Meatless Monday: Bean Burrito Edition

Any menu with a Mexican inspiration is 1) easy to make meatless and 2) sure-fire taste bud seduction! You can never have too many mexi-meals.

Just me?

This Southwestern-raised gal couldn’t be happier to be back in the land of Green Chile, breakfast burritos and Real fresh salsa. It was only a matter of time before Meatless Monday went spicy on you!

9.13 022

Rice Bean & Veggie Burritos (serves 3)

1 cup Brown Rice, uncooked
1/2 cup Black Beans, rinsed & cooked (or from can)
3/4 cup Shredded Cheddar Cheese, divided
1/2 cup Green Pepper, chopped
1/4 cup Onion, chopped
Salsa & {505} Green Chile Sauce, to taste
Garlic Powder, Cumin, Salt, Pepper
Whole Wheat Tortillas

Preheat the oven to 400*.  Cook rice as directed; after removing from heat and stirring, add in Black beans, vegetables and seasoning. Allow to sit and finish cooking (~5 minutes). Meanwhile, use cooking spray to grease a baking sheet. Place tortillas on the sheet, open, and add bottom layer of cheese (1/4 cup per burrito). When rice is done, add on top of cheese. Top with salsa and/or green chile sauce to taste. Wrap into burritos (fold in each corner).

Bake for ~2-3 minutes, until top of tortilla is lightly browned.

9.13 026

Yes, I always have additional salsa and sauce on the side for dipping. Don’t mess with the system, I love me some spice!

Protein: Cheese, beans
Carbs: Rice, tortilla, beans
Fat: Cheese

Other add-ins: avocado, tomato, sauteed tempeh, and/or additional peppers.

What’s your burrito stuffing of choice? This was delicious and a fun mix of fillings, but I’m always happy with refried beans, a sprinkle of cheese and a generous topping of green chiles!

13 Comments

Filed under about me, dinners, food, Meatless Monday, recipes

13 responses to “Meatless Monday: Bean Burrito Edition

  1. Burrito Wednesday is as staid a tradition as pizza Friday in our household. My favorite fillings: black beans, Cabot reduced-fat cheddar cheese, homemade pico with lots of cilantro. SO yummy!

  2. Yum! I love burritos. It’s been a while since I’ve made Mexican – that’s going to have to change soon. I usually stuff them with sauteed green, red & yellow peppers, onions, black beans, rice, homemade guacamole and greek yogurt (as a substitute for sour cream). I use hot sauce and lots of spicy goodness in there, too. I like my mouth to be on fire! I go all out on burrito nights.

  3. no matter what i have to have rice, beans, guac, TONS of fresh salsa and pico, and lettuce. and it never hurts to have chicken, cheese and sour cream though 🙂

  4. Bean Burritos are a God given gift to humanity! 🙂 Love them!

  5. I will admit that I can’t handle spice, but I could certainly make a more mellow-ed out version. I also happen to love egg burritos!

  6. I don’t mess with the burritos ever since I got a quesadilla maker. Now I throw everything in there from chicken, tofu and apples. Last night we had apple and cheddar quesadillas. Yum.

  7. However, my favorite burrito is from a local burrito joint (Cali Burrito) – The Humboldt – smoked tofu, black beans, brown rice, sour cream & cheese. In fact, I may have to hit the place up today for a bite after my run.

  8. Are you sure this isn’t turning into Mexicano Monday?

    🙂

    I love stuffing my burrito with beans and rice! MMM! Boring but tasty.

  9. im not a burrito fan but yours looks yummy!!!

  10. Pingback: Menu Planning « It's Hip to be a Square

Let's Hear It!

