Work Day: Planning Ahead with a Picnic

I have a double dose on the agenda today!

At some point you may or may  not have wondered what the heck I do all day here in the beautiful Colorado. Obviously I run (a lot), sometimes I take the bike out for a ride, sometimes we hike, sometimes we just wander around and find ourselves in a brewery or tea room.

It’s not all play and no work here, though. 😉 I’m an Instructor for Sticky Fingers Cooking Classes. Yes, it is just as cute and fun as it sounds!

More on that later, because see above. Two classes to teach today, busy busy!

During my break between classes, D has offered to meet me for lunch date. I prepared ahead last night, making a picnic lunch so we can 1) save money and 2) eat at the park! Win, win situation.

pasta 001

Picnic Pasta Salad for Two

1 cup uncooked whole wheat pasta
1 zucchini, sliced
1/4 cup purple onion, diced
Rosemary, Thyme, Pepper
1/2 cup Tomato, chopped
1 tbsp Olive Oil
Grated Parmesan Cheese, to taste

Cook pasta as directed. Meanwhile, heat oil in a saute pan on medium. Toss in zucchini, onion, and seasonings. Drain pasta and mix everything together (add tomatoes here). Top with grated parmesan cheese and refrigerate until you’re ready to chomp!

Here you’ve got whole grains, veggies and healthy fats! Nutritious & cheap.

pasta 004

*****

Coming up: I have some exciting news about another fun job I just accepted. Details to be revealed soon!

13 Comments

Filed under about me, food, lunches, recipes

13 responses to “Work Day: Planning Ahead with a Picnic

  1. Yum! What a lovely idea, and a great way to take advantage of the end of summer in Colorado (“fall” is the 30 seconds between summer and the first snowfall in October). Can’t wait to hear about the job news!

  2. i love pasta salad…and picnics! methinks i need to do that soon 🙂

  3. I love pasta salad, sounds delicious. Unfortunately I don’t picnic much as my boyfriend doesn’t like cold food, so we always have to bring along a thermos of soup for him which can be more trouble than it is worth.

    Congrats on the second job, whatever it is! Though Sticky Fingers Cooking Classes sounds like it’s a lot of fun too!

  4. Sticky Fingers!! Can’t wait to hear more – it sounds awesome!

    Love the picnic lunch!!

  5. I love going on picnics! I should work at Sticky Fingers Cooking Class that sounds like just my thing!

  6. Elizabeth

    I love cheap and delicious meals, and this sounds perfect. Plus, picnics are the best. Have fun!

  7. Sticky Fingers Cooking Classes sounds so fun — I just checked out their website!

  8. I meet a girlfriend of mine for a “picnic in the park” quite often. It’s a nice way for us to be able to go out for lunch but not spend money!

  9. Ooh, fun. I’ve been wanting to make a cold pasta salad now for a while with onions, olives, artichoke hearts, etc. Can’t wait to hear about the other new job!

  10. OMG! Your teaching gig sounds like so much fun! Can’t wait to hear about the other job news! Enjoy your picnic 🙂

  11. Details NOW! Agh.

    I have to make pasta tonight, how did you know I needed this recipe?!

  12. That cooking class sounds just adorable, and so does the picnic!

    I can’t even remember the last time I had a picnic but it sure sounds like fun!

  13. n

    cant wait to hear about the job! that pasta salad looks tasty!

Let's Hear It!

