Homemade Fuel for 20

I’m almost ashamed to admit it’s been weeks since we made our own pizza. The recent trend has been using my pre-LR “pizza & brew” tradition for our date-night – revealing how on-the-edge life is during marathon training, no?

I was craving a good homemade pizza this week! We grabbed a few “Colorado Proud” (i.e. local) tomatoes, fresh mozzarella & a whole-wheat crust. All of this for a mere $8, and no tip required.

Odell-Levity-Amber-Ale When possible, we chose a local beer (excluding Coors from the list). There are great breweries surrounding us, why not go local for drinks, too? Our brew of choice was O’Dell’s Levity, and this assures me I made the right choice –

“…a slight hop bitterness at the finish, impeccably balanced with the fruity notes and hints of toasted caramel…We enjoyed this beer with grilled veggie shish kabobs.”

Mmhm, veggies & beer. I’ll have that, with a dose of melted cheese & warm bread.

runfuel 002

D & I split this, although my marathon-metablism yesterday probably could’ve finished ~3/4 of it on its own. Fueling for 20 (or the next 6.2) is not to be ignored!

runfuel 001

20-miler pizza toppings
1/2 heirloom tomato, sliced & quartered
1/2 green bell pepper, chopped
Mozzarella cheese, shredded
Tomato sauce
Seasonings: garlic, oregano, basil, thyme, black pepper

********

This morning, I had my usual. And here is why you never see oatmeal breakfast pictures on the blog:

runfuel 004

I barely have the patience to take the picture, much less arrange oatmeal, bananas and peanut butter in a way that looks more appetizing…

And I’m off! Fueled and ready to RUN. After recalculating I can safely say this is my last 20-miler  (we’re at #4 now) before the MARATHON. 17 days to go…

15 Comments

Filed under breakfast, food, Local Beer, loooong runs, mileage, running, training, what to eat

15 responses to “Homemade Fuel for 20

  1. Good luck on the 20…we’re getting close!!

  2. i can’t believe it’s almost time! that pizza looks way too good…i would have been tempted to eat the whole thing, and i don’t have a marathon metabolism!

  3. Lacey

    good luck!!!!!!!!!!!!! wow 4th 20! niice!!! that’s preparation. the prep matters so much.

  4. Hope this final 20-miler goes GREAT! You are well-prepared!!!

  5. FOUR 20-milers?! Girl you’re a pro! Hope you have a good one!

  6. Elizabeth

    I can’t believe you’re doing four 20s…I mean, I can, but still.

    Also, I want to say that the oatmeal looks appetizing…but I’ll settle for saying that it *sounds* delicious. I like to mix craisins in with mine, too. Tasty.

  7. Liz

    good luck on your run! that pizza looks like the perfect fuel.

  8. Looks yummy! I made an awesome veggie pizza last night as well! Carmelized onions were the show stoppers. Tomatoes from our garden weren’t half bad either.

    Hope that last 20 miler went well!

  9. The more I read your blog, the more I am drawn to the thought of pizza & beer as pre-run fuel. YUM! And I don’t really even like beer, but it’s growing on me.

  10. Good luck girl!! You’re getting so close! 🙂

  11. that pizza looks AMAZING!

Let's Hear It!

