Meatless Monday: Fall Roasted Red Pepper Soup

Welcome to a new week! I started it off with my first post-marathon RUN yesterday morning, and couldn’t have been more excited.

D pointed out that taking “one week off” would technically mean I couldn’t run until today. I decided to point out that I took “THE week off”, meaning yesterday was a new beginning. Heh, technicalities.

I was up and out on the sidewalks by 7:30 a.m. This also happened to be my first run around the ‘new hood, as the morning light was just waking up and I rounded the corners of Cheesman park. Perfect.

cheesman park

(image source) Soon I’ll have my own photo shoot over there, before Fall leaves us.

It was an easy and slow 2.5 miles; it felt great to be going through those familiar motions again. For now, I’m aiming for 3 runs per week (easy, tempo, long) in between yoga and whatever other activity we decide on for the day!

******

Now, to the Meatless Fall eats! Yesterday was one of those chilly-but-sunny, slightly windy, and covered in autumn dyed leaves sort of days. There was an obvious dinner choice to be made: SOUP.

This time, I’m not here to boast a kitchen creation from scratch in where I roasted, pureed and souped my own vegetables. One day, maybe, that will happen.

Instead, we took advantage of our within-walking-distance Whole Foods (I know!) and their sale on Pacific Organic selections. Then, we added our own vegetables of choice:

Fallvegsoup 002

Roasted Red Pepper, Bean & Corn Soup
(10 points if you can come up with a more creative name for that one)

12 oz roasted red pepper & tomato soup, a la Pacific Natural Foods
1 cup black beans, rinsed
1 cup whole kernel corn, rinsed
1 tbsp fresh basil
Pepper

Over medium heat, let all ingredients simmer for ~10 minutes (until hot). Make yourself some warm toast, and enjoy!

Fallvegsoup 004

******

What’s on your Meatless Fall Evening Menu tonight?

17 Comments

Filed under dinners, Meatless Monday, recipes, running

17 responses to “Meatless Monday: Fall Roasted Red Pepper Soup

  1. I love how simple this recipe is! Spicy black beans – I’m in for sure. I’ll be trying this one out later this week, thanks 🙂

  2. I argue technicalities all the time 😉 I love that you jazzed up premade soup- yum!!

  3. ooooooh, cheeseman is such a beautiful area! glad the run was good 🙂

  4. I love the discussion on what constitites “the week”. 🙂

    I ran once last week but def need to get back on the routine. I feel sooo sluggish and just blahhhhh. I needed the mental break but now I need to RUN!

    I’m going out for dinner tonight… not sure what I’ll be having yet but will be sure to consider some meatless options.

  5. Yummy soup! I made a big pot of chili last night but it’s STILL hot here. 😦 I’m ready for some cooler temps to enjoy these fall recipes. 🙂

  6. HOORAY! Dear chef, I have all these ingredients at home and will do my best to make this recipe soon.

    TASTY!

  7. fall soups are my favorite!!

    love the pic! so gorgy!!

  8. Black & Yellow Pepper Soup? Pepperoup? Corny Red Pepper Beans? Peppy Soup? Is this good enough for like 2 points?

  9. That looks really good. I tried that soup before and wasn’t too impressed with the flavor (too bland). But your recipe looks like it would help spice things up and add some more flavor.

  10. seriously it’s still totally hot in miami, but I have been wanting soup so badly and roasted red pepper now sounds divine…might have to pick some up after yoga tonight!

  11. I love that Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup! It is definitely the best tomato soup I’ve ever had!

  12. I am totally jealous of the fall weather. We don’t see that in FL. The soup looks great though. I will have to try it even if it is warm out still.

  13. OK I feel as though I am reading my own post marathon story. I too am post marathon, aiming for 3 runs a week (and yoga). I’m a nutritionist and love Pacific soup. I’ll stop, promise I’m not a freak. I love the idea of sprucing up a pre made soup. I will try this for sure.

  14. Yay! A new soup idea (and it’s quick and healthy). Just found your blog through another, and since I love healthy food, and I’m a newbie to the running scene, I look forward to reading…

Let's Hear It!

