Friday Food: Sweet Balsamic Reduction

To fuel up for a Tempo Run on Thursday morning, I was in the mood for a grain-based dinner. Quinoa landed on the menu, and I decided it was time to change things up a little bit. One sauce I had yet to try and conquer: The Balsamic Reduction.

I’d venture to say this should be the first thing a “new cook” learns. Just as easy as boiling water to make pasta, yet it gives a dish that “I’m a gourmet chef” quality. And that’s much more impressive that cooked pasta.

9.9 026 
Here’s all you need to do:

  • Turn on a burner to “Medium/High” heat.
  • Pour in Double the amount of Balsamic you need (it reduces by ~1/2)
  • Stir, stir, stir!
  • Let it come to a boil and continue to stir (avoid burning).
  • Wait until it reaches a “syrup” texture…..done!

If you’re looking for an extra sweet taste, feel free to add some sugar! I put in ~1/2 tbsp of the Xagave sauce.

9.9 027 
The consistency is entirely up to you and your taste buds! Thicker = sweeter.

Just remember that thicker also = a little more difficult to get out of the pan.
Lessons learned.

9.9 028

 How to use a Balsamic Reduction Sauce:

An extremely versatile creation, this sauce is often drizzled on anything from salads (e.g. Caprese salad or bed-of-lettuce & veggie style), meats, pasta, soups, and even desserts (e.g. cheesecake or puff pastries).

Click here for some recipes from gourmet.lovetoknow.com.

As mentioned, I decided to adorn my quinoa with this sweet cooking success:

9.9 029

Sweet Quinoa Tomato & Spinach “Salad” (serves 2)

1 1/2 c quinoa, cooked
1 cup fresh tomatoes, chopped
1 svg Tempeh, chopped (Substitute: lean protein of choice)
1 1/2 c Spinach Leaves, raw
Salt, Pepper
1/4 c Balsamic Reduction (with 1/2 tbsp Agave/honey/sugar)

Simple, delicious, and another venue for using up the fresh-from-the-garden tomatoes we’re housing! As with any salad, this opens itself to your creativity and taste preferences. Just don’t forget that sweet Reduction drizzle.

12 Comments

Filed under dinners, food, learning, new things!, Nutrition, recipes, what to eat

12 responses to “Friday Food: Sweet Balsamic Reduction

  1. Elizabeth

    Just the name sounds fancy – I think it’s the reduction part.

    Btw, it looks like there’s a photo missing from the cocina…

  2. Whenever you are ready to come cook for me, I’m here.

    Cute shorts:)

  3. love the step-by-step! i’ve actually never made a balsamic reduction but it’s always so amazing when i eat it 🙂

  4. I have quinoa sitting in my cupboard waiting to be cooked so I think I will have to try this recipe! I have never done the balsamic reduction thing either!

  5. sounds yummers! I am also living a hate-turned-love tomato existence and will try this one out for sure.

    also, totally random, but in the first pic, it looks like your leg is part of the cabinet. odd. 🙂

  6. Ive been so into reducing my balsamic lately. It really does taste so much sweeter when you reduce it.

  7. Nice work lady! This is one I’ve been meaning to get around to as well. So easy, yet I still haven’t done it! Happy weekend.

  8. Another great looking recipe from you!

  9. n

    you are such a cute lookin’ cook!

  10. Now that I think of it, my meals COULD use a little bit more “I’m a gourmet chef” in them.

    And up until now I wasn’t sure how to add that!
    🙂

Let's Hear It!

