Captured by the Yogis

My morning started with a heated CorePower Yoga class at 6:30 a.m.. This followed my Free Vinyasa class with fellow lulus & yogis last night. Both instructors began with this thought, “Think about your practice; focus on a theme; what do you want to accomplish?”

As my mind’s default is to go 100 miles per minute – blogs to read! emails to respond to! what apartment are we seeing today? were utilities included?! what’s my work schedule for Sunday? 7 days until the marathon!!!! – this doesn’t come easy.

Choosing to focus, alone, is a challenge. Choosing to focus on a theme has my brain cells engaged  and shaking like that last downward dog has your shoulders burning. Block. Out. All. Distractions. POSE, BREATHE. Repeat.

yoga-cat

(Source: Awesome, Thank you for this)

Last night, as a group, we chose “Community” & “Radical Self Acceptance”.  While I could go on a whole page about how amazing that class was, this morning’s was entirely different. I chose, again, to zero in on Acceptance.

******

A mere seven months ago, I was faced with the Manic-madness that sometimes consumes a Taper period. I wasn’t convinced I had adequately prepared for 26.2 miles; I wasn’t ready to handle what might happen during that last 10K; I wasn’t excited to find out if I had it in me.

Last week, I’m not sure where I went, but I do know that my mind was replaced with a Manic-Taper-er. Seriously, she was nuts. She had no running-mojo, absolutely zero motivation for every run last week.”

Vivid memories of that self-doubt and absence of acceptance have been efficiently converted into the Fuel of this training cycle. Clearly, I did survive. This time around, I know I’ll survive again. I accepted that my training methods weren’t perfect, and used that to make changes for round #2.

One of the biggest changes: using YOGA. I’m not sure where I’d be right now without that reflection, ridiculous stretches, sweaty downward dogs or burning chair poses. The Yogis? They’ve captured that manic-taperer; I happily handed her over.

Reflecting on this cycle has been entirely different; I’ve had hard long runs, but I’ve had more great ones. I’m happy to accept where my training has taken me and these muscles. I’m happy to accept the challenge of a Goal time, and will be fine accepting if I don’t hit it on the head. The BIG goal comes next Fall – this is just laying the groundwork.

I’ll accept the lessons I’ve taught myself; and accept the progress I’ve made (and hope to continue) as I cross the next Finish Line!

******

GOOD LUCK to all you Chicago & Portland Marathon runners this weekend!!!

Accept what your training has taught you, and where you are now. Run STRONG! 🙂

8 Comments

Filed under about me, advice, cross training, doin things My way, learning, Lululemon, marathon, motivation, things that make me Happy, training, Yoga

8 responses to “Captured by the Yogis

  1. Excellent post!! It’s hard not to let those taper demons get in our heads at this point. Thanks for the reminder to FOCUS and ACCEPT.

    Let’s do it… and here’s to next Fall!!! 😀

  2. “As my mind’s default is to go 100 miles per minute – blogs to read! emails to respond to! what apartment are we seeing today? were utilities included?! what’s my work schedule for Sunday? 7 days until the marathon!!!! – this doesn’t come easy. ”

    Ummmm yes. Yes yes yes. Sometimes we just need reminded to slow down and enjoy. Thank you yoga.

    p.s. Good luck next weekend! I’ll be in San Fran running the Nike Women’s Marathon 🙂

  3. My marathon is next weekend too! Which one are you running exactly? I’m doing the Denver Rock N’ Roll marathon, and it’ll be my first. 🙂

  4. wowie I read your post perfect timing!
    this is my taper week!
    ya ya for your yoga-lovin! I hope you have a great week ahead of you!
    xoxo!

  5. Focus is a major challenge for me, and I spend every swim workout chanting “focus … focus … ” Sometimes, after an hour in the pool, I actually get to that point. It’s hard! And acceptance … well … let’s just say that one will probably be a lifelong struggle. Good for you for committing to, and finding success with, both goals!

Let's Hear It!

