Pickling at the Market

Before we get to visions of cucumbers and cauliflower to start your Friday morning, I have to say Thank You! Wow. I was floored by the supportive and excited-for-you comments yesterday – even bringing a few new readers out to say hi!

Since your interest also seems to have been piqued by the subtle mentions of my Sticky Fingers role, I thought I’d give you a little peek into a day-in-the-Market for this Instructor!

FarmersMarket 001

This was actually a rare event – usually we work in a kitchen or classroom – that we took advantage of while this summer weather holds out. Look closely and you can see the adorable embroidery on that chic apron of mine, “Sticky Fingers Cooking”.

Yes my partner, Julie, and I did more than don stylish aprons and cut with kid-friendly knives. Our demo, using local produce donated by the Farmer’s Market, created Pickled Vegetables for sampling and at-home tasting!

FarmersMarket 004

As fresh as it gets! Ready for the cutting board.

FarmersMarket 005

Largest head I’ve ever seen. Hands down.

FarmersMarket 003

 Recipe courtesy of Sticky Fingers Cooking

3-5 Cucumbers, sliced
1/2 head Cauliflower
Small bunch yellow/green beans
3-4 small carrots
1 small onion
3 cloves fresh Garlic, minced
Fresh Dill, to taste
1 tbsp Pickling Spice (mix)
2 cups Vinegar*
4 cups Sugar*

*We used varying amounts of the vegetable mixes, with what was available, and adjusted the vinegar/sugar mix accordingly. If you use more/less, use a 2:1 (sugar:vinegar) ratio.

In a large bowl, add vinegar to sugar, stir until absorbed. In a separate bowl, combine all other ingredients (chop all vegetables to bite-size pieces). Pour liquid mix over the vegetables, stir to coat evenly.

Refrigerate for 24 hours, allowing your vegetables to pickle!

****

Just another day at the office. 😉

To prepare for my last 20-miler (whoa) of this training cycle, we headed somewhere new! Lucky Pie was the lucky winner.

FarmersMarket 010

This restaurant had at least 10 beers on tap (I went with Avery IPA – local brew), and an ice-cream shop connected next door! Which means we’ll be back, obviously.

Would you believe me if I said I skipped the pizza, at Lucky pie? I know. Maybe it was pizza-overload in effect from last weekend? I had to venture off and went with some flatbread slices & a mozzarella tomato salad. I would show you, but bad lighting and close seating arrangements is not a recipe for appetizing food photography.

However, this scene found me camera-ready and fascinated in the passenger seat:

FarmersMarket 012

A beautiful Colorado Good Night & Good Luck!

*****

I’m heading out for 20-miles! What’s on your workout agenda today?

15 Comments

Filed under about me, following the schedule, food, groceries, recipes, training

15 responses to “Pickling at the Market

  1. Lacey

    are the kids in your classes doing it similar to a “camp”? is this like an after school activity? or part of school?

    love that last photo!!! gorg!!!

    • Heather C

      We do camps in the summer, after school enrichment programs right now, and events at our main kitchen during the mornings and weekends 🙂 This Farmer’s Market was a special event, hopefully to continue!

  2. Jul

    Gorgeous – I’m so envious! Sounds like you’ve found your sweet spot in Colorado, in more ways than one. That’s awesome.

    And good luck on your 20-miler! How do you prepare for big runs like that? (Night before, morning of… do you lay everything out? do you have a mental checklist you run through? how do you get yourself mentally ready?)

    • Heather C

      Thanks!! 🙂

      To answer your Q’s: Night before is usually one beer or glass of wine (relaxing), lots of water, and pizza or pasta. Morning of is oatmeal, coffee and water. Sometimes I lay things out – depends on how early I need to get up and going! If I’m needing some extra motivation I’ll read runners blogs (or recaps of previous Good LRs I’ve had), but usually I just hang out and go when I’m ready 🙂

  3. we walked by lucky pie the other day and were wondering what it was! now i’ll have to let nate know about the beer…that’ll get us there 🙂

  4. You are like the mobile Martha Stewart, how cute?!

    I know places in CO that have way more that 10 beers on tap, nice try but you can do better.

    I will be in CO in like 2 weeks?!? I want to see that sky in person.

  5. Elizabeth

    I can’t believe it’s your last 20 miler – where did the time go? Good luck! We’ll be doing a measly pikermi in Philly. 🙂

  6. You look adorable! 🙂 Congrats on this job.

  7. Hope the 20 miler went well…the marathon is getting so close!!

  8. Too fun! I think I need kid-friendly knives… I cut myself all the time! 😦

    I’ve never tried pickling at home… always thought it was more complicated. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

    Hope the 20 was awesome!!

  9. I love veggies… but not cooked. I cant stand them soft… they have to be crunchy for me!!! and with a little ranch dressing too! hhehe

  10. whaaaa??? no pizza??? crazy. 🙂 gorgeous sunset though. Wow. Congrats on the new gig!!

Let's Hear It!

