Three Things Thursday: Up Early, Feeling Ambitious & Revamping

1) It’s been a while since I was up, and on the road, before the sun! With an 8 a.m. departure time, I rolled out of bed at 6 to get dressed and lace up my shoes without a second thought. 5 miles to check off…

No tunes & no HRM; run by feel and enjoy the quiet of the morning.

During a simple L-shaped out and back, I hadn’t even realized I was running slightly uphill until I turned around. The backdrop of miles 0-2.5 revealed a lingering moon and the Boulder mountains. I turned around to see an explosion of orange and dark pink, the Sun was slowly waking up to say Hello.

And that is one way to start your day on the right foot. 5 miles, 44:12.

2) I’ve officially decided on one of my Personal goals. I hope you’ll stick around to hold me accountable, and keep me sane when the journey starts (next summer):

BOSTONmarathon

Image source (small panic attack, until realizing this article was an April Fools’ Joke.
Not. Funny.)

Fall, 2011: Qualify for the Boston Marathon.

Anyone else want to join me? 🙂

3) If you missed my late-in-the-game realization, click there for the background story. I needed to do a little training-plan revamp, and it will look a little something like this:

6, Easy XT Tempo 5, Easy Rest 18-20 LR XT
4, Easy XT Tempo 5, Easy Rest 8-10 LR XT
3, Easy XT Tempo 3, Easy Rest MARATHON!

Yes, I realize that’s a two-week Taper, and I’m 100% okay with that. I know that 3 is a little too long for me; every runner is different!

This plan starts Monday, after a 12-14 LR this weekend (step back). Fingers crossed that my improptu self-coaching will work some race-day magic! I haven’t been this excited for a race in a Long time, so my doubts are nil and {mentally} I’m Ready for those 26 miles!

25 Comments

Filed under about me, early morning, easy days, Goals, making plans, motivation, training

25 responses to “Three Things Thursday: Up Early, Feeling Ambitious & Revamping

  1. girl, good luck with the Boston qualifying! i know you can totally do it, but you are one brave woman 🙂

  2. What is your qualifying time for Boston? What is your current marathon PR? (have you done a full yet?)

    I did my first full marathon last Dec and I have been running since mid 2007, started running at 50lbs overweight still after losing my first 50lbs – I was never athletic or anything before I started losing weight! Anyway – I am slow. Majorly slow. I actually thought my potential was to finish around 5:15 – maybe up to 5:30 last year, but I raced horribly and ended up at 5:55 finish.

    I’m not sure if I’ll EVER be fast enough to qualify for Boston, but I am going to continue training and trying to get better and if I ever start getting closer to the qualifying times, maybe when I’m old and the times get slower and hopefully I’m making speed gains still??? HAHA 😀 THEN I will definitely make it a goal. Right now I am not even trying to think about that because I’m sure there’s a chance I’ll never be fast enough for that, so I’m not setting it as a goal just yet. 🙂 BEST OF LUCK TO YOU!!!

  3. Okay, I totally haven’t written this anywhere or officially yold anyone (except hubs) but… depending on how my marathon goes in a few weeks, BQ’ing is a goal for next fall. Good for you putting it out there!!!

    Good luck with your last few weeks of training for THIS marathon!

  4. Elizabeth

    Do I *want* to join you in qualifying for Boston? Of course!

    Am I most likely going to actually take the fundraising route to get in? Oh yeah.

    Also, I actually just changed my plan to a two week taper this morning. I think it’ll make me less antsy than last time.

  5. I love running in the morning just as the sun is starting to come up!

  6. I’m in. Let’s do it. 🙂

  7. WHOO HOO! Can’t wait to follow your training when you aim for Boston. That’s awesome!

    I’m doing 3 weeks taper but this week (technically part of taper) still has me doing 30 miles. Since I maxed out at 39 miles this training cycle it’s not a HUGE drop. Next weeks 24 miles will feel weird though!

  8. 3:30:00 – You can do it!!!! (lol, I remember that joke but I still know you can do it.)

  9. hmmmmm… maybe i will partake in this goal too! 🙂

  10. I’m in. I actually planned to announce it for my New Year Rez, but you’re making me talk about it early 🙂

  11. Lacey

    you are LOVING marathons girl!!!! well i can make you a promise- when you come to boston, i will be there to cheer for you 🙂 i love how ramped up you are for the DISTANCE. gooooooooooo the distance!!!!!!!! you rock!

  12. I’m in. I’ve had it in the back of my mind that fall 2011 would be my first attempt. And I say that b/c I’m assuming it will take me a couple of tries to actually do it. 😀 😀

  13. I won’t be joining you, but I’ll definitely be rooting for you! Such an awesome goal! I’m sticking to half marathons until I’m done with school; I just can’t afford the time it takes to train for a full. Gotta keep them As up!

  14. Girl, you got this. You are going to do GREAT! I LOVE This goal, perfect one for you!!!! Training in CO will do wonders.

    Have you picked out our run for next week?!

  15. purpleshoe runs

    I’m so in for getting my BQ in 2011! My big attempt will probably have to be earlier in the year though–training for a fall marathon is hell in Houston : ) p.s. I’ve been stealing recipes off here like crazy lately. good stuff!

  16. Pingback: 12 Miles Fueled by the Southern Sun « Dietitian on the Run

  17. I’m with you on running a BQ next fall! I was hoping to do so this year, but I’m not ready. 2011 is our year!

  18. Pingback: Captured by the Yogis « Dietitian on the Run

  19. Pingback: TTT: I meant it when I said it | Dietitian on the Run

  20. Pingback: Do It Now! {3:39:59} | Dietitian on the Run

  21. Pingback: Marine Corps Marathon : Goal Glory | Dietitian on the Run

  22. Pingback: The Training Plan of No-Plan | Dietitian on the Run

  23. Pingback: MCM Week: Race Prep, Gear & OMG | Dietitian on the Run

Let's Hear It!

