Quick & Easy Can Still Be Healthy!

This kitchen of mine isn’t always producing a culinary experiment or creative new meal. Some days, donning the Chef’s hat and Apron doesn’t fit into the agenda and a “quick & easy” fix comes to the rescue!

Yes, I actually have a Chef’s hat. Sadly, it rarely sees the light of day.

Just because you don’t have time for a new gourmet recipe doesn’t mean you have to skip out on a healthy meal. One of my go-to eats in this situation is Breakfast-For-Dinner; Tuesday night I added a few twists:

9.9 002

With an entire bag of Fresh tomatoes from my Sister-in-Law’s garden, this fruit is popping into many of my dishes as of late. Not a problem, since I finally adore them in all of their Lycopene glory! See that deep red? That only comes from some home-grown TLC.

Green Chile & Tomato Egg Sandwich

2 slices whole-wheat bread
2 eggs, scrambled (“scramble” carefully to keep a shape easier to put on a sandwich)
4 slices of fresh tomato
2 tbsp 505 Green Chile sauce (or canned green chiles)
Cilantro, Salt, Pepper

Scramble the eggs, adding cilantro, salt and pepper to taste. Toast bread as desired, and top with tomato slices, egg mixture and green chile sauce to taste.

Protein: Eggs
Fat: Eggs
Carbs: Whole wheat bread
Vitamins A & C, Lycopene: Tomatoes

What does those green chiles lend? According to The Green Chile Farm website, they contain “as much vitamin C as 6 oranges” and certainly aren’t lacking a host of other vitamins and minerals.

What’s your go-to healthy quick-fix dinner?

11 Comments

Filed under dinners, Nutrition, recipes

11 responses to “Quick & Easy Can Still Be Healthy!

  1. Oooh that’s interesting about chiles! I LOVE breakfast for dinner 🙂

  2. please make this for me, i’m hungry 🙂

  3. Pretty sure Andrew would be ALL over these.

    Fresh tomatoes, hard to beat. Tell the orange there is a hot competitor in town.

    I’ll make a fresh salad and crumble up a Morningstar Chicken Patty. Easy!

  4. Elizabeth

    When I’m making an egg sandwich, I actually just break the egg in a bowl, or little dish (like creme brulee size), and microwave it. It’s the perfect size for the bread that way.

    And my “healthy” quick meal is usually pasta. Probably because that’s all I have in my pantry right now.

  5. I love scrambled eggs for a quick fix dinner… throw in some veggies/cheese, fruit and toast on the side!

  6. This sounds delish! I love egg sandwiches. I make veggie omelettes for an easy dinner or black bean tacos/burritos. All ingredients I keep around.

  7. I’m all over this and I just bought some of the 505, so great timing. My go to meal usually does involve eggs (bean/egg/cheese burrito) or black bean soup made with canned beans, salsa and corn.

  8. I think we need to see that Chef’s hat out in action!

  9. breakfast for dinner is my fave and that my friend looks and sounds DELISH!!!!!!!!

  10. Pingback: Weekend Roundup: ‘Heading to Canada’ Edition - Run, Jimmy, Run

Let's Hear It!

