All In a Day’s Work(out)

It all started with my usual, easy Monday morning run. This week is being played out as we go; the “official” training plan will go back into effect starting the Taper next week. But I always start with easy, and 5 miles sounded good…

8:00 a.m. – 5 miles, 43:04, avg 8:36

Being my first full day off in over a week, I finally had some time to explore Yoga studios around here. A coworker invited me to a Core Power class – Hot Yoga – and my muscles let out  a “YES PLEASE”. The abs and arms don’t get enough attention these days.

11:45 a.m. – 60 min, Hot Power Yoga

I went into the studio expecting 90* (for Hot yoga) to feel much cooler than the 105* for Bikram. My sweat glands were too eager to prove me wrong. As it turns out, the main difference between Hot-Power vs Bikram is the poses – the latter is a series of 26, always the same, the first is up to the instructor. Our 60 minutes were full of lunges, core, cobra, planks, up/down dogs, and a few newbies (to me).

That final Shavasana has never felt so good. Namaste, Core Power. You won this one!

savasna

Let’s take a minute and appreciate this art…I’ll give credit where it’s deserved.

I certainly wasn’t the ideal environmentalist during my double workout day, I showered twice (not realizing I was in for the heat) and gulped down water like it was my j-o-b.

*****

With a busy day ahead, this morning’s tempo called at an early, dark hour.

I answered with more energy than one should have at 5:45 a.m., eager for a good sweat and endorphin dose.

Choosing my “hill” route wasn’t my brightest idea, but let’s not judge how my brain works before it’s fully awake. I was thinking more along the lines of street lights, cars passing & visibility – i.e. safety first! I wasn’t thinking I’d turn this into a tempo, but the legs often have a mind of their own and I often let them do the talking.

6 a.m.  – 5 miles, 41:25, avg 8:16
9:28 – 8:40 – 8:17 – 7:45 – 7:11

I realized, while showering, that this was my third workout in 24 hours. It was also my third shower, if you’re counting. Safe to say I’m clean, and ready for tomorrow’s rest.

******

How do you space out your workouts?

12 Comments

Filed under about me

12 responses to “All In a Day’s Work(out)

  1. Lacey

    hoollllerrrr! nice work (out) (s)!!!! 🙂

    also- love that art work. i am a huge fan of stick figure drawings 🙂

    happy tuesday!!!!!!!!!!!

    **** are you watching TBL?!?! I AM NOT! BOOO! i have class from 4:30-9:30 on tuesday nights and no more DVR. can you post updates?!?! i understand if you don’t want to TOTALLY 🙂 i just think i remembered you used to do that? otherwise i will catch up on their website 🙂

  2. do you like core power yoga? i’ve never been but there’s one close to me that i keep meaning to try!

  3. Machine!! Good for you.. all that energy:)

  4. I like to workout in the mornings so I usually do one ever morning (or one every 24 hours) sometimes I throw a hot yoga class in at night after running in the morning and end up with 2 in a day, though!

  5. morning/lunch workouts are amazing especially when your jam packed during the day and evening, however it doesn’t work out so well if you like to sleep in! haha

  6. Nice neg-split tempo! Your mind may not work well at that hour, but the legs sure do!

    ENJOY that rest day!!

  7. Elizabeth

    I’m so glad you liked the hot yoga! I think the bigger difference between that and bikram (aside from the structured poses) is the humidity. And you’re right – that last shavasana feels soooo good.

  8. Wow, 3 showers in less than 24 hours. You are one fit and very clean girl! 😉

  9. Ha, this is my first time visiting your blog! Clean and fit it is. I try to space my cardio but abs and arms and yoga and… bring it on anytime.

  10. That’s a good question! I have to admit that there are days when my workout schedule totally revolves around showering/whether or not my hair is clean hair. So ridiculous but I hate taking 2 showers a day…of course sometimes it is necessary. 🙂

  11. I’m guilty of planning my day (and specifically my workouts) around my showers. I HATE showering, so if I have to do it more than once/day I get mad. 🙂

Let's Hear It!

