitely be made! Or maybe just decrease your “A”s…? 🙂

  2. i really like that system…that’s actually what they teach at Starbucks in their management training 🙂 it definitely helps when everything’s prioritized!

  3. Katie

    How do you prioritize things like running and such? Sounds like an awesome system and I could definitely use a new way to prioritize things (as I too often find myself losing an hour at a time easily).

    • Heather C

      Running is an A or B task – depending on the day. It’s something that is top priority for me, because I do it For me and I enjoy it!

  4. I like the idea of the ABC prioritizing, but I don’t know if I could put it to use. May have to consider giving it a trial run.

    About the french fries, I love fries and would be more inclined to go to Wendy’s knowing their french fries were directly cut from real potatoes rather than formed from potato ingredients, but would I consider it a healthy choice for lunch, no. When I want fries, I usually make my own from fresh potatoes. I really don’t understand why labeling something natural is such a draw for people, isn’t tabacco natural? But it still causes cancer, just because something is natural doesn’t make it good for you.

    • Heather C

      The tobacco argument is Exactly what I mean when I say “natural” needs a makeover. It wasn’t too long ago that saying something “organic” really didn’t mean anything other than the fact that somebody decided to slap the label on there. Now, there are a few regulations in place that give it more meaning. The fact that they’ve decided to make potato skin visible & create fries from ONE type of potato may mean a lot in the Fast food industry, but doesn’t impress me…

      Homemade fries? Delicious. 🙂

  5. Hopefully you’ll have some good “Karma” to share with us.

    I love fries, my big weakness – after candy corn of course.

    Love the way you prioritize, so true, you have to figure out where you can and cannot adjust.

  6. “Natural” fast food french fries?? Hardly!!!

    Hope yoga was great!

  7. I like that A-B-C system. I’m trying to get better at prioritizing – it makes my days so much more productive! You’ve just inspired me to go to a yoga class today. 🙂

  8. Yes, I need a prioritization formula. I know franklin covey recommends the A1, A2, A3, B1, B2…type method. I have some books I should probably read on that stuff. 🙂 And I desperately need more yoga in my life. Realizing that last night when we went into warrior 3 on my right leg. Hammy so tight I can barely do it. I suppose resting a bit in the running category would help as well. Ugh.

  9. I say if you’re going to eat fries from a fast food restaurant, the least of your worries is weather they are a russett potato or not…Just my opinion.

  10. I love-hate the new fries from wendys. i dislike how much salt they put on them. discusting. i hate wiping salt off my fingers ontop a napkin! ew

Let's Hear It!

