Friday Food: Asparagus Three Ways

Happy Friday, Friends! It has been a crazy week in this little world of mine. We managed to fit in THE MOVE between Wednesday & Thursday -  packing, driving, loading/unloading and situating in between two work days. Not easy, I tell ya. My recovery week fell in the right place – but my muscles are anything but relaxed.

On another note, we also squeezed in some good eats with a bunch of asparagus I found on sale last week. Stretching into three separate, delicious meals, I thought I’d share them with you. Write this list down, find yourself a bunch of these greens, and you certainly won’t be bored (or hungry)!

******

Asparagus Red Pepper & Pine Nut Pizza

10.22 004

Pie Toppings:

Roasted Red Pepper slices
Asparagus Spears (cut into 1 in pieces)
Pine Nuts
Mozzarella Cheese
Tomato Sauce

******

Roasted Asparagus & Pumpkin Seed Pasta

BDCtrail 015

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds & Asparagus:
Preheat oven to 275*. Toss in olive oil & seasonings of choice (i.e. Rosemary & Thyme, Salt & Pepper). Roast for ~45-60 minutes, stirring every ~15 to prevent burning.
Add asparagus for ~25-30 minutes (Toss in Olive oil, salt & pepper also).

Cook pasta as directed. Toss everything together in ~1 tbsp Olive Oil & 1 tbsp Balsamic Vinegar (optional). Enjoy hot or cold!

******

Tomato Asparagus Quesadilla

10.22 005

Heat oven on Broil. Top bottom tortilla with ~3/4 cup Mexican Blend cheese, tomato slices & asparagus spears (cut into ~1 in. pieces). Add a tortilla on top, and broil for ~5-6 minutes (watch carefully to avoid burning), or until cheese is melted.

Cut into 6 wedges – serves two.  Add some fresh avocado & salsa on the side for extra flava’!

********

Happy Fall Weekend! How do you get creative with Asparagus?

8 Comments

Filed under dinners, food, groceries, lunches, recipes

8 responses to “Friday Food: Asparagus Three Ways

  1. I actually am not a fan of asparagus. I always try it, hoping I will have acquired a taste for it – but not so much. The pizza idea might work though. Maybe I’ll have to give it another shot! Have a great weekend 🙂

  2. You are so creative in the kitchen. Can I come over for dinner????

  3. I love asparagus and I love pizza so you got me on the first dish. I really thought I hated asparagus until about 2 years ago. Now I could eat it almost daily if someone let me.

  4. NICE! I thought I was crazy for putting asparagus into a quesadilla 😉 I’ve been known to roll stuff around asparagus (beef, chicken, fish). I also like to slice it up thin with some goat cheese and lemon zest as a pizza topping…but I think it’s fab on its own roasted w/a little bit of salt, pepper and garlic!

  5. The pizza looks amazing! Definitely remembering this for the next homemade pizza night!!

  6. Wow, that sounds like a pretty epic move. Nice work!!! I’m usually a traditional asparagus user. I just like it steamed or baked with a little oil, salt and peppa.

  7. Good luck unpacking, that’s the best part:)

    Asparagus-o Quesadilla, yum-o!

    Put an egg over easy – on top of a bed of asparagus, top with parm..mmm.

  8. Mmmm that grub looks tasty!!! Good luck with the move/unpacking. Be good to your body too!!

Let's Hear It!

