Lessons in Recovery

My day started with 60 minutes of hot Yoga – stretching, easing out of the tight muscles, and forgiving the lunges that weren’t quite as low as usual. Recovery is a slow process, and this time, I’m being patient. 7 days, no running.

Do I want to run? Today, yes. But I specifically remember cutting my recovery week short back in March because, oh no worries, the legs feel fine. Ergo, they have recovered! Right? Wrong.

I scheduled two 10-mile races in the month of April, both within 5 weeks of the Marathon. “10 miles? Psh! Bring it on!” – the attitude of a winner. I allowed no time to let the marathon-fitness slip away. The race(s) must go on!

FYI – things don’t usually work that way. You probably shouldn’t run 14 miles two weeks after you put your body through 26 for the first time (not saying it can’t be done, though it’s not the best choice for everyone. Seasoned marathoners, hats off to you and your fitness!). And you probably shouldn’t immerse yourself back into the world of racing, immediately, and expect PRs left and right. Tired? I had it.

Result: Totally. Burned. OUT. by the time May rolled around.

sleepylolcat

*****

Lesson learned: allow your muscles to fully recover.

Taking a week off doesn’t mean I have to be sedentary! It just means I’m giving the legs break from the impact and motion of what they did repetitively for 3 months in training, and 4 hours on Sunday. It just means I can use my time wisely to help them recover and come back stronger – walk, stretch, practice Yoga, ride the bike, and repeat.

Oh, we’re also moving today & tomorrow. I’ll take the 100 trips up & down stairs as a workout, too. Ugh.

On that note, I thought it’d be fun to share a few pictures of the trail that got a Lot of my time over the past 3 months. Every long run, and almost every other daily run (besides maybe one per week), was spent on this graveled path:

BDCtrail 002

    BDCtrail 013

The surroundings weren’t bad either:

BDCtrail 011

BDCtrail 010

Perfect scenery & afternoon for a nice walk, so I could show you around. 🙂

*******

How do you choose to recover after endurance events?
Do you set guidelines, or go by feel?

16 Comments

Filed under about me, advice, doin things My way, easy days, Exploring Colorado, learning, pictures, weather love, Yoga

16 responses to “Lessons in Recovery

  1. Melissa

    The trail is beautiful 🙂 I can’t imagine running there would ever get old.

    For recovery, I always go by feel. For example, last night I scheduled myself a 3mile run, but my legs simply weren’t ready after I gave it my all in the 10k on Sunday. So I compromised and hit the elliptical instead!

    Good luck with the move the next two days!

  2. Usually I just jump right back in, but this time I’m being a bit more conservative. I took 4 days off of no running and very light exercise. Then all of my runs since then have been only 16-33 min long so nothing crazy. Just small little easy runs and my body is now starting to feel recovered. Yay!

  3. Oh what a beautiful trail!!

    I took almost a full week off of ALL activity. Considering I could barely even walk (sore muscles + injured foot) for the first 3 days it really felt more like I was only taking 3 days off.

    I still haven’t ran yet and my marathon was 10 days ago. Not by choice, my foot is still acting up 😦 I’m planning on attempting an easy 3-mile run tomorrow to see how it feels!

  4. Recovery is such a practice of patience. Glad you’re staying smart about it. Moving – ahhh, hang in there.

    That path is awesome and also makes me almost certain it was you who I passed on the interstate when I was there last month!

  5. Great insights, thanks. I’m guessing…. are you north of Denver? I have never seen such a beautiful fall in Colorado as this year. Lucky you to get here just in time.

  6. Sounds like you are doing everything right – and enjoying it too!

    I’m ashamed to admit, I have been quite sedentary! But that will soon change…

  7. I recover by getting a nice massage, a good meal, and having a few easy workouts. Luckily my body recovers pretty quick 🙂

  8. i think what you’re doing is exactly right…i love stretching, yoga, weight training, and pilates when i really need to rest but stay slightly active 🙂

  9. J

    I usually just listen to my body, give myself a few days to get out the soreness before going back to running. It really just depends on how I feel. Plus it depends on the person too! I think that stretching and yoga are very important and I really need to do them more!

  10. I am so happy to hear you are taking the proper recovery this time. Gosh, it’s so easy to just jump right back into training because you are so use to the miles, but remember all of the reasons why you spent those countless hours training to begin with. To accomplish this amazing goal and YOU DID!!!! Now, give your body some reward!! 🙂

  11. Becky

    this recovery post was exactly what I needed to read today. I’m currently down with mono and the lack of activity is making me crazy but I know that rest is exactly what the doc ordered.

  12. can i come visit you in denver? my short visit at the airport wasnt long enough. besides- we need to meet soon!

  13. Now that I’m done with the marathon, I’m not quite sure where to go from here, but I do know that I want to avoid jumping right back into 14 milers. Like you said, I think it’ll just lead to burnout. Maybe I’ll follow your example and add a little more hot yoga to my life… 🙂

  14. Gorgeous pictures!! I am jealous :o)

Let's Hear It!

