Three Things Thursday: Paninis, Parks & a Peach Pastry

Heading out of town this weekend left us with very options left to create any sort of meal  last night (besides oatmeal & peanut butter, of course). I’ll give you one guess where we headed to…

…Boulder. Duh.

1) Using up a Mad Greens Coupon – buy one get one free! – left us with this delicious dinner. Vegetable Panini for her:

9.1 008

Portobello mushrooms, artichoke hearts, onions & jack cheese melted for savory satisfaction. Plus a roasted red pepper dipping sauce on the side, that will definitely be recreated in the Kitchen de Moi.

2) Rather than roaming the Pearl St Mall, yet again, I had another idea. Drive up Flagstaff road for a sunset hike/photo shoot. Why not treat the camera to a little adventure, too? She deserved these treats:

9.1 025

Where’s my (nonexistent) Mountain Bike when I need it?!

9.1 026

It’s on the market… just slightly out of our budget. Maybe if I cash in the camera?
I’m kidding, Kodak, I would NEVER.

9.1 040

Co-explorer in action!

9.1 050

9.1 055

Well, aren’t you a beauty? I think I’ll just sit right here, forever.

9.1 061

No, we didn’t camp out on the mountain all night (though I definitely would have).

3) We instated a “No Fro-Yo buying” rule for the month of September. Trust me, it was necessary. To switch things up, we squeezed into the Chatauqua Dining Hall to check out their dessert menu and enjoy the porch while it’s still nice out.

9.1 080
We snatched the last Peach & Apple Crisp (a la Mode, please). No question why these went quickly – Fresh Peaches & Soft Vanilla Bean perfection.

9.1 086

****

With that, I was properly fueled for an easy 5 mile run this a.m. before we pack and hit the road! A trip down to NM is in store for our Holiday weekend – how are you spending the last days of summer?

27 Comments

Filed under dinners, easy days, Exploring Colorado, food, pictures, things that make me Happy, travel

27 responses to “Three Things Thursday: Paninis, Parks & a Peach Pastry

  1. What a fun night. I love that you and D take advantage of ALL that Colorado has to offer. Great photo shoot. Gorgeous sunset. Scrumptious dessert. I had to be on a strictly enforced froyo budget back in the day. 🙂

    We are heading to Austin for this holiday weekend to spend time in our favorite city and attend a friend’s wedding!

  2. i’ve never been to the dining hall before…i’m going for dessert now though!

  3. Elizabeth

    No fro-yo? It’s like you move to Colorado and suddenly I don’t even know you anymore.

  4. J

    Great pictures!! Seriously jealous of all your exploring!! And dessert looks yummy too!

  5. I love that you need a no-fro-yo-buying rule! Looks like you had no problem finding an alternative.

    That veggie panini also looks de-vine!

    Enjoy the long weekend + trip!

  6. Omg that last picture is making me drool all over the place. I want NOW!!!!

  7. Ivan

    “No Fro-Yo buying” for a month??? The entire industry might go under.

    • Heather C

      I’m sure the joints around DC are already suffering losses! Specifically Fro-Zen-Yo, as I may or may not have been their biggest fan.

  8. Want. to. be. there.

    Beautiful, beautiful pics. And looks like the weather was cool enough to bundle up, how nice.

    So the stock for fro you is expected to take a hit this month?

  9. Ed

    I love seeing your jaunts around Boulder! It’s inspiring me to go explore my city! 🙂

  10. No fro-yo?!? Have you made David Leibovitz’ frozen vanilla yogurt? Fast, easy, cheap, 3 ingredients! and hardly even bad for you, just a bit o’ sugar . . . all you need is an ice cream maker which can be had for nominal cost. Let me know if you want the link!

    • Heather C

      I make “Banana Softserve” every now and then – frozen banana chunks in the Food Processor. SO easy and delicious! Peanut butter and some chocolate may find their way in sometimes too.

  11. A) That yellow house is adorable and HUGE. B) That sunset is beautiful. C) Holy dessert. Dessert out is the best. That sounds fabulous.

  12. Have a safe trip to NM. We are staying put. Water world with the kids.

  13. tia

    Summer seems to have already dissapeared here, Alberta Canada, fall is setting in which is terrifying because it usually only lasts a month or so, then the snow starts falling. The dogs are excited though, they love the snow : ) Have a fabo weekend!!

  14. No fro-yo, but you can still have cupcakes, right? If so, I would love to introduce you to the best “cupcakery” in Denver, if you have not already been.

    Oh, how I love thee, Boulder. Chataqua is beautiful. If you ever get a chance to see live music there, YOU MUST!!! It is heavenly 🙂

    BE WELL!!!

  15. Colorado sounds beautiful and the perfect home for you guys! I love that you are subbing fro you with amazing desserts!! 🙂

  16. so amazingly beautiful!!!! i am super jealous!!!!! can i come visit!?!?!?!

  17. Okay hold up. NO FRO YO FOR A MONTH!?!??!?!?!?!??!?!?!??!?!?!??!?!?!?!

    I’m not sure we can be friends anymore.

    • Heather C

      I KNOW. Didn’t you see the “it was necessary, trust me.” We have our reasons, I promise! And trust me, this is anything But a permanent decision. 😉

Let's Hear It!

