Eggplant Boat Salad

On the way home from a full day in the store, my motivation to cook creatively was exiting quickly. Then I went through every no-mess dinner option, and was bored quickly.

Then, I remembered the leftover eggplant.

******

Suddenly inspired by using a vegetable that rarely resides in our fridge, I came up with one idea after the next. Eventually, the Eggplant Boat was ready to be filled:

eggplant 001

Clearly this poor half has been sitting in the fridge for one (or two) days too long.

Take 1/2 eggplant and scoop out the center. Fill with the following:

1/4 c Cashews, crushed
1 tomato, chopped
(I used one whole Roma tomato, peeled)
1/2 cup Whole-wheat bread crumbs (~1 slice cut into small pieces)
1/4 cup Marinara sauce

First, layer the boat with bread crumbs. Then top with tomatoes, cashews & sauce.

eggplant 003
Bake for ~12 minutes at 400*, then add handful of shredded mozzarella cheese. Bake for ~2 more minutes, until cheese is melted.

eggplant 006

Salad: bed of spinach and cucumbers (plus any other veggie of your choice), and any remaining bread crumbs and/or cashew pieces.

Slice that boat and add it to your salad! D & split the boat, but it could easily be one serving, depending on how hungry you are and the amount of toppings you choose to add πŸ˜‰

eggplant 007

Protein: Cashews, Cheese, Vegetables
Carbs: Eggplant, bread crumbs
Fat: Cashews, Cheese

******

How do you like your Eggplant? This is still a β€œnew” vegetable for me, I don’t use it often but have enjoyed the avenue for new meal creations! Truthfully, I’d purchase it just for that color.

15 Comments

Filed under dinners, food, recipes

15 responses to “Eggplant Boat Salad

  1. yum! i don’t LOVE eggplant but i would totally scarf this down!

  2. yum! eggplant is fairly new for me, too. I love Greek/Mediterranean eggplant dishes.

  3. Fun, yummy AND healthy! Eggplant doesn’t reside in my fridge much, either. Will have to give it a go. I have tried eggplant parmesan in the past and that is AMAZING!

  4. Elizabeth

    I can honestly say that I never would have thought to make it into a boat. There are, however, two other ways I like my eggplant:

    1) Chop up about a cup of it, put it in a pita pocket and sprinkle a little mozzarella on top and nuke it (similar to the boat, I guess) – tasty lunch.
    2) Stir fry. Eggplant, zucchini, and mushrooms – and add a little Old Bay seasoning. Delicious.

  5. Have you tried eggplant lasagna? Basically get any lasagna recipe, and substitute the noodles for eggplant cut lengthwise.

    It’s DELICIOUS. Seriously.

  6. I love eggplant and buy it often! It is so creamy and meaty but yet low in calories. My basic way to prepare it is to either slice or cube it (I leave the peel on), then bake on a foil-covered baking sheet (spray the foil with olive oil spray then spray the eggplant) at about 425. Turn pieces when bottoms brown. Cook until soft and browned. Then eat on its own as a veggie, or mix into tomato sauce/marinara, or add to a salad, or use in any eggplant recipe in lieu of frying/sauteing the eggplant (eggplant soaks up so much oil). Or try marinated grilled eggplant. Combine a couple tablespoons of olive oil and some balsamic vinegar, plus a bunch of chopped garlic, in a very large ziplock bag. Add sliced eggplant and marinate for an hour or two. Shake well to make sure all eggplant gets coated with marinade. Grill slices on a medium hot grill until browned, with strong grill marks, and cooked through (about 5 minutes per side). Here are a couple more dishes I’ve made with my cooked eggplant: http://runningwiththerunnergirl.blogspot.com/2009/09/eggplant-delight.html
    http://runningwiththerunnergirl.blogspot.com/2009/06/good-dinner.html

  7. Lacey

    very pretty! i might eat that. but i just do not like eggplant… too slimy/ slippery/ chewy. it reminds me of what i imagine octopus to be like. hmmm… really not sure why i’m so down on ‘da plant!!!! πŸ˜‰ heh.
    love the boat concept!!

  8. Replace eggplant with bread:)

  9. jen

    I LOVE eggplant. I have a few different recipes on my blog – just search for eggplant.
    Brette loves it sliced and grilled. I typically spray it with olive oil instead of brushing it since it does soak up a ton. Brette prefers topping it with feta (and melting it) to make a lot of mini eggplant pizzas.

    Like Kristen said, roasted and tossed in pasta is delish.
    Have you tried making baba ganoush? Also tasty.

    Have fun with it!

  10. eggplant parmesean or eggplant lasagna as always fun ones! I’m definitely a fan of “boats” .. I made zucchini boats not too long ago myself!

Let's Hear It!

