My First Mile-High Race

I got that itch last week; it had been over a month since I’ve toed the starting line of a race, felt the rush of chasing someone in front of me, and the satisfaction of seeing and crossing the Finish Line. I needed a race!

Google so kindly led me to “Drop Your Drawers 5K”. How can you resist that?

Proceeds and donations went to benefit homeless children in Denver, hosted by the Underwearness organization. Yes, I’m in!

But, my drawers are staying ON.

8.28 006 

I didn’t exactly prepare the legs for speed. The bike ride in the morning, preceded by trail running the night before, were kindly lending lactic acid to my muscles.

Ah, well, run for the kiddos! And try to at least avoid a PW…

8.28 007 With only ~350 participants total, it was easy to squeeze in up front and get started quickly. The “elite” group zoomed ahead; I had one girl about 20 yards ahead of me the whole time.

The effort exuded to try and lessen that gap was about all I had left by mile 3 – whew.

8.28 017 
7:32, 7:29, 7:20, 7:04 (0.1)
3.1 miles, 23:06

Drop Your Drawers 5K

Nothing like a small local race to boost your stats and your 5K confidence – 5th overall Female, I’ll take it! 🙂

You know the drill – we love our local pizza and Summer Pale Ales here. Mellow Mushroom delivers both:

8.28 026

8.28 025
8.28 028

One ale and one and a half pieces of pie later, I called it a night. 5K success, fueled up and ready to Volunteer at two races in one day. But that’s for another post…

Who else raced/ran this weekend?

14 Comments

Filed under dinners, Exploring Colorado, pictures, race report, running

14 responses to “My First Mile-High Race

  1. Heather – such an awesome race time! And beer + pizza to follow it up? Perfection. I wish I’d been there for such a fun race. (4-5 minutes behind you, of course). 😉

  2. Looks like a fun race! 5ks are always tough for me because I hate to “sprint” for that distance. I didn’t run a race this weekend, but I did a 16 miler for my marathon training. Took it nice and easy, just how I like it. 🙂

  3. Great job on the 5k! I feel like I run the same pace whether I’m doing a 5k or a 13.1. I should probably work on that, haha. Your post-run refuel looked awesome too! I did a 13 miler for my NYC marathon training. It was lackluster at best 🙂

  4. Lacey

    congrats H! good pics, too 🙂 you always have the cutest race hair 🙂 love the cause!!

  5. great job on the 5k sweetie!!!

  6. Great job on the race! You killed it! 🙂

  7. way to go on the 5K girl! especially only being here a couple weeks…you’re a rock star 🙂

  8. Pingback: Weekend Treats « Dietitian on the Run

  9. mellow mushroom is SO DELICIOUS! oddly enough, their hummus is fantastic.

    and, tee hee, glad you kept your drawers on. nice job on the race! you look strong.

  10. Congrats on 5th place female! Awesome 5K time for your first race in your new home!

    That pizza looks A-maz-Ing!

  11. Nice work on the 5k! That’s a great name and cause to run for. That pizza looks delicious.

  12. way to go on that 5k!!! 5th place…. whooo! And I think the best reward is pizza + beer…of course. 🙂

Let's Hear It!

