Work Out Your Workouts

While there is a lot to be said for having “Freedom” in your choice to exercise whenever you can, and however you want to, I personally love the Schedule.

I love having a Long Run (LR) day, a day for Speed, a day (or two) for taking it easy or hopping on the bike, and a day for taking OFF and enjoying every minute of it. I also love having the mentality that any of those days can be switched around, sped up (if the legs so desire), shortened/lengthened as needed.

During training (currently: marathon), if said schedule gets thrown off, color me crazy. All it takes is two or three days of ignoring a workout and my balance is skewed towards unmotivated and restless.

Now, all of that being said, two things have been missing in my world of consistency: Strength Training & Speedwork.

This needed to be worked out.

****

I sat down on Sunday night to literally put these on the schedule. Yes, my training plan includes Tempo Runs/Repeats every week. No, I have not done them every week.

A small piece of paper that reads the following is stuck on my fridge:

  • Sunday: Easy Cross Training {Could be hike, walk, bike ride or Yoga"}
  • Monday: Easy Run, STRETCH
  • Tuesday: Cross Training, Strength
  • Wednesday: Speedwork, STRETCH
  • Thursday: Easy Run
  • Friday: Rest Day
  • Saturday: Long Run

Why is the “Stretch” in all caps? It often gets skipped.  I know, the legs and I are working on that!

*****

So far, Week #1 has been a success! Monday’s run was very easy and I loved it.

Tuesday’s XT turned out to be a 30-mile “Easy” bike ride (1:40) with D. After which I decided I will not be riding his “normal” routes any time soon! It was an awesome ride, but oh my calves/hamstrings and head-winds. Whew.

Wednesday’s Speedwork was a “4 x 1600m @ 7:16”. I procrastinated for a good hour out of intimidation, and deciding where to go do this (ended up at a local park that is exactly one mile around, and two miles from the house). What resulted was the perfect route and a better-than-expected results. Victory!

9:37 – 7:32 – 7:01 – 7:06 – 7:02 – 9:20 – 9:20 (0.5)

I’m not a fan off the 800m jog recovery in between– I chose a 400m quick walk, instead. Whatever works! I also had a water bottle for sipping in between each repeat.

All together – 7 miles, 62 minutes, avg 8:52.

******

How do you work out your workouts? Do you thrive on a schedule, or the freedom of each day to its own?

23 Comments

Filed under following the schedule, Speed workouts, things that make me Happy, training

23 responses to “Work Out Your Workouts

  1. i really like just doing whatever i feel like…i never gave myself that freedom before, so i’m LOVING it now!

  2. I’m with you on the schedule; yours looks great! Love having the flexibility too because sometimes, you just never know what might come up!

    Hello awesome mile repeats!!!

  3. Lacey

    nice job Heather! 4×1600 in this case feels closer to a tempo run, which is also speedwork. it’s nice you have a park that is like a track. 1-mi around is also awesome b/c = fewer laps! 🙂

    also–i find that and ICE BATH instead of stretching is just as/ MORE beneficial to the legs!

  4. Move over Keanu, we have a new Speed demon!

  5. well, I’m not in a training cycle right now, so it’s kind of weird…i have some fairly regular exercise dates that happen every week, so i plan around those, plus around my long ride which usually happens on sunday, plus around any insanity in my schedule. so usually at the beginning of the week i kind of mentally plan what i’ll be doing each day, but it’s different every week.

    seriously awesome job on the speedword – those are some freakin’ fast miles, lady! victory is right!

  6. er, that was speedwork. spelling failure. 🙂

  7. You are funny! I would LOVE to kick out a good speed session with you. Okay, I do know what you mean about pre-speed anxiety b/c I do get that from time to time but I am learning to tell myself to suck it up and get it done since I have done just fine in the past. There is a lot of speed hiding inside of you.

    PS – I second Lacey’s comment re: ice baths vs. stretching.

    • heatherdc

      That speed will (hopefully) slowly seep through this oxygen-less air and my track-work intimidation 😉 Come run with me whenever you want!

  8. I also love a good schedule. I too am training for a marathon and have 3 necessary runs a week (speed, tempo, long) and on my off days, I allow myself to do whatever I want. I try to give myself 1 rest day a week, but it’s hard because I love working out!

    Great job on that workout!!! Those 1600 m splits are awesome!

  9. SO crazy I was writing a post about my new training plan and fitting in all the cross training. So I’m linking to you to give people more ideas. Not sure how I haven’t been following you, but I am now love the blog!

  10. wowsers those are some awesome repeat times. I like to walk the first .1 after the repeat and then slow job the remaining .4. To each their own.

  11. I like to have a schedule too. That way, I find myself actually doing the workout instead of saying, “Oh, I can just do it tomorrow.” I do find that strength training tends to get neglected when I’m training for a race though.

  12. I’m not one to do a whole lot of scheduling but I used to when I had rigid work hours…and I’ll plan/schedule more when we start training for the half! 🙂

  13. I’m with you. I need a schedule and feel so much better when I had a plan in mind each week.

  14. I go back and forth. If I’ve been going without a schedule for awhile I CRAVE the schedule. But, right now, after being a slave to my marathon training schedule for almost 13 weeks I’m kind of “over it” and ready to go back to random workouts for a few weeks. I know I’ll crave the schedule again eventually, though!

  15. as long as i manage to get in a long run lately, life is good. the heat here is redic and doesnt allow for more than that. pout!

  16. We’re gonna rock our races — woot woot! I totally have to remind myself to stretch too. I’m not a natural rubber band, unfortunately.

  17. I love a good schedule too. It’s nice to know what to expect each day. I’m really bad though because I also skip my cross training days and take them as extra rest days. I’d never dare skip a run, but cross training, meh I’m just not that into it.

  18. Elizabeth

    I usually need a schedule, even if I don’t stick to it. Also…I don’t really stretch either. Oops.

    Glad your speedwork went well!

  19. Pingback: Battling the Speed Work Demon « Dietitian on the Run

Let's Hear It!

