Meatless Monday: Grape Cashew & Quinoa Salad

Inspired by a Grape Relish recipe we tested out during a Sticky Fingers class with the kiddos today, I decided our Meatless Monday dinner must revolve around grapes & celery. I also decided to finally use some of that quinoa we bought in bulk about a month ago.

We went grocery shopping before the cooking experiment began, so a few lucky winners from the aisles of Sprouts made their way into the mix!

Grape Cashew & Quinoa Salad

grapequinoasalad 002

Makes 2-3 servings

3/4 cup Quinoa, uncooked
1 cup celery, chopped
1/4 cup purple onion, chopped
2 cups Seedless Grapes, halved
1/4 roasted cashews, chopped
1/4 cup Non-fat Greek Yogurt
Honey to taste (small drizzle)
2 tbsp Fresh Tarragon
1 tsp Dried Rosemary

Cook quinoa using water:grain ratio (1 cup water for 1 cup quinoa). Allow water to boil before adding in the grain, simmer for ~10 minutes on low heat. Stir and let sit for ~5 minutes before serving.

Add the remaining ingredients together in a bowl and stir until coated. Top cooked quinoa with grape mixture.

grapequinoasalad 006

Protein: Quinoa, Cashews, Greek Yogurt
Carbs: Quinoa, Grapes
Fat: Cashews

Cashews – Fun Nutrition Facts: This nut can contain up to 5 grams of protein per ounce! While it is high in fat (like many nuts), those are mostly Monounsaturated – the type of fat also found in Olive Oil, that has been shown to help cardiovascular (heart) health. They are also a source of minerals like Iron, Magnesium and Copper!

******

Did you go Meatless tonight? What was on your menu?

13 Comments

Filed under dinners, Meatless Monday, new things!, Nutrition, recipes

13 responses to “Meatless Monday: Grape Cashew & Quinoa Salad

  1. looks so good. I love nuts and grapes combo. Will bookmark it 🙂 I want to make quinoa for some of my friends who never had it and this might just be the perfect recipe…

  2. I love this salad idea! Never would think to make quinoa and grapes but now that I see it, I love it. 😉

  3. Lacey

    i did go meatless, actually 🙂 brown rice + garbanzo beans (brown brown browwwwn hahah). + brussel sprouts + brocc (oh good some green). with EVOO all over + garlic. mmm. it was a good rice bowl. i looooooooooove chickpeas frrrrrrrrreal:)

  4. We just started meatless mondays! We had rice noodles with peanut sauce and lots of veggies.

  5. Love cashews, love quinoa, love grapes… sign me up! Looks great!

  6. Elizabeth

    I kind of love that you call them “winners from the aisles of Sprouts.” That must make them feel good about themselves.

    I’ve yet to really try meatless Monday, but I do like the sound of this combo. Maybe once I get my quinoa…

  7. Ahhhh man! What happened, did Rachael Ray get a hold of you?! My poor defenseless cashews, mixed in your crazy grapeness.

    Where do you come up with this stuff? 🙂

  8. My meatless monday was fabulous…I just threw in a bunch of veggies (and tofu) in a pan to stir fry…red peppers, zuchinni, onion, fresh ginger and some spinach. Then added a splash of peanut oil, white wine vinegar, soy sauce and a blob of peanut butter. It was fabulous! I also baked up some sweet potato and put a few on top. I highly recommend this dish!

  9. Great salad idea! I love getting the meatiness of cashews without the, well, meatiness…

  10. Pingback: Meatless Monday: Creamy Yogurt Broccoli Pasta « Dietitian on the Run

Let's Hear It!

