Successful People

…replace the words “I Should” with “I Will”.

I had my first full day of training at Lululemon, and everything I learned and experienced only increased my obsession with this unique and progressive company.

Did you know: The founder, Chip Wilson, started this company as a design studio that became a yoga studio at night. He relied solely on the feedback from his yogis (who wore the garments) to continuously improve his product. Genius.

To this day, the company relies on feedback. We care about what you think – about what works and what doesn’t, what might make something more comfortable or functional, what just fits so amazingly, what is trendy and fun, or what you’d like to see in a new line, or in the store. Come in, Talk, we’ll listen.

******

Ahem, I’ll get off the soapbox. Clearly the first day went really well, and I already know it’s an “I’m excited to go to work” job. I feel lucky!

poster_E_red_2008

Nope, I don’t get sick of seeing that. 😉

As part of the culture, we set Goals and focus on our personal passions.

As much as I am {usually} spontaneous, go-with-the-flow, and enthusiastic about things that I love, I rarely actually set a goal. The last few years  (and months) have been pretty life-changing in this little world of mine, and it’s about time I pause and think…

After a good run and a lot of calculating, I can easily come up with a race goal. Why is it hard to think about where I want myself to be in 2, 5, or 10 years?

It’s more challenging than you think!

So, welcome to the Challenge. If you want to join me, come up with one goal for yourself!

I’ll post mine when they’re all ready to go – then we can chat, sip vino, maybe take a moment for a Runner’s Lunge and a mile or two, and discuss how we want to accomplish these things. Sound good to you? Me too.

19 Comments

Filed under about me, Goals, learning, Lululemon, things that make you go Hmmmm

19 responses to “Successful People

  1. Hey! Small world. I’ve started my new job at lululemon this week, too. 🙂 hooray for job twins!

    And I agree….the company is just absurdly amazing. LOVE IT!

  2. I’m not gonna lie…I really want to go to a Lulumon just so I can get one of those reusable totes! I heart all the encouraging/motivating sayings!

  3. Ive never been to Lulumon but i reallllyyy want to go!!! hmmmmm goals…. i need to sit on that one for a while!!!

    did you ever update my url?? 🙂

  4. I wish there was a Lululemon in my city! Considering I live in British Columbia you’d think there would be one! Hmmmf!

    Anyways, I’m SO glad you enjoyed your first day on the job 🙂

  5. So glad your first day went well! It is also nice to see that they are so progressive. Not many companies are as progressive as they are. Those kinds of goals that I really have to stick to are hard for me bc I feel like I can’t make a decision unless it’s the perfect one. Perhaps that is why I have continued to race and race and race and have yet to pursue my dream of getting my masters degree in SOMETHING. Ugh. After I finish this marathon, I will begin looking into masters programs and talking to various admissions counselors for their opinions.

  6. I am pumped you love your new gig. You deserve it! Nothing bad to say about lulumon for sure.

    I love the challenge! I really want to think about a goal though, this is a cool ask. So my goal for today, get back to you on a goal.

    XOXO

  7. Yay so glad you love your new job! I so wish we had a lulu- I want to work there!!! And I’m with you in your goal challenge…now to just pick a goal…

  8. Elizabeth

    Whenever I see someone with a bag like that, I start to read the quotes. And I think I creep them out, because it looks like I’m staring. Oops.

    Goals…I’ll get back to you.

  9. A.) I’m jealous you live near a Lululemon. The nearest one to me is in Rochester, which is like three hours away. B.) I’m jealous you WORK at a Lululemon. That would be fantastic . . . 🙂

  10. i love that quote…i’m writing it down and hanging it up over my desk as we speak 🙂

  11. I love Lulu’s message! At my last race, there were some girls from the store at the expo encouraging everyone to set goals and write them down. What a great philosophy.

    I have oh-so-many goals. 😉

  12. I love Lululemon. The first store I went to was a showroom only open on Saturdays! It was the first one to come to Texas when I was in Dallas. I am scared of long term goals too, no matter if it’s fitness related or not!

  13. Pingback: Battling the Speed Work Demon « Dietitian on the Run

  14. Becky

    Hmm goals. As a way to support my brother I’m planning on running all of the events in the marine corps series. I’m doing the 10k in October. Big ones in the spring will be the race 2 register 10k, half marathon, 17.75 crossroads all leading up to the marathon next October. I’m finishing up a master’s degree while working full-time so once January hits I’m hoping to be focused on training for the half.

  15. Pingback: Three Things Thursday « Dietitian on the Run

  16. Pingback: Thinking Ahead, Optimistically (II) | Dietitian on the Run

  17. Pingback: Marathon Effect | Dietitian on the Run

  18. Pingback: The Road to RD | Dietitian on the Run

Let's Hear It!

