Fourth Time is the Charm

I took this run to be a dress rehearsal of sorts, trying everything as if were the race day. Except we weren’t in Denver, and I just hopped on my usual trail.

And I was only going to run 20 miles. But you get the drift!

******

The Plan: 7 miles solo, out & back initially heading East. I put the tunes on random to enjoy some Lady G, The Temptations, Michael Franti, Britney, etc. I had Go-Fast Juice in my handheld (aka Accelerade), water & Shot BLOKS stuffed in my Camelbak and sunglasses for the eventual light.

D met me at mile 7 (hi!); time to remove the earbuds & zone out with my bike-amigo.

The Fuel: Lemon-lime Shot BLOKS, you  never fail me. I will be forever loyal to you.

Mile 7: 1/2 pack of LL blocks. Mile 11: 1 bag of Plain Baked Lays. Yup, they’re back! Salty, crunchy and easy to swallow. Perfect snack. Mile 16: 1/2 pack of LL bloks.

Liquids: Water around every mile after the first few +Go-Fast Juice every other mile for the first half, and as-needed during the second.

The Mentality: Honestly, I had varied expectations. I really wanted another 20, one that went well; I questioned whether it was smart to do another 20; I wondered whether my legs would backfire against this high mileage for the third time in one month.

I started out easy.  I allowed myself to play through race goals, soak in what my legs have done for me over the three months, dance to Lady Gaga (how can you not, really), and know if I reallly needed to stop, I would.

21 004

…things went better than expected.

The first 7 miles flew by, the next 13 just came easily. D & I talked, laughed and zoomed right along. No nausea, no pains, no fatigue. Another mile down, and I’d wave my hands with the remaining tally.

Mile 18 beeped and I knew I had energy left. 8:59
Mile 19  beeped and I wanted at least one more. 8:52
Mile 20 beeped and we just kept moving.  8:48
Mile 21….8:36
Knowing I had to go into work for a few hours put a time deadline in here, otherwise 22 would’ve had a date with me.

21 miles, 3:11:50, avg 9:08

Add 5.2 onto that – I’m ready for it! 🙂

******

Post-Run Recovery Smoothie (you knew this was coming, it’s  a staple!)

21 007

1 container Peach Chobani Greek Yogurt
1 banana, sliced
Apple Pie Spice, to taste

Blend blend blend – and top it with some crunch!

21 009

*****

Marathon Countdown: 16 days!

Happy weekending, Long Running, Racing and/or Relaxing!

23 Comments

Filed under doin things My way, fabulous, food, loooong runs, motivation, running, things that make me Happy, training

23 responses to “Fourth Time is the Charm

  1. Oh my gosh! Amazing run!!! You are going to rock the race 🙂 And you’re totally ready to train for a BQ this year. I really need to catch up.

  2. i know, it’s just around the corner! oct 17 here you come!

  3. Wow, that sounded like a great run.
    I had a similar experience with my workout this morning, with my body telling me it wanted to keep going.

    Except with the small difference that you did 21 miles and I did 2 😉

  4. Elizabeth

    I’m so glad it went so well for you! I’m hoping to get at least one more *good* long run (and one good 20 definitely) in before the 31st.

    So close!

  5. Lacey

    WOW heather that is so impressive!!!!!!!!!!!! you make it look so easy, seriously. great run. way to sail through. you paved your way obviously, by doing things that work for you and also this was numero 4!!!!!! wowzer. really amazing. great work. this will pay off big time (and already is). happy friday!!!!

  6. AWWEESOMME 20+ miler! So nice to have everything click on a long run. You are alll set!

    I *still* don’t know how you manage to eat crunchy chips while running. lol! But hey, whatever works!! 🙂

  7. Sounds like an amazing run. Once I hit mile 18, I usually start to crash. You’re definitely well-prepared to run that marathon! Good luck!
    ~Allison
    Fit&Fab Living

  8. I’m in AWE that you ran FOUR 20-milers. ONE 20-miler was more than enough for me this training cycle! Lol

    Good work lady!

  9. Awesome job and glad you felt so good. Will you eat the Lays during the race? Just curious. You are SO ready. I am doing my final LR tomorrow, but just 18.

  10. So glad your last 20 went well, chica! Sounds like your body is ready for this marathon. Whoop whoop!

  11. It’s great when everything is just right and you feel like you could even run another mile. What a great 21 mile run!

  12. I know most plans only have you run 20 miles, but running more than 20 miles in preparation for my marathon gave me a lot of confidence! I hope it goes well for you!

  13. wow you rocked that run gf! i cant believe you ate a bag of baked lays. How are you gonna do that in the marathon??? I love it though!!!!!!!!!

  14. Nice job!!! I’ve been using your tip of taking honey with me on long runs – works great 🙂

  15. Do you recommend eating potato chips for a long run? How are they good for long runs? Is it the salt? I have a 20 miler coming up and I was thinking about trying this….

  16. you are sooooo ready to kick some denver marathon booty!!!

  17. Pingback: The Run That Tells You | Dietitian on the Run

Let's Hear It!

