The Unofficial Strength Training for Running: Pose, Hike, Ride, Run

I’ve made it a point to be much more relaxed about my non-running activities during this training cycle. Between nerves and the unknown last time, I rarely gave myself flexibility to veer from the “plan” and do something different. What if I was too sore for the next run? Or pulled some obscure muscle? Or am too tired to get in that speed workout the next day?

Or, Crazy, relax. What if everything is fine, and the cross training makes me stronger?

This time, I’m assuming that’s the case. And I’m loving it.

****

Friday night, after the 20-mile survival and a long day of resting up, D & I ventured over to the Lululemon store for free “Vinyasa & Vino”. You would’ve too – doesn’t that sound like the perfect combination?

They also have a window for the Rock ‘n Roll Marathon – how perfect:

20-miler 006

We walked into a completely packed store – mat after yoga mat – and barely found two spots to place ourselves. It ended up being 60 minutes of Vinyasa; perfect for stretching and loosening my poor muscles, but a little tough on the exhausted bod.

My quads had a few choice words for me that probably shouldn’t repeated, but I wouldn’t have changed the night for anything. I haven’t done yoga since we left DC – that sense of calm came immediately and every pose flowed right into the next. My flexibility could use some work, but we’ll get there!

*****

Saturday could’ve been a rest day, but it’s hard to resist these trails:

birthdaywkend 021

D wants to climb to the top of this one (Longs Peak, 14,000 ft), but that was obviously not in the cards for our afternoon adventure (or my sore legs). We settled on a 4 mile hike, instead…

birthdaywkend 064

birthdaywkend 032

birthdaywkend 059

We wandered, we took pictures, and I had an “Om” moment:

birthdaywkend 044

D had a similar experience:

birthdaywkend 056

birthdaywkend 065

We get it, trees. Fall is coming – for now, we thank you for the cool sunny afternoon and some trails to explore. My legs will get back to you.

*****

Yesterday, to keep the streak going, we hopped on the bikes for an easy cruise around Ft Collins and the Poudre Valley trail. We also stopped at the New Belgium brewery (closed, sad day), because in Colorado that’s an option:

NewBelgiumBrewery

Blurry photo courtesy of the Blackberry.

We rode without gadgets – distance? Who knows. Cruising for an hour and a half with D on “easy” speed, we just had fun with a new trail and new scenery!

******

All of this leads up to my run this morning – an Easy 6 is fine, but these muscles certainly haven’t rested in a while. I left the iPod and HRM at home,;whatever the legs feel like, I’ll happily oblige.

9:07 – 8:54 – 8:51 – 8:35 – 8:30 – 8:15
Sprint? Let’s go for it….. 0.10 mi @ 5:11 pace

Apparently this Unofficial Strength/Cross-Training routine is working out just fine. 🙂

******

How do you choose to push the limits while training? Had any muscle or joint ached (beyond ‘normal’ soreness), I would’ve taken things down a notch. But with a month to go before the marathon, I’m loving creativity on the off days!

14 Comments

Filed under bike rides, cross training, Exploring Colorado, learning, pictures, running, things that make me Happy, training, weekends, Yoga

14 responses to “The Unofficial Strength Training for Running: Pose, Hike, Ride, Run

  1. um, i’m there right now – totally jacked up my back and now i’m scared it’s injured badly!

  2. WOO HOO! Isn’t cross training amazing?! I love the fact that you are still getting a killer workout and keeping all your muscles engaged so they don’t get bored and tired.

    I wish I could hit the trails like y’all. Fantastic pics. I am really into pilates right now, loosening my stupid hamstrings:) Without cross training I know I would get so burnt out on running.

  3. I always try to set a weekly pr. It makes me push myself to do better on each run. My pace for an easy run on sunday sets the bar for the rest of the week. It really works!

  4. I am usually kind of beat on my off days so just end up going to Hot Yoga since I have an unlimited pass this month. I would love to go to Hot Yoga EVERY DAY but the classes are at kind of inconvenient times so it doesn’t work for me to go as much as I’d like!

    I love your “om” photo!!!

  5. You are more brave than I! I definitely think the fear of tiring myself out for a run is what keeps me away from the cross-training. I admire you!!

  6. D’s “om moment” is quite hysterical. Looks like some fun cross training! Yes, I love veering from the path on non running days. This weekend I did some biking and yoga on my xtrain day.

  7. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Unofficial Strength Training for Running: Pose, Hike, Ride, Run « Dietitian on the Run -- Topsy.com

  8. great job on your run lady! love the pics!

  9. That sounds like a lot of fun! Amazing nature and trees! Reminds me of the hikes my hubby and I did in Appalachian Mountains when we were in school (Virginia Tech) … Now with a toddler and a baby on the way, it’s not that easy to do such activities 😦 we’ll get back to it when the kids can participate…

  10. oh man I looooooooooooove ft. collins. I want to move there right now. seriously. i should move. 🙂

  11. LOL! Love D’s “om” moment. Miss you guys!

  12. Pingback: The Training Plan of No-Plan | Dietitian on the Run

Let's Hear It!

