Reservoir Ride Soup to Trying TRX

Yesterday I rode my bike for the first time in over a month. That poor bici has been totally neglected, thanks to demands of marathon-training & switching Yoga for long rides. D offered to take me on a new route yesterday, up to Cherry Creek Reservoir, and I happily strapped on the helmet & headed out.

There was potential to make this a 30+mile ride, i.e. my longest to date. I have a lot to learn in this world of bike riding, and I’ve been stagnant in doing so. Just to get to the Reservoir takes ~50 minutes (going my pace), so we automatically had 1 hr 40 minutes to go. Option 2? Ride around the reservoir, for an extra ~40 minutes. Despite being a little tired from some hill-climbing by the time we reached the entrance, I was all for the challenge.

D: Ready to turn around?
Me: Oh no, we’re going around the extra loop!

Cherry Creek Trail (outside the Reservoir)
cctrailbikeride

Sorry to disappoint, but no, that suave rider is not D. Image source.

Totals: 36 miles, 2:25:00

I was exhausted in the best way – not thrilled with how hard some of those hills were…Legs, we have some work to do – and now have a new distance to work towards! 40 miles, I’m coming for you.

*****

While the weather didn’t really call for Soup (still in the high 60s, still sunny), lounging/relaxing and watching Election coverage all night did.

butternutsquashspsoup 004

As a newbie to the Butternut Squash Soup idea, I wasn’t sure what would go well with it. I’m not one to just assume a boxed soup will taste great on its own. So, the combination of sweet potato pieces, Apple Pie Spice, and salt/pepper called to me.butternutsquashspsoup 005

Butternut Squash & Sweet Potato Soup

1 sweet potato, sliced & quartered (i.e. cut the above slices into fourths)
1 box Butternut Squash Soup (or one homemade batch, if you have time/energy!)
Salt, Pepper
1 tsp Apple Pie Spice

Hint: The sweet potato pieces, while small, don’t cook as fast as the soup. Don’t assume, as I did, that they will heat up and soften within minutes. Instead, stick them in a bowl to microwave for ~2 minutes. Then add to the soup.

Serve with toast and some greens, for extra nutrients!

butternutsquashspsoup 006

******

Today’s Flavor? TRX. I have no idea what I’m getting myself into, but I’m heading down to the Cherry Creek Dance studio with some fellow lululemons to find out.

16 Comments

Filed under bike rides, dinners, Exploring Colorado, learning, new things!, recipes

16 responses to “Reservoir Ride Soup to Trying TRX

  1. Oh yummmmm. Let me bookmark this. 🙂

    How did you go about purchasing your bike? I’m thinking about getting into cycling after my half marathon is over and I don’t know where to start!

    • Heather C

      There is a Lot to think about when purchasing a bike! Luckily D is THE Expert, so I had a lot of help 🙂 Email me and I can give you some basic tips!

  2. Kudos on your new bici distance PR!

    From what I am seeing on that website, that is going to be one fun and intense workout. Eat your heart out, muscles!

  3. I am so envious of your amazing classes, take FULL advantage!!

    Good stuff on the bike ride. Anything under to 50 to me is a blur. Glad you are pushing yourself. If Andrew asked me, I would have totally gone the double loop too. Friendly competition:) Pumped you killed that ride!

  4. Elizabeth

    I love those soups – the butternut squash and the roasted red pepper & tomato – but almost never add anything to them. I like the sweet potato idea, though.

    Also, I clicked on TRX and the first thing I saw was “suspension training.” It’s a good thing you’re more graceful than I am, because that just sounds like a disaster to me.

  5. Never heard of TRX. Guess I am out of it. 36 miles? Awesome.

    • Heather C

      I hadn’t heard of it either! The strap things are pretty crazy, but extremely versatile. Which is good and bad, depending on the exercise 😉

  6. Oooh nice job! My longest bike ride to date is 12 miles lol! I’ve ran further than that!! I really need to get out there for some longer bike rides!

  7. Yay for a great bike ride! And I love seeing your variety of well-rounded, nutrient-packed meals. I’ve been making a lot of chili lately but I think it’s time to make a big pot of soup. 🙂

    Hope you are enjoying the class!

  8. I like that idea of making something gourmet ish in a short time. Sweet potatoes sure do take a long time to cook. TRX sounds intense. Have fun!

  9. that ride looks amazing! 🙂

  10. Hi! I’m a new reader and love reading about your running escapades as a fellow runner. 🙂 And I must say – I’m a HUGE proponent of the TRX…As a traveling personal trainer, it’s the perfect tool for me to take to people’s homes and I love the great core workout you get on it everytime. Anxious to hear what you think you of it from your first experience! Take care.

  11. Wow great ride! Congrats on the personal distance record for the bici. When I was tabulating my october running/biking I realized I didn’t bike ONCE in october. Poor princess leia 😦

  12. mmm that soup looks divine! perfect for the cold weather!

  13. Pingback: Friday Five: Tried & True | Dietitian on the Run

Let's Hear It!

