Tuesday Trials: Run, Eat, Read

While my nature is surely to be a creature of habit, I try to break the mold more often than not. The boundaries of my comfort zone are only defined when it comes to Sushi, swimming in open water, and drinking something with an ambiguous color.

That being said, here are some new things I’ve tried this week:

Running: Ortho-Lite Insoles – The folks at Ortho-Lite sent me a pair to review; hesitantly I pulled out my tried-and-true Target-finds (which I’ve used for at least a year now! Even after trying the “fancy” brands), and slipped these in.

Then I clipped a little off of the round toe tops because they were too big.

Then they fit. Perfectly.

Salad 004

My first test was Saturday, during volunteer activities. If they could stand the all-day-on-my-feet trial, maybe they could be bumped up to Runner-status. During marathon training, you don’t just switch things like this around lightly!

Standing-test: Success. 5 mile easy run Monday test: Success!

They actually feel much more comfortable than my Target go-tos (shocker), and my abnormally high arches agree with every curve. We could have a winner here; this weekend’s 20-miler will tell all!

Cooking: Cilantro, meet Basil

After making a batch of the Black Bean & Mango Salsa Salad last week, I had a Lot of cilantro leftover. I’m also a sucker for the Fresh Basil at the Farmer’s Market every week. Even the small bags last forever, and only recently did I realize you could freeze it. Good to know…

Anyway! My mind wondered what would happen if the two had a date? Maybe with the large bag of small Red potatoes, in the oven?

Basil Cilantro Roasted Potatoes

8.29 003

1 lb Small Red Potatoes, washed, quartered
Fresh Cilantro and Basil, minced (~2-3 tbsp each)
Salt, Pepper to taste
1 tbsp Olive Oil

Heat the oven to 400*.
Place all ingredients in a casserole dish and shake to cover evenly:

8.29 007

Cover dish with foil and bake for 45-50 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Verdict: Cilantro and Basil get along deliciously! I’ll just call myself the Matchmaker.
These potatoes have made their way into two lunches and one dinner now – I cannot say enough about the convenience of batch cooking and leftovers!

Reading: My Life on the Run, Ultramarathon Man

My last three reads have been memoirs/short-stories by athletes, in this order: Dean Karnazez, Lance Armstrong, Bart Yasso. I’ve been awed and inspired by every tale, every mile, and every ridiculous endurance event conquered.

Dean’s “Ultramarathon Man” makes 26.2 seem like a 5K, inspiring runners to push past any limit you’ve set for yourself ; Bart reminds us that running is something different for each of us, to enjoy any kind of mile because you can and are using your ability to Move.

Both messages have really resonated with my Marathon training mentality; inspiration ebbs and flows from their various perspectives on Why we run, When it becomes a lifestyle, What it does for us, Where we go with it, and How much we love it.

I highly recommend both, in case you hadn’t gathered that yet.

*****

What new things have you tried lately?
Book and/or cooking recommendations?

17 Comments

Filed under about me, food, inspiration, marathon, motivation, new things!, running gear, things that make me Happy, trials

17 responses to “Tuesday Trials: Run, Eat, Read

  1. First! Yay!

    Ahhh, Tuesday Trials… just like the old days. 😉

    Hmm, not sure I’ve tried much new lately. I keep saying I want to give insoles a shot.

  2. You just reminded me how badly I need new insoles.

  3. I have super high arches too, but afraid of messing with things mid-marathon training. This got me curious though!

  4. i never would have paired those herbs, but i totally trust that they’re good! i am about to start reading American Wife…i hear it’s amazing 🙂

  5. I really enjoyed the Dean Karnazes book. He gets a lot of flack, but I think he rocks. Have you read Born to Run? Also a life-changer for a runner.

  6. I still need to read the Dean Karnazes book!

    Also, love that you set up a hot date between basil and cilantro 😉 I miss you!!

  7. I love my ortholites! Glad you’re giving them a try.

  8. I love that Bart Yasso book. I’m with you – I like to read these books while training b/c they stay in my head and resonate with me when I’m tired. Hmmmm…what have I tried lately that’s new? Lemon cucumbers from my CSA. So crisp and yummy. As for books…I’ve been doing a lot of fiction lately – right now reading Anne Lamott’s Imperfect Bird.

  9. Elizabeth

    Slightly off topic, but did you say at one point that you were going to try to start growing your own herbs? Any success with that? I love the idea, but I’m very aware of my skills – or lack thereof.

  10. Am I awful for thinking that insoles make me feel 100 years old? Glad they are working for you though, you need your tootsies to be comfy!

    Red, baked, fried, boiled, mashed – all parts of the potato family I enjoy.

  11. 1. Be careful with the insoles!!!! As you said, “During marathon training, you don’t just switch things like this around lightly!”

    2. Those potatoes look DE-LISH!!!

    3. I’m going to have to check those books out! My frenemy read Ultrarunning Man this weekend and then decided to go run 30 miles! WTH!?!?!

    4. I’ve awarded you… check the blog for deets. 🙂

  12. I kinda feel like the title of this post was made for me!

    Read “My Story So Far” by Paula Radcliffe – it is SOOO GOOD!

    And I just made this salad:
    http://thesepeasarehollow.blogspot.com/2010/08/simple-summer-salad-giveaway.html

    I haven’t blogged about it yet, but it’s GOOD!

  13. i need to start the pile of books i have here waiting to be read!

Let's Hear It!

